We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Write a Review

5,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,703
    1,960
    554
    159
    54
See reviews for
4,074
348
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (645)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We have stayed here many times and you can not beat family rooms for the price. Clean and 5 minute walk from front gates. Best value, clean, comfy beds! Book early for family rooms- they book out quick!
Very popular with fellow Aussies

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

This hotel was just fine for what it is for and where it is. I thought the place might be a bit worn from all the use it gets but it was relatively decent. It is a short walk to Disneyland and there are a couple of restaurants close by. The staff were friendly and helpful. There is a little store that has food items and souvenirs. The rooms were fine but don't expect plush. The maids did an okay job until the last couple of days. One of the kids dropped a donut under the bed and the maid left it there as well as a pixie stick that spilled. The rooms are clean and the bed was comfortable enough. The kids loved the water play area and the pool. Some of the rooms were being done whle we were staying there and looked pretty nice. Millies restaurant was pretty good and the prices were good. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: I think any of the rooms would be fine. The hotel is right next to the freeway but we never heard th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCEANSIDE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel . The last one was in summer and the kids loved the water play area . This hotel has a game room , a block away from Disneyland and most important to me the beds are super comfy and clean . The staff is always great also . Going back for sure!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, South Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in a room with 2 queen beds. We had a 5th floor room in the building near reception, maybe building 1? We had a great view of the Disneyland fireworks and besides the fireworks noise, the room was very quiet and dark. The room was great for what we needed.

There was a coffee machine in our room with daily refills of coffee pods, which was lovely.

We were there to visit Disneyland and for that it was perfect. We could walk to Disneyland easily.

There is no restaurant or room service, but there are many restaurants within easy walking distance. The little store in the bottom of our building sold all we needed for breakfast, cereal, milk, fruit & fruit juice. And also beer & chocolate ;)

We could see the pool and water activity area from our room and the kids were busting to go there, but we simply ran out of time.

We were there in mid November 2012, the weather was perfect and Disneyland was not overly busy.

Room Tip: Great for a place to sleep, our room was a bit small if you wanted to hang out during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Howard Johnson Hotel in Anaheim-- across the street from Disneyland is great. It's about a 10 minute walk to the entrance of the Disneyland parks. Our room was clean and cheerful. It was QUIET, too. The front desk staff was helpful, friendly, and accommodating. Parking is free here! We chose a room with a Disneyland Park view and it was worth it. We watched the fireworks from our own balcony instead of fighting the big crowds at the park. The shower had good water pressure and the water drained well--it may seem silly to mention, but that's been an issue at other hotels! This is a mid-range hotel and it's an old building. It's not fancy. If you want a clean, quiet place to stay close to the parks at a very reasonable rate, then this is your place. The beds are very comfy. Mimi's Restaurant is right across the street, too.

Room Tip: Their web site has a PDF file that gives great details of the different room layouts. This will hel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,769 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 590 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.