We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for family visit to Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at least 15% Now!
Ranked #5 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Vic
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place for family visit to Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Close to Disneyland (about 5-8 minute walk depending on the kids). Customer service is excellent here. Our pre-arrival emails were answered promtply which is not something I can say for all the places we stayed at. We were checked in by Art at 10pm and he was very friendly and accommodating given the hour. All staff we encountered were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. They were basic but had everything you need. We stayed in a 2 queen bed room in building 2. Room was quite big and we didn't have any freeway noise. There was a pool just outside the building but it was away from the kid's water playground (which wasn't a big issue). We were very happy with our stay here.

Room Tip: we had read all the reviews about freeway noise and rooms with skylights in building 1. we were happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,012
    1,511
    424
    132
    38
See reviews for
2977
283
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the Ho Jo - however, it does need a restaurant, as travelling with small kids can be tricksy- even room service for breakfast options. Staff were very helpful. Pool was great, kids loved it. Heating was useful as it was surprisingly cold!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This is by no means a flash place and could do with a major renovation,however the rooms are basically clean,small and dated.Its O.K. if you spend 12 hrs at Disney like we did and then you go back to the room to sleep.A little expensive for what you get compared with other hotels in the area.We would stay at another hotel next time.Convenience shop next to reception is very expensive better off buying either on way to or from Disney.

Room Tip: Get a room away from Castaway Cove,the water park can be noisy even at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Had a great time, less than 5 minute walk to Disneyland. Loved sitting in the outdoor spa each night and watching the fireworks from Disneyland. Water playground great for the kids, rooms basic but it really is all you need. You don't go on holidays to sit in your room after all. Rooms clean, staff helpful, would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

What could we not like about this hotel...We stayed in a suite for around $250 per night which was HUGE with a separate kitchen and lounge room from the bedroom (a whole lot cheaper than the Disney Hotels we were looking at with the room twice the size). The walk to Disneyland is easy and only took about 5 to 10 mins (with kids). The kids had so much fun in the water park which was a nice way to end the day.
There are no restaurants on site however there is a great one across the road called Millies which was great food and inexpensive. There is also another 5 or so on the walk up to Disneyland including Dennys and iHop.
We would certainty recommend this to our friends and family!

Room Tip: You cannot book the suites online only over the phone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

PROS
Great beds
Fantastic view w/patios for fireworks
Quiet & clean
Free parking
No pretend breakfast
CONS
I don't have any!!!!
The kids complained about the walk, but hey kids like to complain about something.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the tower rooms. Great view & beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Great Hotel, location and staff. Have stayed here every year for the last 10 years and would not consider staying anywhere else while visiting the Anaheim area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.