We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Write a Review

5,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,706
    1,961
    554
    159
    54
See reviews for
4,077
348
54
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (646)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
American Fork, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I agree with every positive thing that has been said, the only negative was the price milk in the hotel gift shop. I get that I am a captive audience but $4.95 for a small containter of milk is insane! That being said we will definately stary here again, i'll just stop somewhere else for milk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from a three day trip to Disneyland with the family (three kids) and this hotel was very nice and the location was amazing. Basically a 20 minute walk to the park entrance and we were ready to go. The only negative I have with this area is the selection of places to eat near the hotel is underwhelming. I really enjoy good food while I'm on vacation and this area does not deliver. Other than that our room was clean, the staff at the front desk were very helpful and polite and my kids went nuts at the hotel's small water playground. My wife and I both agree we would stay at this hotel again. If you are concerned about transportation to and from LAX, I would highly recommend Zippy Shuttle (www.zippyshuttle.net). The service was fantastic, prompt and Ken (owner) is just a super human being.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel enough. Coming from a clean freak, the rooms were spotless. The beds were some of the most comfiest I've ever slept in. A 10 minute walk to Disneyland, and you walk past many eateries on the way. Great value for money. Handy convenience store downstairs that stock everything you'd need, and a great laundry in the basement. Would not hesitate staying again, will be our first choice when we come again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medicine Hat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

We stayed in building 1 on the 7th floor with a view of the Matterhorm at Disneyland. Great spot to watch the fireworks on the days you are not at the park! The freeway can be heard, but we turned on the fan in our room for some white noise and it was fine. Room was a bit dated, but the beds were comfy, the fridge and microwave were handy, and the pool/hot tub areas were great. Would stay again, good value and excellent location!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Booked a 7 night stay at HoJo with Westjet Vacations.

Pros:

1. Location - on Harbor Blvd across from Disneyland Park.
Within walking distance if you are ambulatory and do not have mobility issues.

2. Pirate themed water park

Cons:

1. Location - right beside the I-5 freeway

2. Slow wireless internet

Beefs:

1. Upon check in was told by front desk clerk that we were not in their reservation system. Once clerk found us, she said we were booked as arriving 2 days later!

2. Requested a disability friendly room.

Was placed in a room FURTHEST down the hall on second floor of Building 2 from the single disability parking spot.

Hmmm...what's wrong with ths picture?

I am recovering from knee replacement surgery so this is NOT helpful.

3. Wireless internet was slow to non-existent. Upon 2nd complaint to front desk was told they would check the access point.

Now, wireless internet is still very slow but at least we have access!

4. No shower mat. Slipped and fell in the tub.

5. No handrails in washroom. Would prefer a wasroom with handrails by the toilet and in the shower/bathtub area.

How is this a disability friendly room?

6. Requested a room facing Disneyland Park so can see the fireworks. Our room has a lovely view on the left side of other buildings. No view of Disneyland Park. On the right side is the freeway!!!

7. Noisy mini fridge. Difficult to sleep with the noise.

8. Noisy heater unit. Difficult to sleep with the noise.

9. I-5 noise. Constant highway noise from vehicles.

If you are a light sleeper like me you will NOT like staying here.

Decided to try HoJo Anaheim due to the pirate themed water park.

Am still hopeful the experience will improve...

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#10 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,771 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wyndham, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.