We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel close to Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Anaheim to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Australia NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good hotel close to Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good priced hotel walking distance to Disneyland (10 minutes to Park entrance gates) Great breakfast that was included in our rates. We booked direct with the hotel. We had a "fireworks view" King room, thou as we were at the park for the Fireworks it was more a view of the Park room! Room was tidy and clean, fixtures and furniture all good, bed really comfy. Small problem with the in room safe but call to reception and someone was there within a few minutes to fix it. Staff were always helpful. Bought our Disney Park Hopper tickets from the hotel (cheaper than at Disneyland gates) Rooms were serviced daily. Didn't use the pool but looked good. Would definitely stay again and have recommended it to others already

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris A, Director of Rooms at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Also, I am glad to read that you were able to take advantage of our special Disney ticket promotion. Please keep us in mind the next time you are back in Anaheim. Thank you again for staying with us and I look forward to your next visit! Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    501
    677
    308
    133
    89
See reviews for
953
293
53
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a clean well priced decent hotel. Make sure you get a rate with free parking and breakfast included. We reserved a premium room with fireworks view but did not get that. We did get a lower rate and our regular room with two queen beds was fine. Wifi worked fine for us. TV also was good. Beds comfortable. Water pressure good. Really hd not complaints for what we pic.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. The Red Lion Hotel Anaheim thrives on making sure are guest stay is memorable and enjoyable and we would love to have you and your family back in the future for another great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We found the check-in very efficient - room was very nicely decorated - and really like the no smoking - the staff is cordial - and the room very clean and fresh smelling. Visiting family in CA and find this hotel a good base to stay. The hotel rate was within most budgets. Would definitely stay there again. Is in a great location.

Room Tip: We had a king which was very comfortable and spacious. The corner rooms are very bright. This was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback, I am very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. We would love to have you and your family back in the future for another enjoyable stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I can not wait to have you and your family stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked a couple of rooms here for the family taking everyone to Disney. Looked like the perfect place besides I like the other Red loins I've stayed at. The Cleaning staff would shut off our AC so it would be a hot box everyday. fans in the bathrooms did not work, as a rewards member I informed the hotel I even wrote a letter. The manager replied sorry, they should of fixed it on the spot. housekeeping should not change things in the hotel once someone is in the room. I felt like my stuff was not only being seeing by my family.

Room Tip: next to Disney bus pick up, just get buss pass before getting ready to take the bus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel. I would like to apologize for any problems you experienced. It is our goal to make sure all of our guest stay is memorable and comfortable. I have shared your feedback with my Management Team regarding the Air Conditioner in your room to ensure that this does not become a problem for any of our future guest. We do have a centralized exhaust system for all of our rooms, I have already had my Engineering Team check the exhaust system to ensure there are not any issues. We would love to have you and your family back in the future so that we are given the 2nd chance to turn the impression around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Spent three nights here with my wife and kids (4 and 6). Having done my usual research, I settled on The Red Lion because of its proximity to the main attraction (Disney Land), the rate and the generally positive reviews. We were not disappointed. The hotel delivered everything it needed to. Fast check-in and friendly staff.

The rooms were adequate, while not overly large. The quality of the fittings and the overall cleanliness was good. Although showing a little sign of age. It has a small fitness room and a pool - neither of which we had a chance to use.

The breakfast was good for breakfast - in terms of variety and quality. It's a self service buffet and we were able to be in and out very quickly during this late season stay.

It's a little bit of a stroll to Disney and Downtown Disney - with small kids. And the busy intersection adjacent to the hotel has to be crossed east-west and north-south. Nevertheless, it is walkable. As is the Anaheim Garden Walk Mall, with family-friendly restaurants including a Cheesecake Factory, California Pizza Factory and Bubba Gump Shrimp.

