We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Families!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #24 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great for Families!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Perfect alternative to a condominium for three generations (Grandparents, parents and children) -6 total - to stay together for a wonderful Disneyland experience! A 2 bedroom/2 bathroom loft/suite with kitchen all within easy walking distance to Disneyland Park. The complimentary breakfast with selections for even the most finicky eater was the perfect start to each morning. Daily housekeeping did a great job. The weather was rainy at time, so we didn't take advantage of the the pool, but others did and appeared to having a good time. The premises was very well maintained. Would recommend this property to any family wanting close proximity to Disneyland.

Room Tip: The family suites - king size bed in loft with en-suite bath and main floor bedroom with two queen b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear NewcastleDan,


It seems as though all three generations enjoyed a great time during your stay. Our generation one property is indeed similar to condominium apartments. The 25 buildings that we have on property provide guests with the perfect amount of privacy with our exterior entrances. It sounds like you stayed in our Penthouse suite, a great choice for larger families. The Penthouse is a bi-level loft with two sleeping areas, a King bed in the upstairs loft and two queen size beds in the downstairs bedroom. Not to mention the fully equipped kitchenettes and living room area where the sofa sleeper is located.


Thank you for all of the great comments and hopefully the weather is nice and sunny so you are able to enjoy the pool!


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    403
    369
    100
    38
    27
See reviews for
684
64
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our family of five (3 adults, 2 kids aged 8 & 4) stayed for 10 nights in a penthouse suite. The room was clean, very roomy and the two full bathrooms and full kitchen are a big plus. While all the amenities were great, what we remember most from our stay is how friendly and helpful the staff are here. Particular thanks to Kimberly & Roger for accommodating all our requests during our stay, nothing was ever too much trouble! The breakfast is super yummy and plentiful and the pool area is surprisingly quiet most of the time. Kiddie pool is a nice bonus too. The grocery service is so useful, we sent a list ahead of our chek-in date and had everything waiting in the room when we arrived.
On our last day my 4 year old daughter still had a Disneyland ballooon that we couldn't take with us on our flight to our next destination. She was very upset about leaving it behind, but the front office staff really made her day by offering to keep it at reception and look after it for her.
Thank you so much everyone at Residence Inn, you really made our vacation even better than we had expected :)

Room Tip: Request an upstairs condo, as I understand the downstairs accommodation sometimes suffers from foot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear Elizabeth891,


Thank you so much for your wonderful review! It is a pleasure to read what a great time you had while staying with us. I particularly would like to thank you for mentioning how much you appreciated our staff. Our team is a huge factor in why many of our returning guests keep coming back, in every department from the front desk to engineering to housekeeping.


The grocery shopping service is a favorite for guests! Mainly because it requires very little work for guests, simply write a list of what you need and we do the shopping for you complimentary! As you mentioned, we gladly accept lists prior to check in so that the groceries are in the room right as you check in. Feel free to contact the hotel or myself if any future Trip Advisor users are looking to send in their orders at (714) 533-3555 or krosales@rimhospitality.com.


On behalf of Roger and I, we thank you for your comments and we cannot wait to see you back at our property. Thank you again for your response.


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We are locals and admit love disney. We come our fair share and with a toddler a disney day is just so much better with a nap (and cocktail hour for her parents). We have come to love the Residence Inn. Within walking distance to disney and full kitchen, saves us a lot of money. Truth be-told, we don't eat at disney at all. With the amount of money we save on food, is how we can afford the hotel. The free breakfast makes it easy to go enjoy the park, come back for a nap, eat some sandwiches, go back for night and then have dinner. The rooms are spacious, staff is courteous and if you get a room on the corner, you can walk out and watch the fireworks show. Standard room, great for families... with what else is out there for the price, it's a good value. In response to the "aging" reviews...After staying at several of the hotels on Harbor blvd. I think all of them are in the category....The only thing I can actually complain about was on this particular visit, they were cutting the trees down around the rooms, it was an absolute mess, a HUGH safety issue and no one seemed to care, I'll overlook it this time, but I was disappointed with how poorly it was handled by management.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Dear hjoyo,


Thank you very much for your review. From what you have written, I can tell that you and your family enjoyed a very great time while visiting the Anaheim Resort area. One important thing that families look for when traveling is budgeting expenses. I understand how important it is to try to save as much money as possible to be able to enjoy it on other activities. An example that you mentioned is our complimentary full hot buffet breakfast, this can easily save a family over $50 a day.


Aside from saving money, you can also save much time and energy with the help of the Anaheim Resort Transit (ART) shuttle. The ART shuttle is a fee based shuttle that transports guests from the local hotels to Disneyland on an all day pass. This day pass is a small fee of $5 for adults and $2 for children ages 3-9 years old. This can be very helpful if the children want to take a nap during the day or to return to the property to enjoy one of our evening social hours.


