We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, well kept and clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$5 Off Best Rate!
Ranked #10 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Taylors, South Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location, well kept and clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We stayed in room 228. The room was large, very clean and well kept.
Pros: 42" Toshiba LCT TV, large refrigerator, microwave,, coffee maker, safe, small table with 2 chairs, comfortable beds, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, free parking, good closet and dresser space.
Cons: Continental breakfast barely qualifies as a breakfast. Everything is miniaturized. Coffee and juices are served in ~6 oz cups. Bran muffins are about 2 bites in size. I didn't realize they could be made this small. Apples are also available. Quite disappointing.
The laundry room consists of one washer ($1.25) & one dryer ($1.00) so it stays quite busy. It is open from 8:00 am to 9:00 PM.
It is only about a 15-20 minute walk to the Disney entrance from the hotel. The front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    177
    35
    20
    16
See reviews for
238
29
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Three of us stayed at the Islander Inn for 4 days/3 nights. It's quite close to Disney - it might be 10 minutes to the main gate, walking at a leisurely pace.

The Islander is close to fast food restaurants, table service restaurants and corner stores.

The room we stayed in was clean. It was a good size. The beds were comfortable. The room looked like it had been renovated fairly recently.

The front desk staff were very accommodating.

All three of us would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone wanting a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel that's close to Disney.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

There were a lot of things I liked about this hotel, and some I didn't. The location is a reasonable walk to the Disneyland Park, about 15 minutes at a fairly fast pace. The parking was free, the WiFi dependable, and free, the room service was reliable, and the front desk folks were superb to work with, very accommodating. On the flip side, the continental breakfast was barely qualified as a breakfast and was promptly removed at 10 AM. The room was adequate, but worn, and the TV station choice was very limited. The beds were comfortable but if you pay for a sofa hideaway you'll be very disappointed in its comfort. The bathroom was very small, lacking counter space. The AC was great. All in all the facility felt old, worn, and tired, and it looked that way. If you spend most of your day at Disneyland and just need a place to sleep, this will do nicely. If you prefer something a bit more upscale, this might disappoint. Lastly, there are pizza,Chinese, Mexican etc.fast food joints about a block away, but you have to cross a very busy street, or walk down about a block to catch the light.

Room Tip: I always prefer upstairs rooms. This is a two story facility and I'd recommend a room toward the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Odysseus46, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. Customer feedbacks are very important to us as it points out our strengths, but most importantly our weaknesses. This helps us achieve our goal of providing the best value for all our customers. We have made recent cosmetic improvements throughout the property and our working on improving other areas of weakness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This hotel met our needs for our family traveling. I think there are probably many other hotels that are nicer in same price range. I would probably not return, as there are so many hotels to choose from, and feel I could have done better.

It is close to the shops/restraunts at the garden walk, and walking distance of convention center.

The room was fairly nice size fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was very clean.
Carpet/floor,, not so clean, even after made service my and my kids feet were black.

Parking was tight fit. but it was free. and free is good.

Breakfast - we stayed there 4 nights and they offered same thing each day muffins (mini muffins), danish and apples. It is in the lobby,so you grab and go back to your room and eat.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear mckinneygirl75070, we are blessed with being located at a very convenient location which a about a 10 minute walk to Disney. We sincerely value your feedback. All customer reviews are looked at and discussed amongst the management and appropriate measures are taken to make changes within our budget and business model.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Pros:10 min walk from Disney, 2 mins to cheesecake factory and ihop. Super-clean, big rooms and very helpful staff. For the price, can't imagine anywhere better to stay in the Anaheim area. Have stayed in some dives in this part of town but the Islander is very impressive.
Cons: free breakfast is very basic. But it's free..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I cannot rave on enough about this Hotel. We arrived at the Hotel from our 14 hour trip well ahead of our check in time, hoping they would hold our bags while we explored Anaheim. Instead they checked us in promptly and the 4 Queen 2 brm suite was wonderful. Nothing but Clean and spacious and we could park car straight outside. Bathroom is tiny, but who cares?, it was clean and was sufficient for our means. Bonus was the fridge and microwave so we could heat up our super size doggy bag leftovers when we ate out :) Two wonderful Plasma TV's and having a Table and chairs to feed the kids their cereal in the morning was very convenient. Laundry was cheap $1.25 for a load and $1.00 for the Dryer and just 2 doors down from our suite. We will definitely be singing praises to our friends and family about this Hotel. Front desk were always cheerful and helpful and we would definitely stay again. If you are looking for something close to Disneyland then don't waste your time looking any further, book here!!! We even extended our stay by a day as we loved being there and exploring around the area. Thank you Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites for making our start of our vacation memorable/ McGee Family

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We took our children and grandchildren to Disneyland and just wanted a close, safe and clearn place to stay, at a low price. Disneyland is so expensive that we really didn't want to pay high prices to just shower and sleep. We rented 3 rooms from the Islander Inn and Suites. For the price we paid, I wasn't expecting much, but how surprised we ALL were to find very clean, large rooms. Each room had a coffee maker, refrigerator, nice TV and the beds were extremely comfortable. The front desk people, day and night were most hospitable and helpful. Our entire family was very, very pleased by the service and amenities we received at here. We would not hesitate to stay here again!

Room Tip: About a 10 to 15 minute walk to Disneyland gates. It has a pool! Serves juice, coffee and rolls fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Also Known As:
Islander Hotel
Islander Hotel Anaheim
Islander Motel Anaheim
Address: 424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy walk to Disneyland® Resort & Anaheim Convention CenterDiscover casual luxury, friendly service, affordable room rates and perfect location for a family vacation or a productive business trip in vibrant Orange County.Our friendly hotel is centrally located in the heart of beautiful Anaheim, California, just 1 block from the world-famous Disneyland® Resort, and the Anaheim Convention Center. We are so close that you can walk to the Magic Kingdom, or if you prefer you can pick up Anaheim Resort Transit shuttle right from our door step with a nominal fee.Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay comfortable and satisfying with quality accommodations and legendary service that exceeds your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.