We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families and great location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Save Saved
You added Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct and Save More
Ranked #10 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for families and great location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good value for money - this was the perfect choice of accommodation for our New Zealand family! It is smaller than many of the big chain hotels and very well located. It was a 10 minute walk to Disneyland and saved $15 a day for parking – but if you don’t want to walk there is an ART bus stop right outside the hotel that takes you directly to the main gate at Disneyland. Across the road is the Anaheim Garden Walk – a restaurant and shopping complex with plenty of choice for eating out. It was also a 10 minute drive to a fantastic shopping outlet centre.
There is a 7-eleven very close for essential purchases and if you have a car there is a large Food for Less super-market about a mile down the road.
We got a two-bedroom suite, so the kids (x3) had their own room with their own TV. Perfect! The bathroom was small but adequate. The room was very clean and the housekeeping service was great. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and helpful and we couldn’t have asked for better.
The pool was a good size and very clean with a nice area for sitting if you didn’t swim. It is quite deep though so if you have little kids you will probably want to get in with them.
The room facilities included a microwave, small fridge (with mini-freezer), air con and a safe for valuables. There is also a laundry on site.
Parking is free and Wi-Fi access is also free – this was probably our only frustration as the connection was pretty sporadic. Breakfast is provided but it is fairly simple (pastries, mini muffins, apples, tea coffee and juice).
Overall we were very happy with our stay and thought it was great value for the price. Would recommend to others and would go back for a family vacation again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    161
    195
    35
    21
    16
See reviews for
266
34
6
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

If you want a place to stay that's large enough to accomodate a family of 4, great swimming pool, adequate breakfast to get you started, friendly staff and management, not to many people(there are only 30 odd rooms), have your tours booked for you, close to 7-11 for those day to day food purchases and a clean room then this is your place to stay for your disneyland holiday. We stayed here from Australia for 12 nights and it was perfect. We went to Disneyland, LA tour, Legoland and knotts. ART shuttle disney bus stop is out the front or 15 min walk to Disney. Don't pay higher prices at the bigger places with larger crowds, stay here and save at least $50 a night. Ask for a rear top room-its further away from the street-and you can see the fireworks from your room.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear top room-its further away from the street-and you can see the fireworks from your roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pros:
- Room Size
- Distance to Disneyland (less than 15 min walk)
- Price (About $70 with taxes)
- Close to restaurants
- Nice and strong wifi signal.

Cons:
- Worst breakfast I've ever seen.
- It wasn't clean enough.
- Towels are awful (small and with stains)
- Blankets are not smooth.
- The shower could be better.
- Staff weren't pleasant at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

The main reason for choosing this hotel was the location. We were going to a baseball game at Angel Stadium and also to Disneyland and this was convenient for both. The room was clean with comfortable beds however the bathroom was quite small. The breakfast was very basic, just small muffins and pastries, coffee and orange juice. Disneyland is within walking distance and there is a nice shopping mall opposite with plenty of dining choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I've read a number of the other reviews and have found nothing to dispute. The bathroom is small, the beds were very firm (no pillowtop mattress) and the continental breakfast consists of small muffins, croissants, coffee and orange juice. It is necessary to make a U turn to head toward Disneyland but it is within 10 minutes walking distance if you prefer to go that route. We walked it with two 6 year old children for 2 days. They were very tired after being at Disneyland all day until it closed but they made it. We did not use the pool but felt the water and it was a comfortable temp and it was clean as was the room. The TV was a flat screen LCD and worked well. The AC worked very well and the microwave, coffee maker, and small fridge/freezer were adequate for our needs. The staff was friendly. Our only minor complaint was that we were unable to get our iPad to join their network even with their assistance. We had no sewer smell in the room. There were a couple of hairs on the sheets but I have seen that on rooms that were much more expensive. I would suggest that the maids should use one of those adhesive lint rollers and give the beds the once-over after the clean sheets are put on.

Overall, for the price, we were satisfied.

