We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Salem Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“We would stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2006

We spent three nights here and had a great room. We were pleased with the view of the park though not asking for a park view. We enjoyed the pool each day though the water was a bit cold. We appreciated having the in room refrigerator for cold beverages each day after the park. Disneyland was an easy walk both by day and night. We appreciated having two sinks for the bathroom one inside the bathroom and one out. We would stay here again in a hear beat rather then putting our money into the Disneyland property which is where we move to for our last two nights. We would highly recommend this place to anyone traveling that wants to get the most for their dollar.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,521
    1,845
    516
    151
    50
See reviews for
3,771
334
53
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, California
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

Our two-night stay at the Howard Johnson's was delightful. The room was spacious, clean and cheerfully decorated (retro), with more lighting than most rooms offer. That is appreciated. The bathroom, however (as some guests have mentioned) has little counter space around the sinks. The two sinks are a definite positive and help to make up for the problem. The price was very reasonable and a good value for the experience.

Here are some of the many positives: plentiful towels, towels at the pool, friendly staff with helpful attitudes, spacious and well-appointed rooms, nice pools and pool areas (the main pool is great for children; the garden pool is 8 1/2 feet deep and great for swimmers; it's a tad cool--I'd say 78 degrees fahrenheit), efficient elevators, comprehensive toiletry items, comfortable beds, lovely landscaping, proximity to Disneyland, and (in our case) a great view of the Matterfhorn, refrigerators and coffee makers, hair dryer, and lots of surface space for luggage. The air conditioning was efficient. An important feature for me is that this building (#1) was built in 1965 and as such was very well soundproofed. We never heard the neighbors, even though they had small, boisterous children. This is rare in hotel rooms. (We kept the ac on at night which is helpful). Granted, the hotel is located near a freeway and on the busy Harbor Blvd, which means traffic noise is loud with the door open. With it closed, it is well sound proofed. We viewed the Disney fireworks from our balcony.

Some minor issues: A more comfortable chair for reading or more comfortable chairs in general would be welcome. Be sure to put the "Do Not Disturb Sign" on the door or you will most likely be awakened by 8:00 am by housekeeping (since many guests I would think are exhausted by Disney-ing and sleeping in a bit I think management should have a better way of handling early housekeeping visits). The balconies are small with no furniture and not really practical for lounging. The top floor (we were in Bldg 1, 7th floor) has two skylights and in the morning the sun comes blasting in early from the one on the east. At night, there was also a fair amount of light coming into the room from these skylights. If you need a dark room, don't get the top floor. The front desk staff charged us the wrong rate for our second night (they charged a higher rate), but fixed it when we pointed it out.

Bottom line, we really liked this hotel and will stay there again. It's not the hotel for you if you spend a lot of time lounging in your room and want the perks of a top hotel (free breakfast, room service, etc.). If you want a very pleasant place to sleep and swim near Disneyland, I would highly recommend it.

P.S. The original buildings for this hotel were designed by William Pereira, a famous architect was also designed the Disneyland Hotel, the Transamerica Building in San Francisco, parts of the UC Irvine campus and many other projects. Anaheim was once replete with what is now called Googie architecture, which is rapidly disappearing. I am happy to see the owners of this hotel are preserving some of this architectural history.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2006

I gave this an above average rating based on it's location. It's walking distance to the Disneyland. Mimi's Cafe nearby was definitely convenient and affordable. McDonald's is also nearby for an affordable quick breakfast in the morning before heading to the park. The room was a little small. Our room faced the highway; but, the noise didn't bother us. The children's wading pool was a bonus for my toddler. This is a perfect hotel if you are looking for something convenient to the park and don't want to spend the money on a disney resort.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2006

We stayed at the HoJo Plaza Anaheim for 7 nights May20-27. We requested a Queen room in the back building overlooking the quiet pool. None of these rooms faced the highway so I knew we wouldn't have a noise issue if I booked this building. It's convenient to park at the back, but our neighbors told us on our second night that their car had been broken into (window was smashed) so we ended up parking at the front and walking all the way to the back every day. The staff were good and checkin was very smooth. The corridors were clean & tidy, the room was very spacious with 2 queen beds, the floor was very clean, the beds were clean, the room smelt good with no evidence of mustyness. The bathroom was great, shower worked no problems, very clean and well laid out. Our only issue was that the coffee maker in the bathroom wouldn't work with the plug, so ended up unscrewing it from the wall and moving it above the fridge (which is probably where it should have been in the first place). Loved the Fridge and FREE high speed internet. Maid service was really good. Pool & Spa Jacuzzi were both excellent, very clean and WARM. It didn't get too busy but that's probably due more to the time of year we went. It's a popular spot with the kids. Checkout process was fast & painless, we even stored our luggage for a few hours while we went back into Disney. The gift shop is well stocked with most things you could wish for and the prices are good.

