We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE Ultimate best bargain for Disneyland stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“THE Ultimate best bargain for Disneyland stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2009

After roughly a year of looking have concluded Howard Johnson's entertainment value rate the best deal if you are going to Disneyland. Howard Johnson is old, built by the man who built the Disneyland Hotel. The grounds reflect that with their tall trees and lush vegetation. Don't get me wrong- it is impeccably maintained, much like Disneyland always changing and keeping up with the times. This is a family run business that has long ago caught on to every need and fancy of the Disneyland tourist. In fact the new pirate playground is just truly amazing, water slides, pirate ship, other fun stuff-- made me wanna go play, but I did infact maintain my dignity.(lol) The walk isn't bad if you know the shortcut--(cross at manchester by the hotel there, up to the bus run (first driveway you come to) then right up the path to the maingates. The art does stop there I guess but we never felt any need. There used to be a trolley long ago-- sometimes "progress" is not our friend I think. Big rooms, amazingly efficient and exemplary employees. The houseworkers and gardeners seem to take great pride in their work. We got a huge room with a balcony, beautiful view of Disneyland, microwave, safe, and 2 quen beds during spring break for $59 a night. Cya beat that.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,515
    1,841
    516
    151
    50
See reviews for
3,762
334
53
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (619)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2009

My family and I stayed here during our spring break vacation. This hotel is clean and spacious. There was a strange cleaning smell when we arrived but it got better, by the fourth day it wasn't a problem. The pools are really nice, the kids really liked pirates cove. Housekeeping was great, always a clean room when we got back. They even set my daughters build-a-bear in the center of the bed everyday, she loved that. I will probably be staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

Stayed a few nights in early March. Had a double queen room facing the highway. Was a bit worried about the noise since it was a bit loud during the day. But at night after a day at Disneyland hardly noticed it at all. Didn't get to a chance to use the pool areas, wanted to go and try the water slide but it was a bit on the cool side while we were there. Nice little shop on site. Arcade was fun but I wish they would update the games there and the pinball machine needed some work on it to make it work right. Was a quick walk to DL was easier to cross at the light by Mimi's then walk through the crowds at the next light. Overall it was a nice stay, 2 things stand out though, bathroom was in need of updating and the staff there were awesome.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

We booked this hotel through one of those Travelocity packages. We chose it because it got pretty good reviews for the price. The only thing we worried about was the warnings of freeway noise. I called ahead to see if there was any way they could make sure we were not in building one where it sits literally on top of the freeway, but they couldn't since it was booked outside of their system. Anyway, we get our room and to our dismay, we over look the freeway. The noise was unbearable. We called the next morning to request another room. They told us to pack and leave our suitcases with them until later on when we re-check in. We come back and re-check in, they had moved us to building 2. We go to our hotel room and were floored. They had given us a room that they called the "Home Office". This room was HUGE. It over looked the pool, had no freeway noise and even had a bigger bathroom. Thank you soooooo much to the Howard Johnson in Anaheim for making it right. We will definiately stay again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1julieg
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2009

I picked this hotel because of the great price ($116/1st night, then $107 next two nights) and the short walking distance to Disneyland entrance (8mins) and because of the outdoor pool area. The only problem we found was that after walking around Disneyland, at the end of the day, it was tiresome walking more back to the hotel. Also, maybe it would've been better to choose a hotel with a complimentary breakfast in the morning. So, even though the stay at this hotel was nice, we decided on our next trip to stay at a hotel that has a courtesy van to pick us up at the Disneyland entrance and also we'll chose one that has breakfast in the morning, as the cost of food adds up. Also, if you decide to stay here, make sure you get a room AWAY from the highway. The highway is very noisy. The pool was nice, clean and the hot tub was very hot. The grounds were well kept and parking wasn't a problem. The hotel staff was very efficient getting our room and then changing it to a better room once we realized we were near the highway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastopol, California
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

This hotel was very highly recommended by a well-known Disney information website. Yes, it was clean and spacious but, at least in some of the buildings, the fact that about half the window area is not covered in any way meant that curtains on the other windows were absolutely useless as far as darkening the room at night. The lack of soundproofing meant that we could hear ground-level conversations very distinctly right through the structure on the second floor. Plus extremely loud bathroom noise from other rooms (shower running, toilet flushing). Sound plus light at night equals NO REAL SLEEP for most people, including my family. After three nights of this, and spending our days at Disneyland, we were at best zombies. It was really miserable. However, the people who work there are GREAT and it is a five minute walk to Disneyland.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

I picked the HoJo because of the endless good recommendations on this site and many of the Disney fanatics' site, and I have to say it was every bit as good as advertised. I did not want to drive or wait for shuttles on this trip and the HoJo really is walking distance to Disneyland for older kids. I think anyone under 8 might find it a bit far, especially at the end of the day.

The splash park play area for kids is great and was one of the highights of the trip. The gardens are lovely and service good. Great selection in the on-site store.

We had room 4 -112 and it was very nice for the GTA hotels bargain price of $64 US/night. Two very nice firm double beds, fridge, safe (usable with no additional charge), lttle patio. Lots of room for luggage.

My only very minor complains:
- The curtains did not wrap around the side of the windows and let sunlight in very early in the morning. This wasn' t problem for us as we love to get to the park very early (on our last day we were the first in line). MIght be a problem if you were wanting to sleep in.
- Bathtub was very small and shallow, and made soaking after a long day on one's feet a little tricky.
- No room service. I did know this when I booked, but our flight was delayed and we did not get to LAX until 9:30 and just missed the Disneyland Express and had to wait an hour. It would have been nice to order a snack from room service.
- Computers in lobby did not print. So not so useful for mapping your side trips. Front Desk staff would print if asked, but it was a little inconvenient.

But all in all, it was absolutely great.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.