We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at least 15% Now!
Ranked #6 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

Stayed 8 nights from 3 May 2008. Ground floor room at back of Building 1. Step out the back door into the smoking area and it's incredibly noisy with the freeway just over the wall, but we were amazed how quiet it was inside the room. Excellent spacious room, air con made a bit of a racket but wasn't really necessary at that time of year, additional basin just outside bathroom was useful. Hotel is clean, staff friendly, free internet, small gift / convenience store open late, short walk to Disney and many restaurants, we couldn't have asked for anything more. This hotel was recommended to us by a friend in Australia who had stayed there, we would highly recommend it too.

  • Liked — Location, facilities
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,646 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,286
    1,688
    478
    147
    47
See reviews for
3,406
311
50
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2008

We just returned from staying at the "Hojo" for 10 days (May, 2008). As promised on their website, the room was spacious, clean and definitely within walking distance to Disneyland. They scored points with us by offereing to store our luggage prior to our check in (made it convenient to get groceries). Speaking of groceries; go to Food 4 Less on Katella. Very affordabe, and is only a short cab ride away. Did I mention Target is also within walking distance?? We also walked to the Angels Stadium (1 hour walk) and enjoyed a ball game....food is terribly expensive, but the game was enjoyable. We rented a car and enjoyed the short drive to both Newport and Huntington Beach...we preferred Huntington, but both are quite spectactular!
Hojo lost points with us when they neglected to properly plan for the renovation of one of their two pools. We had 90 degree weather and the one remaining pool was quite packed!

However, all in all, if you are a family wanting to enjoy Mickey and Friends, the wonderful California beaches, shopping, or a ball game....Howard Johnson is definitely in a good location to take in all these sights!

  • Liked — Clean premise and the staff were quite accomodating.
  • Disliked — A lot of their staff spoke very little English, mostly Spanish.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2008

A great hotel for a good price. We've stayed there 4 times now and have always found the staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are always clean and tidy.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
puyallup
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

It is a very moderate hotel with many benifits. The rooms are small, but clean. The bedsa re very comfortable as they are in the middle of a renovation. If you are booking here to utilize the kids pool area, it is under construction. There is another pool, but a very small pool. The manager told me that the pool area is going to be a very cool pirate ship themed, however not scheduled to be finished till end Aug or Sept. It is truly only a 10 min walk, way better than waiting for the bus & it makes severl stops. Mimi's cafe was very kid freindly with awesome food & fair prices. Again if you are booking for pool, you may want to choose another hotel as summer tends to get busy & smaller pool areas will be over crowded.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2008

I booked this hotel on recommendation from trip advisor.

The Hojo is a nice hotel - 10 minute walk to disneyland gates.
The rooms are small but clean- this wasn't a problem for me.

There is a mini market there - which sells cakes, sweets, suntan lotion, phone cards, souvenirs, etc.

Hotel lobby is nice - separate from the hotel buildings - they have two computers in there - free internet access - which i found very helpful.

There is a place to store your luggage on the ground floor in one of the buildings.

There are a few restaurants near by - great after you have been in the parks all day.

i found the hotel staff very helpful - when booking/confirming day trips.

overall - nice stay.

  • Liked — overall feel was nice
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2008

We stayed at the Howard Johnson for one week during the end of April and the beginning of May and it pretty much lived up to expectations from all the reviews on this site.

The walk is very short to Disneyland - 7 minutes is about right, maybe a little longer with smaller children. The staff is always friendly and was willing to help us when we needed directions. You can catch a good view of the Disneyland fireworks on the west side of Howard Johnson near the parking lot. The property is well maintained and the room was nice and clean.

There were a couple downsides to the hotel. The biggest one is that there is no microwave in most rooms. That would have come in handy when we had leftover dinner from the night before. The front desk told us that there are none because the power would be overloaded in the rooms - hope they resolve this issue soon. The second thing is minor - I didn't like the bath soap provided by the hotel. Next time I would bring my own.

Microwave and soap aside, I would stay in the HoJo again.

In terms of food around the hotel, Mimi's was an excellent choice for breakfast and dinner. Didn't go there for lunch but you definitely get full value for what you pay. We also tried Millie's which is part of Fairfield by Marriott (I think) and close to Howard Johnson. It was horrible. The food was cold and did not look appetizing when it came to the table. We also walked to GardenWalk which is a relatively new cluster of restaurants. It's about a 15 or so minute walk from Howard Johnson and the Cheesecake Factory was fantastic.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — No microwaves
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

Our family has stayed at the HOJO Anaheim numerous times over the years and we have yet to be disappointed with our stay.

The front desk staff has been helpful with our reservations prior to arrival and their valued service has continued during our stay(s). They are very informative about the area and answer your requests to the best of their ability. It is also comforting to know to observe security patrolling the property site. The grounds of the HOJO are immaculate and are well maintained on a daily basis as we have observed staff working the grounds and cleaning the pool/area prior to the pool opening of each day.

We have stayed in building number # 1 and number # 2 during our visits. This year, we stayed in building # 2 as very little time is spent in the room. The rooms are large and clean. Despite being in building # 2 we were fortunate to have a pool side room with a slight disney view and were able to gaze at the nightly disney fireworks from our balcony. We were disappointed to learn that their second pool was under construction and would not be open until the following week(s). Upon entering our room, a letter was left advising us that construction would be taking place and at what times. We only encountered construction noise one day out of our seven night stay.
This was not a great problem for our family, as our children loved using the other available pool. It was not over crowded, clean and heated pool. It was a great way to relax our sore feet after a day at Disneyland.

No matter what hotel we stay at, we always seem to encounter a problem with not enough towels for our family. This again happened during our stay. Each evening upon our arrival back to the hotel, we would have to stop or phone the front desk to ask for more towels. Our request for towels was answered immediately, sometimes receiving the towels reaching our room before we did.

Prior to our check out, we made a return visit to our hotel room. Only to find the maid already in our room and cleaning. The beds were made and to my surprise found that she was dusting out the inside of the cabinet drawers. Over the course of the our many visits to this hotel, our room(s) were always cleaned promptly and never did we come back to our room to find that it wasn't cleaned.

We have always found our room(s) in both buildings to be comfortable and clean; meeting the needs of our family. A great feature was having two sinks in the bathroom. Its a great asset for a larger family in the morning that is getting ready for their day.

It has become our ritual to start our mornings at Mimi's Cafe. Prices are adequate and portions are large. Rather than ordering a smaller food item from the children's menu for our children. We found that ordering an adult breakfast and splitting it between our children was more filling and saved a few $$.

It would be great if HOJO would offer a complimentary breakfast to its hotel guests as other hotels do at the neighbouring Disney hotels.

We have recommended this hotel over the years and will continue to do so in the future, mainly because of the quality and comfort that it offers to its guests. Amenities offered and because of the close walking distance to Disneyland.

  • Liked — Absolutely everything.
  • Disliked — On this particular visit-pool construction & always requesting towels to meet our family's needs.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.