We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Shy of Perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

5,989 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Rio Vista, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

A nice place to stay with children. There is a very good pool play area that keeps kids happy when they are taking a break from the Mouse house. Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda
Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda Yadda

Room Tip: We had a large family gathering and we used six rooms and they were all very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom-Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ojai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

The hotel was clean. The bathroom door would not close. That's not entirely true - it would close and make a loud, horrible "clunk" as the door frame pulled away from the wall so that the door could close. The staff was friendly and kind: checked us in quickly (even a bit early) and made a Security report promptly when we returned from Disneyland to find that there had been an attempt to break into our car (which was empty and will cost over $1,000 to repair). I was told that another car was actually broken into. Not sure what the parking situation is like at the Disney Resort hotels but a stay there is likely cheaper when you factor in the time and money spent to repair a vandalized car from an over night with a lower initial price tag.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORINDA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My friends and I stayed in 3 rooms from 11/15/12-11/19/12. On the first day I saw a roach in my room. I didn't complain until I saw 3 more roaches on the last day of my stay. I mentioned the roaches to the front desk and a note was made in the computer for the manager. Later I received a discount for the last night of my stay (not my full stay).
I did not make a big deal about it, but the conditions must be pretty bad if roaches are in the rooms. The carpet in the hallway was old, dirty and falling apart.
The cleaning staff / housekeeping did a good job and I don't blame them. HoJo corporate needs to put some serious money into this property because it is in bad shape.
On the bright side, the pools were nice and my kids enjoyed them.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#15 of 114 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 2,104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Anaheim Theme Park Entrance
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#3 of 114 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#13 of 114 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#23 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Wyndham, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing