We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Bad At All” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save More
Ranked #10 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not Bad At All”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We basically stayed there to use as a place to sleep and store our suitcases and clothes as we adventured California. It was worth the price. The rooms were decent (not good not bad). The service of the maids and reception was approvable and good. We did enjoy our stay and it was quite convenient for its purpose.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

422 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    159
    190
    36
    21
    16
See reviews for
257
33
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

I am always looking for affordable but nice lodging near Disneyland and the Ananheim Islander met all my expectations and more. The rooms were clean (the most important aspect of any stay), they were large, the beds were comforatable, the refridgerator was a good size, and the hotel was quiet. While we did not get to try the pool, it look inviting and was heated. While the property is old, it has been remodeled and is very inviting. The staff were also very friendly. We stayed in the larger 2 room suite and it was perfect for our kids, grandkids and us. We had privacy but were able to share a suite at a great price. If you are looking for a large buffect breakfast or upscale lobby, this is not for you. But as compared against other hotels in this price range, it outshines every one we have previously stayed at. I have never stayed at one more than once, but we will be back to the Islander.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Tammy G,

We really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay. This helps all our potential future customers make an informed decision. The pool is heated & the breakfast very simple due to limited space. For most people fresh brewed coffee, orange juice, danish, muffins, donuts & apples provide a decent start for the day. Thank you for your loyalty, we really enjoyed having you guys as our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved this hotel. We walked to disneyland's enterance, it was so close. Plenty of places to eat in walking distance. The hotel is very very clean, great housekeeping service, and refrig and micro plus big screen tv. Awesome value for a great hotel. I recommend it to all my family and friends, stay here if you are in Anaheim. I will definately stay here again my next trip.

Room Tip: It has a pool. I scored it poor for fitness center & restaurant, only because it does not have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

1. Good value for money
2. Location is convenient very close to many food places, restaurants and Anaheim Garden Walk which normally closes around 9ish - 10ish pm. We felt safe as many tourist were around.
3.Very close to Disneyland, 5-10 minute walk.
4. Property very clean and tidy. Swimming pool area very tidy but double check pool my sister and I didn't swim as pool water looked a little bit dirty you had to look very closely tho from a far looks clean.
5. We stay in a queen room, 3 adults, 2 Queen beds, Bed was comfortable, Room had little moving space. Bathroom small but in saying this most of the time we spent outdoors it was basically just a place for us to sleep. Room was very tidy and clean, cleaners were friendly and we noticed they were out everyday cleaning. Towels and face towels/toilet papers always topped up by cleaners. Room had flat screen tv/Fridge/microwave/Iron/ironboard
6.Reception was always helpful
7.Checkout was hassle free

Negative
1.Breakfast is boring, only sugary bakery food etc donuts. (Free) No eggs no bacon (no hot food) :(
2. Room was dark need more lights in room.

Overall would definitely stay here again :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

My two daughters,two grandsons and I met my son and daughter in law in June of 2013 for a mini vacation to Universal Studios and Disneyland. We stayed at the Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites and were very pleased with the location and the rooms. I thought the rooms were very roomy (my daughters, grandsons and I had a two room suite with 1 bathroom) and clean. We made use of the pool and also the continental breakfast every morning. We did find the beds a bit firm for our taste, but that is a matter of preference. The location was great; It was an easy walk to Disney and directly across the street from the Garden Walk district. Overall we had a pleasant stay and would stay again if we are ever in that area. .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed at the Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites in July, 2013. It is a wonderful little “hidden treasure” in Anaheim. Our whole family would highly recommend this quaint motel to anyone travelling to Disneyland for a holiday. Our family of 6 stayed in one of the larger family suites and there was plenty of room. The rooms were clean and the staff very friendly and accommodating. It is a short walk to Disneyland. It’s not a swanky high priced hotel, but a very warm, welcoming, comfortable motel. When we travel to Anaheim again we will definitely be staying at the Anaheim Islander again and would recommend anyone travelling to do the same.
Tracy R
Calgary, Alberta Canada

Room Tip: This is a great motel for larger families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAKE HAVASU
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Introduction:
Two adults & I stayed at this motel in September of 2013 for a Disneyland vacation.This motel is great for a Disneyland based vacation because, its close to various foods, shopping & a main Disney parking lot on Harbor Blvd. Be prepared to spend $16+ dollars to park in the Disney lot & then be bussed over to the Disney parks.

Description:
We were pleased with our over all experience with this cute, small, two storied motel. Its nothing fancy but, its clean (inside & out), friendly, comfortable, economical, low on the noise factor & spacious.They have different sized rooms to accommodate singles to families. The rooms come with ironing equipment, refrigerators,microwaves, small coffee makers, decent TV's, hair dryers, desks & comfortable beds.There's a pool (not heated & doubles as the smoking area), ice machine, coke machine & a small danish/donut breakfast.

Conclusion/Commentary:
I had been driving my self crazy, searching through several motels/hotels on various websites & reading several reviews trying to find the best place that would blend safety & a clean room with the basic necessities; all wrapped up in a good economical value that didn't have any hidden fees. Well, the Anaheim Islander Inn not only fit my party's needs but, exceeded them.The customer service was great, there was free parking & they try to accommodate your requests.To avoid street noise, I'd get a room towards the back. If you're disabled & can't walk stairs, you can request a room on the first floor. If you're a smoker, you can't smoke in any of the rooms but, at least they have a smoking area.There's not much on the negative side to report. However, the breakfast is fairly bad.The danish/donuts taste like some "wanna be" versions of the real things. I strongly recommend the "IHOP" right around the corner on Harbor Blvd. for breakfast instead of the motels'. The food there is tasty. What ever you do, AVOID THE CARL'S JR. ON HARBOR FOR ANY FOOD! It was GROSS! Across from the motel there is a Bubba Gump Shrimp. Their food had a good flavor & the customer service is good but, they over cooked all of our food & the prices are high for what you get. But, they do make a bread pudding to die for! Bottom line, we liked the Anaheim Islander Inn, Its location & we would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try getting a room near the back. If you're disabled, call them ahead of time to make any specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#12 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy walk to Disneyland® Resort & Anaheim Convention CenterDiscover casual luxury, friendly service, affordable room rates and perfect location for a family vacation or a productive business trip in vibrant Orange County.Our friendly hotel is centrally located in the heart of beautiful Anaheim, California, just 1 block from the world-famous Disneyland® Resort, and the Anaheim Convention Center. We are so close that you can walk to the Magic Kingdom, or if you prefer you can pick up Anaheim Resort Transit shuttle right from our door step with a nominal fee.Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay comfortable and satisfying with quality accommodations and legendary service that exceeds your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Anaheim
Islander Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.