I lastly want to apologize for the debris around your room. We do our tree trimming about once every three months and our landscapers take extreme precautions when it comes to the safety of our guests by cone placement within 15 feet of vehicles and rooms. I will make sure to discuss this with management and our landscaping team and see why this was not handled properly. Thank you for your information, we appreciate your feedback.


“Suite” Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here Nov 10 to 13, 2012 with our 2 young kids. Kind of surprised by the glorious reviews on tripadvisor. The hotel is very old, our 1 bedroom suite was tight, wallpaper peeling off, tiny bathroom-- no room for our stroller or to unpack our bags. We saw 1 bug during our stay--expected more. The perks-- very close to Disneyland-- our 5 yr old happily walked there in 10-15 minutes, close to Anaheim Gardenwalk with awesome restaurants and the daily breakfast was great. The staff is nice, but having to walk outside in a long maze of sidewalks to do anything (laundry, eat, swim) was a pain. I love Residence Inn style hotels-- but this one is in need of a serious makeover!

Room Tip: Ask for 1st floor if u have kids o/w you'll be lugging a stroller up a flight of stairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Viv77,

Thank you very much for your feedback on your stay in early November. We appreciate your candid response. I'd like to apologize for the challenges that you experienced with your family. Would you be willing to reach out to me to let me know the room you stayed in? Because you brought it to my attention, I personally want to make sure the wallpaper in your room has been repaired by our team. Additionally, (since we are comprised of multiple buildings in a lush, garden-like setting) every now and again an unwelcome winged friend might sneak its way into rooms, despite our persistent efforts to keep them out. I'm so sorry one decided to make itself at home in your room! We certainly DO NOT want them there AT ALL. We highly encourage our guests to tell us immediately if they see anything unusual so we can check the seals in each room. All of us want you to have a relaxing & enjoyable stay, so we are more than happy to correct what we can ASAP.

Again, thank you so much for your feedback. Please drop me a line or give me a call letting me know your past room so that I can follow up with our maintenance team to ensure the satisfaction of our future guests.

Warm Regards,

Vanessa Sah, Manager
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
vsah@rimhospitality.com
714-782-0046 (Direct Line)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We arrived about 5:30 PM on 20 November and had no problems checking into out studio. Went to set up the internet but the jack in the console did not work and the wireless would not connect. Several calls to the front desk and eventually we found that the first time I connected Firefox would not work, had to use IE, but from then on had no issues, very good signal strength (right in front of the office). Bed was very good, not too firm or soft and NOT sagging in the middle. The staff overall was very good.

Breakfast was a bit above average in some respects (I stay in a lot of RI's) with plain Greek yogurt and a standard strawberry for the granola, fruit was OK, fresh bananas and some cut honeydew melon. Standard drinks including Hot Chocolate were off to the side. Scrambled eggs (with an omelet variation on two days) all three days, bacon, sausage, and ham were on different days, and fresh flour tortillas all three days, ans the standard waffles and cold cereal.

The pool and hot pool looked good but did not use them, and there is a shallow kiddy pool, the work out room is simple with a bike and two treadmills.

There is a small safe in the room that you have to put your password in to shut and open it, very good idea for us with poor memories.

For younger and in shape folks, the main gate is within walking distance, for those with wee ones or with physical ailments, the ART bus services this hotel, reasonable cost and wait times.

The bad. This is an aging hotel. Closet doors are sticking, the refrigerator ice maker did not work (they tried to repair it and replace it but it did not work, but they gave use several bags of crushed ice from the kitchen) , had an oven but no baking dishes, although the stove top stuff worked for what we cooked.

Overall, a nice place to stay if you do not mind aging infrastructure, very nice staff. The Disney rep and front desk helped a lot when we realized that our Disney tickets were 12 hours away and with a bit of help from them and our ticket agent, we were ready to go when the gates opened up. Needed a sewing kit and some band-aids, no problem.

Room Tip: Two story eight-plexes, no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vanessa S, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Hi 1Ray,

Thank you for your response. I have to tell you, your glowing response of our hearty breakfast has resulted in an unexpected craving for fluffy scrambled eggs and warm tortillas!

I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be kind & helpful! Our hotel has been an Anaheim/Disneyland favorite for years and we've welcomed thousands of happy families through our doors. That being said, after years of hustling & bustling parents, grandparents, & kids - our hotel can use the tiniest bit of rouge & lipstick here and there. Please know, we are working on encourging OUR bosses into determining a renovation date (and your message is helping us!). We ask that if you, or any of our guests, see something in particular that we can improve - please tell us!! We will do whatever we can to ensure you are happy & comfortable.

