We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Anaheim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #41 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion in November. This was our kids first trip to Disneyland. We also traveled with my parents and so when we booked we asked for adjoining rooms. The lady at the front desk said she would "make a note on our file but could not ensure we would". I expressed since we were traveling with small children this was a priority. Through my own research, I came across "Chris Allengue's" contact information *who works at the Red Lion* and informed him of my situation. He was more that accommodating and we had adjoining rooms! That made all the difference in our stay with you guys. The buffet breakfast in the morning was a great way to start the day. The rooms were clean and comfortable. Thanks again for making it such a great stay! Would stay again - and have recommended this hotel to friends and strangers :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with our TripAdvisor Readers! Also, I am happy to read that you enjoyed the accommodations that I setup for you. My Staff and I will do everything we can to ensure our guest's requests are met. Thank you again for your feedback and for reaching out to me in regards to your request. When you are back in the area, please do not hesitate to contact me. It would be my pleasure to assist you with your next reservation! Best regard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    621
    286
    118
    79
See reviews for
879
263
51
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed overnight with our grandson in December 2013. Our room was clean and comfortable. Comfy beds and linens, roomy bathroom. Good amenities in the room which made it family friendly. The staff was helpful, and the location was within walking distance to the D-Parks. You have to pay for parking, but they did offer on check-out day that we could leave our car until the park closed at no extra charge.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel, I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would love to see you and your family back in the future. It is our goal to make sure all of our guests have an enjoyable and memorable stay and I am very pleased to hear that we provided you and your family with this experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at the Red Lion in January. The Red Lion hotel and staff exceeded out expectaions. The Hotel was very clean and the staff was very helpful and courteous. Our hotel stay included 2 hot breakfasts which was very good. There was a wide variety of choices and was good quality. The lobby had vending machines and fully stocked gift shops with snacks to take along with you to Disneyland. We will definitely be stayin here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for reviewing our hotel! I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please be sure to keep us in mind the next time you are back in Anaheim. If you are in need of reservation assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I had done a great deal of research concerning lodging in Anaheim. We planned a six night stay away from home for the holidays, so the last thing I wanted to do is sacrifice comfort for savings. There are a considerable number of hotels available near the park at reasonable rates. I have tried several in the area, yet Red Lion is a chain with many Northwest locations that I have positive firsthand experience with. By booking in advance, I received a good rate and I was satisfied with the value overall. Upon arrival, I was impressed with the nice lobby and so happy the hotel decorated for the holidays. As we decided not to stay home for Christmas, it was nice to be greeted by seasonal decor.

One of the factors I like about the hotel is the interior hallway and room entrances. I don’t like the feel of a “motor inn” with guests having full view of my family through the window. The more traditional hotel hallway provides a little more quiet and safety. We were originally placed on the top floor, but asked to move when I immediately noticed a rhythmic ventilation noise that I knew would begin to bother us within one evening. We were promptly reassigned to the 4th floor.

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom spacious. I liked the closet but wished there were drawers in the furniture rather than ‘cubbies’. (I hate to live out of a suitcase but dont like laying my unmentionables out in the open.) The modern décor and amenities (hair dryer, iron, microwave, room safe to name a few) made this room a comfortable stay for the week. The TV was a large flat screen and we only had a couple of glitchy moments watching HD channels.

I do want to ask one question: What is the all the praise for Keurig coffee makers? The coffee is disgusting! And all we need is more plastic… (don’t get me started). I had wished for an old fashioned machine to brew water and make my own tea. Anyway, I preferred the coffee at 7-11 over that to what I could make in the room. Luckily there is plenty of convenient dining and shopping nearby.

We did try the buffet one morning. It was hot and fresh, and likely worth the value of including it in the room rate had we booked that. We personally preferred the breakfast burrito at Alertos just a short walk to the corner of Harbor and Katella. The hotel does have a small selection of sandwiches, salads, snacks and beverages available for those who don't want to leave the building. There is also a well stocked gift shop.

My ipad didn't like the wifi but my daughter's computer picked it up well. It wasn't a problem as the business center in the hotel offered super fast internet and free printing.

