We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great clean place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at least 15% Now!
Ranked #5 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Orange, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great clean place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed with the family Before we went to Disneyland and what a great relaxing time we had there at Howard Johnson's Of course the kids loved the pirate ship.The room we had had a nice view of the pool
Matt

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,118 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,013
    1,511
    424
    132
    38
See reviews for
2978
283
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (502)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I was tempted to give only a 4 as this is not a luxury hotel, but realized I knew that in advance and the hotel was perfect for what we wanted. I interacted with the front desk about 3-4 times and every interaction was very professional and kind. I really can't think of anything bad to say at all as truely this hotel was exactly what we wanted.

PROS:
Water park (Honestly, I think my kids would of been fine if we stayed here the whole trip and never went to disney). Water was a nice break from the heat at disney.
Price
proximity to disneyland
Some TV channels were HD
Kids channels available
Gift shop has just about everything you would need (milk, snacks, beer, ect)

Cons:
Not a luxury hotel (rooms are a bit dated)

We would defintely stay here again.

Room Tip: I think building 2 is the way to go. Almost hate saying that as it may make it harder for us to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tapps
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I recently took two of our grandchildren to Disneyland and stayed at this hotel. It gets high marks for its location, great conditiod and amenities. I wasn't able to give it a 5, however, because they need to give more attention to details. For example: hair left in tub drain from last guests, not refilling the in-room coffee bar with cream and sugar. We also had some issues with our TV: it lost its signal several times while the grandkids were watching it.
All in all, though, this is a great place to stay if you are doing Disney or are just in the area.
The staff is very friendly and helpful. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the evening fireworks at Disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and it was a great value for money. We stayed in rm 613 of building #1. We had views of the monorail and the bobsled ride at Disneyland. Best part was our amazing views of the fireworks!! We didn't have to leave the bed to see them! Room was spacious enough for our family of 4. The hotel even let us pick a stroller to use during our stay. They have a few in storage from past guests who left them behind. So we didn't have to pay $15/day at DL. Plus, you can't take the DL rental strollers out of the park. So walking the kids home in the hotel stroller was best option! Highly recommend this hotel for its location and value for money! (plus, our kids LOVED the pool!!).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.