Thank you again for your feedback! We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Sincerely,

Vanessa Sah, Manager
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate
vsah@rimhospitality.com
714-782-0046 (Direct Line)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived for our 4 day stay late (12:40am) Monday night...Scott at the front desk was so helpful getting us checked in--very friendly and knowledgable (RI is lucky to have such a loyal employee providing such great service to the weary traveller). Our room was more than adequate--if you're brining kids, consider the Loft Suite (Penthouse) for just the other bathroom, at least--you'll appreciate it--we sure did!

The breakfast was hearty, tasty and filling. Even though they don't have much variety in the hot stuff(eggs everyday, french toast/pancakes alternating, ham/sausage alternating), there are many other choices--cold cereal, oatmeal, waffle machine (and they have 3 irons--so there's never too long of a line). If you choose, you can make breakfast in the full kitchen--so helpful to have for the evenings--complete with full oven if you want to take-n-bake a pizza.

I was initially worried about the pool and hot tub. They both seem small...but was pleasantly surprised to find it adequate--there was never many people there at once, and since it is open 24 hrs, there's always a time when its empty. I enjoyed sitting in the hot tub while doing a few loads of laundry. Wish we had time to shoot a few hoops on the sports court, too!

The ART #7 shuttle picks up right outside--and the number 8 route picks up at the hotel next door--it was nice to have 2 options in case we "just missed" one.

Other conveniences--Gardenwalk is right across the street--but if you're like me, you're too tired after a day of Disney, but there are some good restaurants close by if you want to avoid the pricey Disney fare. There's a Food 4 Less just down Katella (thanks for the directions, Scott!) where you can stock up your fridge.

We had such a nice stay here--and will highly recommend to friends and family. I have no complaints from my stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear robin b,

It sounds like you truly had an "amazing stay". I am so happy to read that you received excellent service upon arriving, I will make sure Scott, our night auditor, gets his proper recognition for his outstanding service. He is one of the many team members at our property that go out of their way to accommodate the guests needs.

I found that the ART (Anaheim Resort Transit) shuttle alternative route is actually very helpful. I sincerely appreciate you mentioning this tip for our future guests heading to Disneyland. You set the perfect example of taking advantage of all the amenities that we offer such as our 24 hour guest laundry room (coin operated), complimentary grocery shopping service and our 24 hour heated pool and hot tub. The Garden Walk directly across the street from us serves as a great and quick location for a variety of dining options.

Thank you very much for your time in writing this review. Hopefully next time you come down to visit you get a chance to shoot a few hoops on our sports court!

"Suite" Regards,

Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I checked in Friday and because of my Marriott Gold status, I was immediately upgraded to the penthouse suite. This was a very nice surprise because of the added space, extra bathroom, and nice selection of sleeping arrangements! The room was very clean, the kitchen had nice granite countertops, and the TV's all worked very well.The beds were very comfortable and made for a great afternoon nap!

The hotel's hot tub and pool were both at perfect temperatures and would be nice for larger groups. I was surprised that the pool is open 24 hours. The hotel offers snacks in the evening, and and Friday it was basic chips/salsa/guacamole/ salsa. Not great, but workable. The breakfast buffet is chaotic from all of the families who act as if they will never eat again. That being said, the staff kept the food well-stocked and warm.

I want to stay at this hotel next time I plan a weekend trip to Disneyland.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kimberly R, Manager at Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Robert M,


Thank you very much for your review on our hotel. I am glad that my staff was able to accommodate you with a larger suite for added space and comfort. It is great to read that you enjoyed a few of the amenities that we provide on property. You are correct that our pool and hot tub are both open 24 hours (quiet time after 10pm), which is a great way to relax after an exhausting day at the park. Also as you mentioned, we do host social hours for our guests on Monday's, Wednesday's and every other Friday's. On Monday's we offer a nacho bar with soft pretzels, Wednesday's are our BBQ nights where we grill hot dogs and hamburgers and serve them with chips, potato salad and regular salad and on every other Friday's we offer light snacks such as chips and dip and cheese and crackers.


We look forward to your trip back very soon! Please don't hesitate to contact us for any assistance when booking!


"Suite" Regards,


Kimberly Rosales
Front Office Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate

Address: 1700 S Clementine St, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A very unique all suite condo style hotel located 1/2 mile from Disneyland. All suites have fully equipped kitchens & full size pull out sofa sleepers. We offer suites that can accommodate up to 8 people. We offer the following free amenities: breakfast, grocery shopping services, social hour, parking, internet, business center usage. Our guests have access to purchasing exclusive discounted park tickets through our on property Disney Desk. On property fire pit & BBQ Grills. Pet Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Anaheim Maingate, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.