We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Red Lion Hotel Anaheim to your Saves list
Red Lion Hotel Anaheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast & Parking
Ranked #45 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Durham, NC
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights while attending at Conference at the Convention Center. We enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is in a good location. The convention center area is across the street, a 5 minute walk. There are plenty of restaurants within a short walking distance including an IHOP right next door. Getting to Disney is a little more of a walk since it is on the other side of the Convention Center. It took us 10-15 minutes to walk, but we were willing to do that to avoid worrying about parking. The area is fairly safe. We felt perfectly fine walking around to and from Disney at night.

The hotel is nice but not overwhelmingly fancy. We did not get a chance to look at the pool, but the restaurant inside is nice and the gift shop has pretty much anything you would need right away. The room was a nice size. A family of 4 could probably fit comfortably. I don't recommend it for any more than that. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean and quiet. The bathroom was fairly standard but did have lots of counter space. They also offered free internet. The parking was a little bit of a pain since the parking lot is out back and most of the side doors were locked to come in. But it was not a big enough issue not to recommend the hotel.

So if you are looking for a reasonable place to stay for either a family trip to Disney or a conference at the convention center this hotel will work nicely.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,625 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    480
    644
    295
    124
    82
See reviews for
912
274
51
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (316)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tempe, arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012

It's pretty nice. The room was updated, except for the bathtub (strange). But the rest of the bathroom, the beds, the carpeting all seemed new. The beds were super comfortable, too! Breakfast leaves a bit to be desired, and I would not recommend eating there if you don't get it for free ($10 each!) and only comes with eggs, potatoes, cereal... not even toast! Staff was friendly and attentive. Disneyland is a few blocks away, I'd say a 10-15 minute walk. Around there there are some good shops, restaurants, and bars in the "Garden Walk" area. It's a nice play to stay, and if I were going back soon I'd probably stay again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I booked this hotel with a coupon deal for a good price. It include breakfast and free parking. If I didn't have the coupon, I don't think I would stay here again. It was alright but the walls were scuffed, dinged and kind of dirty. The beds were comfortable but the rooms were very plain. The bathroom was very nice. Staff was nice and helpful..

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailly-Romainvilliers, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

My first night in the secondary building, a dog kept on barking, left alone in a room (i found out it was two floors away) I asked to be moved, but the first night was allready spoiled.
On the third day, there was a electricity outage. therefore they could not serve the prepaid overpriced breakfast (even the orange juice came out of a electric dispenser) .
Nothing was naturally proposed as a compensation (a voucher for a couple of drinks at the bar would have been a nice gesture) . So I asked for it and I was told to turn around to my travel agency to get a refund, that they could do nothing about it,
But they still had the nerve to charge me a daily fee for "public services" including electricity !!! The room and location were nice, but these event left me with a sour feeling about the property.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Ok, so I always like to start off positive. The hotel was nice, the rooms were clean, and the location was great. there is an IHOP right next door, and across the block are several other little food joints that are cheap and good. The Subway sandwich shop is also open 24 hours which is convienent.

Here's what we weren't impressed with. I called ahead ot ask about parking and extra fees. I was not told about the $40 a night deposit that is added to your bill at the beginning and expected to be paid for right then and there. ($50 if you are paying cash) This of course is refunded at the end of your stay...but when you are already budgeting for an expensive trip and you have booked several nights of stay...this adds up REAL quick and basically can kill an entire one day admission into Disney before you have even started your vacation. Parking was also a hassel and their staff wasn't exactly super helpful.

Parking aside, the hotel itself was great. But that unexpected and pricey room deposit (which I have never been charged at any of the other surrounding hotels in the area) put me off so much I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Rock, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Red Lion in early January 2012.

PROS
We didn't mind the room decor and I thought the room had excellent amenities (fridge, microwave, iPod clock radio, a hairdryer that wasn't attached to the wall, etc).

