We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate accomodation at Disneyland” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Anaheim to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & Parking
Ranked #45 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Adequate accomodation at Disneyland”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

Had stayed in a brilliant Red Lion Hotel in another city so was expecting this hotel to be of the same standard but realise now you get what you pay for and this hotel was quite inexpensive to stay at. Foyer and entrance were clean and spacious but our room was dated and small. There was a miniature fridge tucked behind a cupboard door and a safe was provided for valuables.
Breakfast was included in our tariff and served at the diningroom on the first floor. Selection of fresh fruit, cereals was good but the selection of hot food on offer was tasteless.
Staff in hotel were quite helpful whenever we required assistance.
It takes approx 30 minutes to walk to the main entrance of Disneyland.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    644
    295
    124
    82
See reviews for
912
274
51
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed here to go to Disneyland and were very pleased with the hotel. Breakfast was reasonably priced and had a good range and the location was perfect - about a 10 minute walk from Disneyland. Staff were friendly and accommodating. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Rooms were clean, nice amenities in the room--great bed, very nice TV and
clock radio, mini refrigerator, safe, micro-wave, good bathroom, large towels,
large desk and desk chair--all in all a very good room. The free internet
hookup is a requirement for me as well, thank you for this service. All of the
staff--housekeeping, front desk, and restaurant--were friendly and pleasant to deal with. Don't change a thing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

We travelled with 3 children and grandparents. We booked 3 rooms and stayed for 4 nights. They gave us a free upgrade to their fireworks view room. The view of the fireworks from the room was ok but there was only one night we were in our room to see the fireworks, the other nights we were still at Disneyland. I wouldn't worry about paying extra for a fireworks view room. Also having a fireworks view room meant we could not get connecting rooms. The roaring start breakfast was perfect for the kids and adults. There was a good variety of food to choose from, including; hot foods, cereals and fresh fruit. It was great to have a good breakfast at the hotel and not spend time (or money) getting breakfast elsewhere. The location of the hotel was also good. We were the last stop before Disneyland on the Shuttle Bus and took about 5 minutes to get there. Walking took about 15 minutes. We also ate in the Hotel restaurant for dinner, the food was much healthier and the price much cheaper than in Disneyland.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

I reserved a room at this location a few months in advance over the phone. Everything was explained in detail, including estimated arrival time, and I thought they had squared it away. We drove from Colorado and arrived around 2am and were told we were going to get charged an early check-in fee. This was news and was not explained over the phone. Everything was fine and dandy until a day before our planned checkout date, we were notified that we were getting charged for an extra day since it was not listed in their computer system. Great, another complication with this hotel.

Overall, I would recommend the hotel to someone only if they confirm any and all details over their chat system so that you can save the chat logs and bring it to the front desk if necessary. The first front desk person (the night we arrived) was helpful and seemed caught off guard by the situation. On the other hand, the lady that assisted us the morning of checkout was horrible and completely rude! Ah well, the room was better than the Hilton rooms and at a lower cost. In the end, I was able to get the early check-in credited and we were on our way back to Colorado.

Ah yes, the toilet will scare the crap out of you the first time you flush it. Turbo toilet will flush so hard, it will drain your soul.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson AZ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

We normally stay at the Disneyland Resort but felt it is now outrageously expensive. As a result, I found this perfect location. It is a nice walk from the main gate of Disneyland. You can also get the Anaheim Transport from here but we had no small children so it was a pleasant walk, even after being in the park all day. The rooms are perfect. There are refrigerators and microwaves, They were clean and the beds very comfortable. The staff was also friendly and helped with every detail in a cheerful manner. Would definately stay here next year for our annual family Disneyland at Christmas trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011 via mobile

Have spent the last few weeks traveling around the USA and Canada with two teenaged kids. This hotel has been the best value for money so far! The rooms were very clean, spacious and well fitted. Free and fast wifi allowed us to have FaceTime with family back home. Interconnected rooms gave us our own space while being able to have the kids close by. The buffet breakfast was included in our room cost and was a fantastic way to begin each day. The walk to Disneyland from the hotel was further than we expected but nothing compared to the distances we covered while in the parks.
We had such a comfortable stay and found this hotel to be such good value that we decided to spend our last night here before returning home rather than staying in LA.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities, the transformed Red Lion Hotel Anaheim is a modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantees that you will STAY COMFORTABLE! Disneyland® Resort Anaheim Hotel. One block from Disneyland® Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk, our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Our hotel is mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Anaheim Hotel Rooms Smart, Sleek, Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod® alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs, and are ideal for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.