We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Comfortable, and Convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 113 Hotels in Anaheim
Mililani
1 review
“Clean, Comfortable, and Convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Everything was as advertised. Clean, comfortable, and a great location for walking to Disneyland. The beds and pillows were wonderful and I slept like a baby each night. The staff was friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,451
    1,792
    506
    149
    50
See reviews for
3,648
331
52
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (608)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Allen, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

For the price it was just okay, but we had issues with the room from the start. First it was an older property, Formica furniture, older chairs, very basic looking. Our premium view room had a nice view of the Matterhorn and fireworks (had we stayed), but our AC didn't work so we had to switch rooms. We also found that the bathroom in our new room had some mold at the base of tub and the tub didn't drain well. When you walk past the other hotels on Harbor blvd, the Hojo looks pretty good from the outside but i doubt i would stay at any of the properties on Harbor. The staff scrambled well to get us moved, fix the AC, and adjusted the bill accurately, so that was their saving grace otherwise I would have rated lower. Water park looked nice but we didn't use as we were too tired from Disney. I would not stay here again and would pay the extra $150+ to stay at Disney.

Room Tip: Premium view is only worth the money if you aren't too tired from all day at Disney and want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Howard Johnson for 7 nights with my 2 kids aged 18 & 11. I have to say that after reading the reviews I was a little disappointed with the hotel. We were in building 2 and I found the the noise from the freeway woke me every morning VERY early. Our room on level 2 did not have a balcony but rather a very small landing that you could just manage to stand on. The noise from the 9.30 fireworks at Disney each night was very loud - didn't really bother us but might be an issue for those who like an early night. The hotel is about 15 minute walk to Disney, imagine it would be longer with younger kids, that might not seem much but after a big day at the parks you come to dread that walk home. The pools are good and the water playground was very popular with the younger kids. The hotel is a little dated. I was confused by the little tickets around the room letting you know that the hotel wanted to save power, etc and wouldn't change the sheets every day unless you left a card on your pillow, similar with hanging up towels to reuse them, not having your fridge on to be cold when you arrive - I can handle all that, but then they give you 4 polystyrene cups each day with plastic sticks!! A china mug would be much nicer. Two tea bags were given most days - I just bought my own. The staff were great and vey helpful. If I were to return to Disney I would probably stay at a resort closer to the parks and the downtown Disney area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
las vegas, NV
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This was a first stay at HoJo Anaheim, usually stay down the street. We stayed at Building 2 on the 3rd floor, facing the pool. The pros: 1) Nice landscaping, 2) Parking close to the building, 3) Close to I-5, which was an easy in and out to go to other theme parks, 4) Lots of room to fit the 4 of us, 5) They had Keurig coffee makers, refrigerators and microwave ovens and a small safe in our room 6) Friendly staff and will strive to make your stay enjoyable. Unfortunately, there were some cons that should be looked into: 1) AC was to noisy, which made it hard to sleep (turned it off and left the sliding door open) 2) The shower knobs were opposite of the actual temp of the water, my daughter got burned thinking that it was suppose to be cold. Other than that is was a good stay, but not worth the five there are striving for.
Tip: If you want to avoid the crowds walking to the park, cross harbor at Manchester and walk to DL.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prophetstown
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My husband and I vacationed with our daughter, son-in-law and 3 grandchildren. Loved that we were close to each other in the hotel and within walking distance of Disney. Grandkids loved the bunkbeds in their room and hotel waterpark. We all enjoyed the pool. The staff was always helpful and the hotel and grounds were well kept. 3 washers and 6 dryers in building 1 basement was well lite and convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#15 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.