We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct and Save More
Ranked #10 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Portland, Oregon, United States
1 review
“A very pleasant experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

My brother and I stayed 6 nights in a two-bedroom unit. We found the beds to be fine, the room was kept very clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We did not try the continental breakfast, since there was a fridge in the room we pretty much stocked up on fruit & such and did breakfast on our own. The walk to Disneyland was about 15 minutes at a brisk pace, 20 on the way back when we were tired. The pool looked nice, but we never spent any time there.

I would recommend this place as a good value, you can't beat the space in the rooms (they were larger than most in which I have stayed) and the proximity to the disney parks is good. We will likely stay there again next time we go South.

The only negative for me was the TV. Very few channels available, and a couple would just stop coming in during whatever we were watching. We certainly did not come to Disneyland just to watch TV, but it would be nice after a long day at the parks to be able to kick back and watch something. Again, this is a very minor complaint. You can do a lot worse in the area (and we have!).

Room Tip: The farther back (away from Katella) the quieter it is
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    196
    35
    21
    16
See reviews for
267
34
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had a 5 night stay in a 2 bedroom unit. The place is clean and in a great location about 10-15 min walk to the gates of Disneyland. Breakfast if you want to call it that was provided. A tiny cup for coffee or juice,cake or pastry and a tiny apple. That's it. The towels are pathetically thin and needed replacing 12months ago. We had a room on the ground floor and heard every cough, sneeze and conversation going on either side and above us. On our last night the family above arrived home at midnight ran up the metal stairs then proceeded to run riot until 3.00am. We did mention it the next morning but no apology was forthcoming. The price was cheap and I guess you get what you pay for. I'm in no hurry to return.

Room Tip: Maybe top floor would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear GBDK, The management would like to sincerely apologies for the less than perfect stay. Your feedback is valuable to us and will be taken into consideration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Four of us stayed for 5 nights in early Nov. Had a 2Q and sofa bed (never used the sofa for sleeping)

We chose the Islander because of Price and proximity to Disneyland, as well as having a fridge and microwave. We were only in the room for sleeping, and a couple hours in the afternoons. Kids enjoyed the pool a couple of times. Reception desk always supplied extra towels for the pool.

We knew the continential breakfast was small, so we stocked up on breakfast items and ate in the room. We had two issues with the room and they were remedied quickly.

WiFi worked well. No issues with noise. Beds were good. If the price is right we will definately stay here again.

We were able to get a late check-out, and that helped to make the end of our vacation a bit less painful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taylors, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in room 228. The room was large, very clean and well kept.
Pros: 42" Toshiba LCT TV, large refrigerator, microwave,, coffee maker, safe, small table with 2 chairs, comfortable beds, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, free parking, good closet and dresser space.
Cons: Continental breakfast barely qualifies as a breakfast. Everything is miniaturized. Coffee and juices are served in ~6 oz cups. Bran muffins are about 2 bites in size. I didn't realize they could be made this small. Apples are also available. Quite disappointing.
The laundry room consists of one washer ($1.25) & one dryer ($1.00) so it stays quite busy. It is open from 8:00 am to 9:00 PM.
It is only about a 15-20 minute walk to the Disney entrance from the hotel. The front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Three of us stayed at the Islander Inn for 4 days/3 nights. It's quite close to Disney - it might be 10 minutes to the main gate, walking at a leisurely pace.

The Islander is close to fast food restaurants, table service restaurants and corner stores.

The room we stayed in was clean. It was a good size. The beds were comfortable. The room looked like it had been renovated fairly recently.

The front desk staff were very accommodating.

All three of us would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel that's close to Disney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

There were a lot of things I liked about this hotel, and some I didn't. The location is a reasonable walk to the Disneyland Park, about 15 minutes at a fairly fast pace. The parking was free, the WiFi dependable, and free, the room service was reliable, and the front desk folks were superb to work with, very accommodating. On the flip side, the continental breakfast was barely qualified as a breakfast and was promptly removed at 10 AM. The room was adequate, but worn, and the TV station choice was very limited. The beds were comfortable but if you pay for a sofa hideaway you'll be very disappointed in its comfort. The bathroom was very small, lacking counter space. The AC was great. All in all the facility felt old, worn, and tired, and it looked that way. If you spend most of your day at Disneyland and just need a place to sleep, this will do nicely. If you prefer something a bit more upscale, this might disappoint. Lastly, there are pizza,Chinese, Mexican etc.fast food joints about a block away, but you have to cross a very busy street, or walk down about a block to catch the light.

Room Tip: I always prefer upstairs rooms. This is a two story facility and I'd recommend a room toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Odysseus46, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Customer feedbacks are very important to us as it points out our strengths, but most importantly our weaknesses. This helps us achieve our goal of providing the best value for all our customers. We have made recent cosmetic improvements throughout the property and our working on improving other areas of weakness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel met our needs for our family traveling. I think there are probably many other hotels that are nicer in same price range. I would probably not return, as there are so many hotels to choose from, and feel I could have done better.

It is close to the shops/restraunts at the garden walk, and walking distance of convention center.

The room was fairly nice size fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was very clean.
Carpet/floor,, not so clean, even after made service my and my kids feet were black.

Parking was tight fit. but it was free. and free is good.

Breakfast - we stayed there 4 nights and they offered same thing each day muffins (mini muffins), danish and apples. It is in the lobby,so you grab and go back to your room and eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear mckinneygirl75070, we are blessed with being located at a very convenient location which a about a 10 minute walk to Disney. We sincerely value your feedback. All customer reviews are looked at and discussed amongst the management and appropriate measures are taken to make changes within our budget and business model.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#11 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy walk to Disneyland® Resort & Anaheim Convention CenterDiscover casual luxury, friendly service, affordable room rates and perfect location for a family vacation or a productive business trip in vibrant Orange County.Our friendly hotel is centrally located in the heart of beautiful Anaheim, California, just 1 block from the world-famous Disneyland® Resort, and the Anaheim Convention Center. We are so close that you can walk to the Magic Kingdom, or if you prefer you can pick up Anaheim Resort Transit shuttle right from our door step with a nominal fee.Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay comfortable and satisfying with quality accommodations and legendary service that exceeds your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Anaheim
Islander Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.