There's no shortage of accommodation in the area, and rate is a big factor in deciding where to stay, but all things being equal, I'd probably use the Red Lion again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel, I am very happy to hear that you were pleased with your stay and that you would stay with us again in the future. We would love to have you and your family back for another memorable and enjoyable stay with us.
There is a shuttle provided by the city of Anaheim called the Anaheim Resort Transit that will take you down to the Disneyland Park and other close attractions in the area, the shuttle picks up curbside in front of our Hotel every 20 minutes and the cost is $5.00 per adults and $2.00 per child. This will allow you to ride the shuttle all day long.
We hope to see and your family back in the future for another great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We just finished up a stay at the Red Lion. It was our home base for Disneyland, great location. Rooms were clean, nicely decorated. Air conditioning was fine, pool was great, love the fire pits by the pool. All the staff were very friendly, I would especially like to thank Cesar the concierge who was outstanding, help with our bags, very knowledgable and super friendly. Good job Cesar! Rooms were always well cleaned when we returned each of our three days. Would recommend without reservation, good property.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I am very happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your stay at our Hotel and took advantage of all the great amenities that we have to offer. I will especially let our Management Team know about the great job Cesar did when he was in contact with you and your family. I hope to see you and your family back in the future for another memorable and enjoyable stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma County, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My wife and I had planned to take our son to Disneyland for his 3rd birthday, and my parents joined us on the trip. I decided on the Red Lion due to its close location to Disneyland, favorable reviews and reasonable price. There must have been a large convention going on on the dates we had planned since the room prices were fairly high, but we managed $85 a night plus $14 a day in parking. The check in process was smooth even though we didn't book directly through the hotel, and they were able to put us and my parents in adjacent rooms which I thought was very cool. However, the was no bell hop available so we had to get all our luggage up to the room on our own (they did allow us to use their luggage cart though)

The rooms and condition of the hotel overall was OK, but this place has definitely ridden hard over the years. The walls and furniture where scuffed up, and stuff like fixtures and handles were worn and in some cases, broken. The window had hard water or some other kind of stain on it, and it appeared there was no bathroom fan. The wallpaper looks kind of strange, like you are in a room with tile walls (like a bathroom)

It was over 100 degrees when we arrived in Anaheim and we immediately noticed the hallways had practically no air conditioning. Then we opened the door to our room and it was like walking into an oven. The air conditioning situation in this hotel is by far the hotel's biggest flaw. The rooms are equipped with antiquated wall AC units and they are LOUD. They did work, but the noise generated by these things was like trying to sleep with a helicopter trying to take off next to you. However, this did have a silver lining in that the noise drowned out all other ambient noises in the hotel. I would caution anyone who is a light sleeper, you may want to skip this hotel just because of the noisy air conditioning.

That said, the beds were comfy and clean, and after a full day romping around Disneyland with a 3 year old we were so wiped out that we could have slept anywhere. This hotel is indeed walking distance to the park, it took us 15 minutes to get there one way. We opted to eat breakfast at the IHOP next door so I can't speak about the quality of the hotel restaurant.

I don't think we will stay here again at the price point we paid. The most I think I would pay here would be $75 (including parking). I think there are better deals to be found closer to the park. I thought we would be better off staying in a hotel vs an inn/motel, but based on my experience here I don't think this was the case.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desiree B, Front Office Supervisor at Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback about your recent stay at our Hotel, we appreciate all of our guest and their feedback. It is our goal to make sure your stay is comfortable. I would like to apologize for the problem you experienced with the A.C in your room and will be sharing your feedback with our Engineering Team to ensure that this problem is addressed and the problem is fixed. We hope to have you and your family back in the future so we are given the opportunity to turn the impression around that was made. Please fill free to contact me direct if you have any other questions or concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities, the transformed Red Lion Hotel Anaheim is a modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantees that you will STAY COMFORTABLE! Disneyland® Resort Anaheim Hotel. One block from Disneyland® Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk, our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Our hotel is mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Anaheim Hotel Rooms Smart, Sleek, Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod® alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs, and are ideal for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.