The distance to the parks was an easy walk TO Disneyland. Though after 12 exhausting hours, (wishing I had stayed at a Disney resort), we took the ART back.

The maid service was regular. We returned each night to a nicely tidied room and fresh linen.

The bed was comfortable.

CONS
The front desk staff were severely understaffed. This caused long lineups at the front desk, no answer when calling front desk, and harried, resentful service.

The buffet offered plentiful servings of scrambled eggs, bacon/sausage, hashbrowns, pancakes -- but I found the food quality to be rather poor, and it was overcrowded -- causing long lineups to enter the restaurant, long lineups for food and the food ran out often.

While the decor was modern, you could tell their upgrades were purely cosmetic; the elevator was old and slow, etc.

I'm not sure what it was, but the central air conditioning or hallway air flow pipes, or something created a constant, loud whistling noise near the bathroom/hall. Our room sounded almost like a "haunted house" at times.

Our room was tidy, but could have been cleaner. For example, I dropped something under the TV desk and when I retrieved it, found it covered in dust! This made me take a look around with a more discerning eye, and I noticed thick dust everywhere that a perfunctory push of a vacuum couldn't reach.

The bathtub was truly gross, with poor drainage that caused water to immediately fill the tub during a shower. I saw a few thick black hairs that were definitely not ours. I felt the need to wash my feet after each shower. Even though I wanted to take a bath, I couldn't bring myself to use the tub. The towel rack inside the shower was also broken.

These cons are not deal breakers unto themselves, but I would stay elsewhere next time.

Room Tip: I would avoid room 804 -- the hallway's air conditioning or central water pipes -- or something...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Great place to stay with kids. Pool area is very nice although we did not swim our room looked over it! We were on the 7th floor with a view of the fireworks which was nice except we had a hum from the hotel roof below. Can't say it was a big issue once you are there past the first night. Staff were really friendly we dealt with a lady Desire or deidre and she was so helpful in getting us Transportaion to Knotts berry farm, we used the same car service the whole time. Less then a 10 min walk to Disney, close to national car rental and a few little stores in the area which were cheaper for suvioners. Rooms were clean, fridge is hidden away in the dresser, we never knew it was there for a few days.

Room Tip: Opt for the fireworks view, it is worth it!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Lion Hotel Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Anaheim

Address: 1850 S Harbor Blvd, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Red Lion Hotel Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renovated with a contemporary, timeless design, vibrant decor, and state-of-the-art facilities, the transformed Red Lion Hotel Anaheim is a modern getaway in Anaheim, California. Our sleek, sophisticated interiors, rich color palette, and luxurious finishes create an inspired atmosphere for playing and working. Our innovative hotel is a playful retreat for vacationing families, corporate travelers, and meeting groups. The inviting ambiance and friendly personal service guarantees that you will STAY COMFORTABLE! Disneyland® Resort Anaheim Hotel. One block from Disneyland® Resort, Anaheim Convention Center, and Anaheim GardenWalk, our convenient Anaheim hotel is a haven of hospitality in Anaheim. Our hotel is mere minutes from House of Blues Anaheim, Honda Center, Angel Stadium of Anaheim, The Grove of Anaheim, MUZEO, and the Outlets at Orange. Take a scenic drive to Long Beach, Newport Beach, Los Angeles and Universal Studios Hollywood. Red Lion Anaheim Hotel Rooms Smart, Sleek, Stylish. Relax in beautifully decorated rooms with progressive design and cool Southern California style. The rooms at this Anaheim family friendly and business friendly hotel feature spacious work areas, free high-speed wireless Internet access, refrigerators, microwaves, iPod® alarm clocks, granite bathrooms, and 37" flat-screen TVs, and are ideal for Anaheim family vacations and corporate retreats. Wired with intelligent technology and entertainment, you'll stay connected and comfortable at this Anaheim hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Anaheim
Anaheim Red Lion
Anaheim Maingate Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Lion Hotel Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.