Mimi's restaurant across the parking lot serves some fantastic food and very reasonable prices. We ate their more than once. The location was great. It took approximately 7 mins to walk from the HoJo to the entrance of Disney. Don't bother taking the shuttle as you'll get there faster than walking. Here is a tip, if you walk on the Disney side of the street instead of the side with all the hotels/restaurants, you can get into the park quicker because the shuttle entrance comes first and allows pedestrians.

I'm so glad I read all the reviews for this website. Just looking at some of the other options on this website, I'm glad I chose HoJo. Many of these other Motels are just that MOTELS. They all have doors that open on the outside and are just strip motels with little to no amenities. HoJo is not some 5 star resort, but when you compare to the other options nearby, it is everything that you could want or need on a trip to Disneyland. Thank-you, Trip Advisor reviewers for steering me in the right direction.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2006

We were pleasantly surprised to see such great rooms at this hotel. Very spacious room, we comfortably fit 2 adults & 3 children with all luggage; able to put a rollaway bed in room w/o taking up walking room. Nice decor, clean rooms. Great view of the Disneyland fireworks. Would definitely recommend this hotel, actually plan to stay here again. The hotel doesn't have a continental breakfast though, that would have been an added bonus. Within walking distance of the entrance to Disneyland, might be a hike with little ones though, especially after a long day at the park. Shuttle is available, but we would have had to wait up to 20 minutes so we walked each day. Plenty of dining options nearby.

Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2006

Stayed there for 6 x days and can;t remember one bad moment. Location to key points of interest was good and the room we had in Block 2 was quiet and more than big enough for the three of us. The housekeeping was unintrusive and efficient with the staff always helpful and smiling. Special thanks to the front desk crew who looked after so well and handled our many queries with helpful advice.
Look forward to a return trip

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell River, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2006

Just returned from a 10 nt stay at the Hojo with my family of 4. I'd say most of the recent reviews on here are pretty spot-on. We requested (and got) a Disneyview room (in building 1, 5th floor)...a great spot to watch the fireworks (the pool area is better though as there's a lot of trees in the way when viewing from your room!). Even better than that though, is how quiet our room was! We honestly never heard a peep during our entire stay! Well worth the $15/night extra charge! That being said, the room was a tad small for 4 people, and the bathroom, even smaller (although having the 2nd sink outside helped a lot). It was extremely clean though, everything worked (especially the blessed air conditioner!), and there was lots of storage for all our clothes, luggage and Disney souvenirs that piled up each day! We only frequented the main pool area (but walked by the garden pool...it seemed nice and quiet) and the kids loved it! It was almost never too busy and was a great way to cool down in the afternoon between visits to the park. (One little complaint though....on the last few days there, the weather was quite a bit cooler and the pool seemed really cold at times...definitely not the 80 degrees as touted). But, I guess that's a small trade off for most of the days when the temps were scorching!
Housekeeping was very prompt (sometimes almost too much, as on a few of our "lazy days" we received phone calls asking if we'd like our room cleaned!) Nothing wrong with this though.....pool always had warm towels, hallways were clean, laundry facilities were great (used them a few times). The walk to Disney was only about 7-10 minutes, no big deal, and lots of places to eat all day (although I'd highly recommend Mimi's...we pretty much lived there! Awesome food and so well priced! I'll be writing my own review there!). Check in/out was very easy and fast and the staff were always friendly and helpful (especially Jennifer Breland, who put up with my many emails re: upgrading to a suite (which unfortunately were not available, but I think I'd definitely try again next time). Parking was plentiful (and free!) and was great for the car we rented for a few days and for family in the area to come and visit. Gift shop was great for anything you needed, including a few last minute souvenirs (great price on the Disney tees...way cheaper than in the park!). Hope I haven't missed anything...all and all, a great stay! We'll probably stay again if we ever return to Disney but try to get a suite next time.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.