Room Tip: Check the sheets as soon as you check in. Take any issues to the front desk immediately and you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed at the Islander Inn and Suites for 11 Nights in September. I was very nervous about our reservation as you never know what you get with a smaller non-chain hotel. The hotel room was comfortable and large enough to accomodate my wife and I and 2 children. We had 2 queen beds and a pull out sofa bed (which we never used).

The hotel is very basic but kept very clean. The pool area isn't large but is very adequate for the hotel size (only 34 rooms in the hotel). Most days we had the pool to ourselves. The pool area is kept very clean and there is plenty of lawn chairs around the pool.

Our stay wasn't perfect. Here are a few things that happened.
1. We were moved after 1 night due to renovations.
2. At first our room had a faint sewer smell. I assume this was due to some plumbing work being done on the building but it went away after the first day.
3. We had a minor issue with our TV
4. We had a breaker blow that left us without electricity in part of our room.
5. The microwave in our room broke on our 2nd to last night.

Each and every issue we had was fixed very promptly by the hotel staff (within minutes). They provided great customer service and were extremely responsive. I'm sure they were tired of us after 11 nights but they continued to provide excellent service. We had to wake them up late one night as our daughter got sick and threw up in the room (we needed some cleaning supplies). Even at this time we got cheerful service and an offer to move us to a new room (we declined the kind offer).

The hotel is at the edge of what I would consider walking distance to Disneyland. We walked it a couple times each day and it took about 12 minutes each way. If you don't want to walk the shuttle stops right in front of the hotel and is the first stop after leaving Disneyland.

There are lots of good restaraunts within walking distance (try Fire and Ice in the Garden Walk mall).

All in all I would go back. The rooms are clean, spacious, affordable, and the staff work hard to make your stay enjoyable. The beds are very comfortable.

My biggest complaint would be that the towels are pretty worn out and are a little scratchy. Might be time to replace them.

Room Tip: It is quieter on the 2nd floor but the our kids hated the stairs after a day of walking around disne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with my parents for two nights in September. The location is nice, because it's very close to the Toy Story parking lot, but because of the median you have to make U turns. The room itself was fine, but the bathroom was awful. The sink was crammed in with the toilet and shower, so only one person could get ready at a time. The bathroom also smelled like sewage, even though it appeared to be clean. The bed was hard and uncomfortable, plus we had the added bonus of being awakened the first morning by someone laying carpet in the room below us at 8:25am. The loud banging went on for half an hour before I called and complained to the front desk. The woman who answered the phone said she would ask them to stop, and they did, for maybe twenty minutes before they started up again. I don't know about anyone else, but I book a hotel room to SLEEP. That is way too early in the morning to be banging around! The desk clerk didn't even apologize or offer to reduce our room rate. If I had been the one paying for the room, I would have demanded a discount. As it is, I won't ever stay at the Anaheim Islander again! The Super 8 across the street is a much better choice!

Room Tip: See review title.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerServiceTeam, Guest Relations Manager at Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Chiwawa4556,

We sincerely apologize for your unfortunate experience. We here at the Islander strive to give the very best of service to our entire occupancy. This matter is currently under review and is taken very seriously. Thank you very much for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites

Address: 424 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#11 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An easy walk to Disneyland® Resort & Anaheim Convention CenterDiscover casual luxury, friendly service, affordable room rates and perfect location for a family vacation or a productive business trip in vibrant Orange County.Our friendly hotel is centrally located in the heart of beautiful Anaheim, California, just 1 block from the world-famous Disneyland® Resort, and the Anaheim Convention Center. We are so close that you can walk to the Magic Kingdom, or if you prefer you can pick up Anaheim Resort Transit shuttle right from our door step with a nominal fee.Our professional staff is courteous, friendly, attentive and committed to making your stay comfortable and satisfying with quality accommodations and legendary service that exceeds your expectations ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HostelWorld and Venere so you can book your Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Islander Hotel Anaheim
Islander Motel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Islander Inn and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.