We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disney Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Save Saved
You added Red Lion Hotel Anaheim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Free Night Offer
Ranked #37 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Disney Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed 5 nights and could not fault this hotel. Great value, Friendly staff, Close to Disney. There is free internet in the room and the business centre is convenient. The only problem is there is no scanning facility for email documents.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with our TripAdvisor Readers. I am pleased to enjoy our complimentary internet access and our business center. I hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in Anaheim. Happy holidays and best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,492 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    433
    599
    277
    111
    72
See reviews for
834
255
49
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We booked this hotel through a Travelzoo deal which included breakfast and parking. Our total for three night including tax was $275! We looked around but really could not beat that deal.

Our room was very nice and seemed to have been updated. It did have a Keurig coffee maker as other reviews mentioned, but we did not use it. The bathroom seemed a little shabby - I noticed some rust on a vent that was above the shower and a few other things that needed attention, such as the drain not staying up in the shower causing water to accumulate while showering.

My husband mentioned that he heard a baby crying very loudly on our third night, but I didn't hear it. Perhaps the walls are somewhat thin, but this is pretty standard in most hotels at this level.

Breakfast was fine - nothing special. Fruit, scrambled eggs, potatoes, bacon and sausage. Pancakes, bread, bagels and a couple choices of cold cereal. The food tasted ok, but seemed to be low quality. The normal price of the breakfast buffet was $9.99 for adults - I would have not wanted to pay that price each morning we were there.

Location is pretty good. The ART picks up outside, but you have to pay. We ended up walking to Disney's parking lot which is right next door and hopping on one of their shuttles. They saw us walk in each day and didn't seem to mind.

The pool area looked nice, but we didn't have time to use it.

Overall, we would stay again at that price, but otherwise would stick with our usually place down the block and across the street, the Candy Cane Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for staying with us and giving us a try. We are always striving to improve our service and I have shared your comments with our Department Managers to address the areas you mentioned. I hope that you will keep us in mind the next time you are in Anaheim. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Decided to book our room with RL. We have season passes to Dland and usually stay at a very cheap hotel while there. No expectations at a cheap hotel, right? So, we decided to splurge and stay at a nice hotel. So, we picked the Red lion.

Didn't get there until late Sat night. I am 8 months pregnant so after a 6 hour car ride, I was done. Staff at the counter was very friendly, no issues there. Walked in to our room. Straight for the bathroom. :) Still excrement in the toilet. Dirty towel on the counter, used soap bars on the sink and in the shower. Bathroom not cleaned.

Also, room was stuffy. Went to turn on the AC/Fan in the room. Didn't kick on so I went to look at the wall unit. Wasn't plugged in. Looked closer and there was a electrical fire at the outlet where the AC plugs in. Wonderful.

Took my comlaints to the front desk. Was told they would take care of me for these issues. Was very pleased that the front desk, Mayra, was very helpful and nice. She assured me that this was not the norm and apologized.

Was just disappointing to think we would have a luxury hotel and had those issues.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am frustrated to read about the experience you had and I want to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences. I am pleased to read that Mayra was helpful in assisting you. To put your mind at ease, our Engineers have been checking our electrical equipment to ensure this does not happen again. Thank you again for your review and I look forward to your next stay with us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Cajon, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

we stayed at the Red Lion Anaheim 12/7-12/9 the room was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffett was included in our room rate and was more than adequate for the price. My only complaint would be the time it is served on weekends. We ended up skipping breakfast on Saturday to be at Disneyland at opening. A 630 or 7am start would make more sense, beds are a little hard, but the cleanliness of the room was greatly appreciated

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. After reviewing your comments, the hotel has decided to change our breakfast hours. Breakfast will be served from 6:30am – 9:30am DAILY. We hope that this will help those of our guests who wish to visit the parks early and get a head start! As you can see, your feedback is valuable to us. Thank you for sharing your feedback and I hope that you come back and take advantage of our earlier opening restaurant hours. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauai, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The Good: Rooms were very clean, staff was friendly and courteous, ART picked up right in front of the hotel.

The Bad: Our room rate came with breakfast the first day it was just allright, the second day it was awful, this was the last time we ate there out of our 6 night stay day, which was to bad since it came with our room rate. I had asked for a quite room, since I was traveling with my special needs daughter, We were given the room right by the elevator you could here everyone talking, kids crying and screaming. We also never had heat in our room I reported it 4 times, each night we came back to the room it was not fixed.
I also do not like the $40.00 a night hold on your Credit Card. We would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. I am disappointed to read that we failed to meet your expectations. I want to know more about your dining experience with us, as well as what transpired with your heater. If you would like to discuss your concerns in more detail, please feel free to contact me. Thank you again for your feedback and I hope that you take me up on my offer to speak with me. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Great location for proximity to Disneyland & other restaurants in the area. We always check for bedbugs (with a flashlight & disposable gloves) BEFORE settling into our room. I were thrilled to find that it was extremely clean between the headboard & the bed and there was a proper slipcover on the mattress so no bedbug infestation could occur. The cleaning service should be commended. We had our request to be in room next to our daugher & her family fulfilled. I would like to mention that there is noise transmission between floors (i.e. we could hear the people above us walking around) Checked with my daughter & she also said they had the same problem. Luckily, most people go to bed early so it didn't become an issue. Our only disappointment was that the buffet breakfast opened at 7:30 on the weekends. This surprised us as Disneyland opens at 8:00 on the weekends and we wanted to be there for an early start. As a result, we ended up not having the breakfast buffet on the Sat. We have stayed in many, many hotels all over the world and feel this breakfast buffet is one of the better ones. We would recommend to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you taking the time to share your feedback with us. I am pleased to read that we passed your inspection. We do our best to ensure that our rooms are ready to ensure a comfortable stay for all our guests. I am sorry to read about your concerns regarding noise and our breakfast. I will be discussing our breakfast times with our Management Team to ensure we are best serving the needs of all our guests. Again, thank you for your review and I look forward to your next stay with us. Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Red Lion 3 nights and when we arrived to find our room we were thrilled at the clean and spacious room. As a woman I like having a vanity in the bathroom to work at and this one didn't disappoint with a generous countertop. It was very nice having a special area with a coffee maker, safe and mini microwave and a small fridge in the TV console. The beds were very also very comfortable. It was only a two block walk to Disneyland (very long blocks) and shuttles were easy to find if you didn't feel like walking. Overall we would definitely stay again when we come back.

Room Tip: We stayed on the fifth floor which faced the west side overlooking the Disney parking lot. Would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your stay and all the amenities we have to offer in all of our guest rooms.

We would love to have you back in the future so that we could continue to provide you with the great service and amenities that the Red Lion Hotel Anaheim has to offer.

Please let me know direct if I could assist you with any future reservations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#36 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities, the transformed Red Lion Hotel Anaheim is a modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantees that you will STAY COMFORTABLE! Disneyland® Resort Anaheim Hotel. One block from Disneyland® Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk, our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Our hotel is mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Anaheim Hotel Rooms Smart, Sleek, Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod® alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs, and are ideal for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.