We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay for Disney trip!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Orbitz.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at least 15% Now!
Ranked #5 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Write a Review

3,849 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,863
    1,428
    396
    126
    36
See reviews for
2736
276
44
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
W. Washington
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We absolutely loved it here! The beds were super comfortable and the Green Mountain Keurig coffee in the room was an awesome treat! The hotel staff were helpful, the gift shop was handy, and the rooms were clean and quiet. The kids especially loved the waterslide play area, I liked being able to easily keep an eye on them from the hot tub. The walk to Disneyland was a cinch and it was nice to be able to pop in for an afternoon swim and nap on those long park days. Staying here was like the icing on our vacation cake; It really was that enjoyable. Hands down, we will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: The rooms away from the freeway are nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Gate
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had a fantastic stay at Howard Johnson. So close to Disney and close to all freeways etc for getting around to other places.
The rooms were clean and we loved coming home after a long day at Disney to find the kids teddy bears all arranged neatly on their bed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

I booked this resort for a last minute trip to Anaheim with my 2 boys couldn't book Disneyland resort as it was full.
The Good:
Good location, 15 minute walk into the parks. Good water park but pretty small. Comfortable beds, free Wifi that worked pretty good, friendly staff, free parking.
The Bad:
Rooms that have not been remodelled since 1990. No sound proofing in the rooms, you literally heard everybody in the hallway, floors above and below and outside. Then there is my personal favourite, 2 of the main buildings are located right next to the I5 freeway. 10 lanes of traffic 30 feet away from your building. The I5 is one of the busiest freeways in North America and combined with the lack of soundproofing, it sounds like an airport in your room at all hours of the day. Definitely the main reason I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Fabulous Hotel.. Staff were friendly and rooms were lovely and cleaned each day.
Recommend it especially for the the locality of Disneyland. Only a few minute walk to both parks.
Close to restaurants and all areas for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We booked two rooms for four adults and five kids. We got a nice discount through mousesavers.com.

The rooms are clean, comfortable, and roomy enough to accommodate everyone. The hotel is walking distance, but you can also buy a pass for the Anaheim shuttle that picks you up in front of the hotel. Walking to Disneyland is a lot easier than walking home when you are really tired and have tired kids too. It was well worth the price. We left Disneyland in the late afternoon to have dinner at MiMi's, which is next door to the hotel. We got our second wind and took the shuttle back to Disneyland for the evening. The hotel location, price, and amenities are perfect for a family vacation. The water park is great for the kids if you need a break from Disneyland.

We asked for adjoining rooms, but got only rooms next to each other. The hotel did not tell us they were not adjoining, but everything worked out. The free wi-fi is really no wi-fi because the signal is really poor. You don't come to Anaheim to stay in your room and surf the internet, so it isn't a big loss.

However, the hotel staff was most gracious and allowed us to check in well before the usual time and park our cars in their lot. That saved us quite a bit on Disneyland parking. The savings more than paid for the shuttle passes. The hotel is just off the freeway at the Harbor exit. Easy to access. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the new wing are very nice and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Amex, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list