We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
victoria,b.c.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I had stayed at this hotel many times in the past years but not for a long time. We were so excited to return and share in the magic this hotel once gave us. Even though check-in was quick and easy my heart sunk when I entered the room itself. The hotel boasts itself as Retro fun and I must say retro was the key word . The room was worn and the bathroom was small and dated. I phoned down to the front desk and asked if they had any other rooms. I had booked so far in advance to be in the corner overlooking the roof of the check in building was unacceptable. They were quite surprised that it wasn't to my satisfaction and I asked if they had a room in the same building higher up and brighter. There wasn't anything so we decided to try the other building moving from building 1 to 2. This room was on the ground floor, very dark, low ceiling the the toilet was so close to the wall you almost sat on the TP roll. Since I had a recent knee replacement and would be spending lots of time in the room I was very saddened by the rooms offered at such a high price. My family were very supportive and we drove to the Sheraton at the Park and moved the next day to a lovely bright room with a fireworks view. The HoJo said it wants to be a 5 star but I can only say a waterpark doesn't make everyone happy. Get your rooms updated!!! To the manager: not handling our concerns yourself and having staff quote you did nothing to making us feel welcome. Wifi though free was not the best. Did have a lovely swim in the pool though.

Room Tip: Away from the freeway. Building one or two in the center of the building higher up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,412 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,691
    1,956
    553
    159
    53
See reviews for
4,059
348
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (643)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loomis, California
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Took my family to Disneyland between July 13 and 17 and stayed at this Hotel, instead of at one of the Disneyland Hotels whose rooms are too small for families and have no kitchen accommodations unless you can book a suite which is difficult unless you have a year to plan. It is an easy distance to the parks and that made it possible to come back and let kids swim for a break. WiFi did not work at all in the room and i work so this was critical. Bought an ATT hotspot to keep going, so bring one with you. Management did adjust my bill however and tried twice to fix it. Roooms are good sized and clean, comfortable. Water park is much smaller than pictured, but kids had a good time in the pool everyday. Kitchen is totally inadequate, no cups cutlery even bottle openers included. All in all if you are in to no frills, this is a fair value but management should tell you you need to bring silverware, etc. My impression is that they have a huge theft problem. They are building a new facility right across the street which will be all suites so will consider returning to the new facility in a couple of years when i can stand the crowds in Disneyland again.

Room Tip: We actually had a great one bedroom suite which slept five easily. we were overlooing the back pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We had the best time at this resort. Walking distance to Disneyland parks and plenty of restaurants and other activities. The water park is great way to take time out from the theme parks. Rooms were a bit dated but had everything you needed and very comfortable. Free wifi was handy. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

Location is awesome as it's a quick walk to Disneyland and can watch nightly fireworks if not in park.
Waterpark great for kids.
Rooms ok. A little dated, unfortunately the ceiling windows in high floors lets in early morning light. In lift so carrying bags to room was very annoying.
Staff friendly but don't make a call to LA to arrange shuttle, phone call cost $70, absolutely ridiculous
Would stay there again and have recommended property to others.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The hotel was great. Rooms tidy and clean if a little dated but that was fine. Easy walk to Disneyland and the waterpark was awesome. The store was well stocked and reasonably priced. The standout though was the customer service. From before we even arrived, the emails were answered quickly and provided information that went above and beyond what we had asked, but needed to know. On our final day our toddler left his special toy and the customer service team went above and beyond all expectations to get the toy back to us before we left the country, eventually dropping the toy to another hotel we were staying at near the airport for no charge! Amazing service and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed opposite the freeway and never even noticed the noise unless we went on the balcony. Was w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waikato, new Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

What a great place and location to take the family for their Disneyland experience! Well located and well within easy walking distance (about 10 mins) right to the main gates of Disneyland.
Upon arrival we were greeted with our first taste of top rate American hospitality and service at the reception area of this very family friendly complex.
Guest laundry services, bus/tour stops right at the front door, onsite convenience store, childrens outdoor pool area complex - the list is endless.
We had two adjoining rooms - so our family needs were certainly well met and it was value for money. The rooms and hallway areas were a little dated but they were clean and tidy and everything worked. Considering we were out and about every day it didnt matter that the rooms were not state of the art as all we needed was somewhere to sleep and shower.

I would highly recommend this hotel for your family jaunt to Disneyland!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

Great location, about 200 metres from Disney. Tired hotel though, very 80's. We were given a room upgrade with 'a view of the garden'. Sounded nice, but it wasn't. There was no garden. 5/10, there must be better places near by.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,097 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.