The pool was warm! It was wonderful one morning to jump in the water and stretch out muscles sore from walking through the parks for days. In the summer, I imagine this is a much busier space, with direct access to the bar and plenty of seating. However even during our chilly December stay, we enjoyed having time in this little peaceful space.

We purchased 5 day ART passes and used them as needed. We usually picked up a ride in front of the shopping center at the corner as more routes frequent that stop. The hotel is the last stop on the route, which makes GOING to the park fast, but coming back a little slower. It is faster to walk back from the park than wait for the bus, but on days when your feet hurt, the waiting really doesn't matter if you have the patience. A word of caution: If you plan on using ART to attend the show at Medieval Times, note that the bus returning will likely be leaving the restaurant before the show is over. (The cab ride from the show is about $25 btw).

The staff, hands down, were wonderful. From the front desk, to the room attendants, restaurant, bellman and the gift shop cashier- very nice people. It shows that the company works to keep their staff professional and customer minded. kudos!

In the 'grand scheme' of things, this is not a 5 star hotel. There are more luxury accommodations in the area. However, this hotel was perfect for the family who is staying in the area to visit theme parks and other attractions. It was a great 'home base' to come back to in the evening, kick the shoes off and get sleep before starting all over again the next day. For the price, service and peaceful experience, I have to give Red Lion a top rating.

Room Tip: Let the staff help you if you find something not up to par. I found them very helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of our hotel. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed the features and amenities of our property. including our complimentary business center and wifi. I also must agree with you that we are the perfect hotel for a family going to Disneyland. Thank you again for your comments and I look forward to your next stay with us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

me and my family spent a week at this hotel in aug2009 thay were just refurbing at the time the old part of the building was good and the new part was even better on this trip we stayed at 7 hotels this one was secound best but best in anaheim staff were great and very helpfull with information. we had no complaints with the hotel room was clean and made daily it is only a 10 minute walk from the disney park and a 10 min drive to knotts berry park .

Room Tip: plenty of food outlet within walking distance ( less than 5 min for every thing ) and a bar on site
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for letting our TripAdvisor Readers know about your stay with us! I am pleased to read that we were one of the best hotels during your stay! I hope that you come back and visit us again soon! If you need assistance with your reservation, please feel free to contact me! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel from Jan 1 - 4. The beds were great, overall the room was clean, and we slept well, however, when we arrived there was a gross ring around the bathtub of scum and hair - it had not been cleaned from a prior traveler! My wife didn't want to report it at the time for fear of retaliation from service personnel, as we had valuables in the room - so we cleaned it ourselves.
Also, we had booked this room with AAA for 2 nights, and then added a night with AAA. They ended up charging us $50. more for our 2nd night, and I had to spend about 15 minutes on the phone from Disneyland to straighten it out.
The breakfast was good and was included for all 4 of us the first 2 mornings, but only 2 of us the 3rd morning, and I paid $1.00 more for that night.
We did have an evacuation on the 2nd morning with a fire alarm that woke us out of bed, but those things happen.
Overall, other than the issues above, we did enjoy the room and the view from the room over the pool and toward Disneyland, so without the above, I'd give it a 4, but I feel like it should be a 2 1/2 due to the above.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
I am sorry to read about the challenges you experienced. I can understand your frustration. I am happy to read that you did enjoy the other aspects of your stay. I would love to be able to offer you a special discounted rate the next time you are back. I hope then you will be able to experience a stay more typical of our hotel. Again, my apologies and I thank you for your feedback. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We only spent one night on 1/2/13. Check in was easy and room was clean. The room had a refridge and microwave which is always nice to have. Nice hotel by the parks. We would stay again. There is a restaurant onsite which comes in handy. The pool was too cold for my liking but people were swimming.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thank you for staying with us. I am happy to read that you enjoyed your stay. If your travel plans bring you back to Anaheim, please feel free to contact me. It would be my pleasure to assist you. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities, the transformed Red Lion Hotel Anaheim is a modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantees that you will STAY COMFORTABLE! Disneyland® Resort Anaheim Hotel. One block from Disneyland® Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk, our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Our hotel is mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Anaheim Hotel Rooms Smart, Sleek, Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod® alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs, and are ideal for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Reservation Counter, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.