We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value close to Disneyland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at least 15% Now!
Ranked #5 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Seattle
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“great value close to Disneyland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

If you are looking for a modest motel with family friendly prices close to Disneyland this place will be a good choice. All of the motels within walking distance of Disneyland are very comparable in style. I have stayed in 3-4 motels in this area and I think the Howard Johnson is one of the better ones.
Pros:
1- Cleanliness- the rooms and the grounds were clean and well kept
2- The beds and linens were outstanding for a budget motel. Very comfortable beds and pillows that were as nice as any I have experienced at more expensive hotels
3- The pool and water park- Due to flight delays and a decrease in temperature, we were not able to use this as much as we would have liked but we enjoyed the time we were able to spend there. Definitely a step above the other motels in this area!
4- Proximity to Disneyland- it is on the outer limit of what I would consider an easy walk to Disneyland- but very doable even with small children. For days when you don't feel like walking, the ART transit bus picks you up right outside the lobby and you are the last stop before Disneyland. We used the ART on most days but we also walked back a couple of nights after a long day at the park. It was nice to have the choice of whether to ride or walk.
5- small convenience store on site. The store sold snacks, cereal, milk, sodas, beer, wine, and souvenirs. Not a large food selection, but enough to get by if you don't have a car that can get you to a grocery store.
6- Service- everyone was very helpful and friendly and eager to get you whatever you needed to make your stay enjoyable. We booked 3 rooms for our extended family and they were able to place us close together. They were also able to give us a late check out for one room on the day of departure which was very handy.

Cons- not many but a couple of things that could be better.
1- no restaurant on site. There are many restaurants close by so this is minor but it is always more convenient to have a restaurant right on site.
2- The bathrooms are very dated and in need of some repairs. There was peeling paint and crumbling caulking in ours. The most concerning thing was lack of a non slip surface in the bath tub. It had completely worn off and this was a bit if a safety hazard.

All in all I liked this motel and I would stay here again. I hope they are able to fix the bathrooms soon, but other than that the rooms were very nice

Room Tip: The premium Queen rooms with a view of the park were great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    1,580
    447
    138
    41
See reviews for
3152
296
48
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel for a visit to Disneyland. We find the location to be an easy walk from Disneyland. We stayed with our 5 and 11 year old children, and they managed the walk easily - even after a 13 hour day at Disney. We paid extra for an upgrade to a room with a disney view - this was a big mistake for us. I found the traffic noise at night to be too loud which is not something I remember from our first stay 2 years ago when we had a room facing the pool. However we did have a fantastic view of the fireworks!
The staff were all fantastic and friendly. The housekeeping manager made a great impression when I was in the housekeeping area doing laundry - made a special point of making sure we had everything we needed and were happy.
The kids really enjoyed the swimming pool and the games in the arcade. I found the shop to be great and really well equipped. There are also plenty of other small shops along the same street at other hotels for variety.
The hotel is also within easy walking distance of heaps of restaurants which are much cheaper than the ones in the Downtown Disney area.
Had a great time:)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Nice clean place good for kids very close to Disneyland - 10 min walk to gate. Handy shop on premises lovely restaurant close by shops etc easy to get to , transport easy access

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

This was an amazing set up. I loved the different building, made it feel like you were at a restort. The swimming pool was wonderful, kids had a great time. The water park was good, although it really is for the little kids, it would be the best hotel in town if they got a large water slide for the bigger kids. Right next door to Mimi's restaruant which is fantastic, and a short walk to the park. I would have no problem staying again, it was a great experience.

Room Tip: The only down side is that you need to request not to be on the same side of the building as the fre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PDX
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

A friend had suggested we stay at the HoJo for our family trip to Disneyland in Sept 2011. We found the location fantastic. Walking was not an issue (other than on the first day...it was over 100 degrees, and we were all so hot - it was a day of drenching hair and hats at the drinking fountains through the parks and eating lots of frozen lemonade).

As we had really hot temps while we were there, we made good use of the water park, which for our 4-year old was fantastic. There are slides and giant buckets that dump, water squirters, etc. They also have a nice pool in a separate area if you prefer that.

I agree with others who say it isn't anything special, but for the price we paid, I wasn't expecting it to be super glamorous anyway (plus, my friend had set my expectations and the pictures in the website were what we saw in person). The beds were decent, the rooms were pretty quiet (we were concerned with freeway noise, but didn't hear it due to the architecture of the buildings), and it was comfortable. Compared with what you would be paying at the Disney Resorts, this was a steal, and there weren't too many locations that were closer to the front gates.

There is a little store on site for snacks and things. Not too many healthy options, and expensive. We didn't have a car, so food was a bit further than from other locations, but we managed just fine (we took advantage of leaving Disneyland just before dinner time, and getting to Downtown Disney (via the monorail usually) before the crowds. We would take the monorail back and have a slightly shorter walk back. There are always taxis too.

All in all, we would definitely stay here again and were happy with our choice. One last thing, we were able to get a deal on hotels and flights through Alaska Airlines (we booked everything through them), and it made everything super easy and more affordable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2012

Great location for Disneyland Resort, not close to many shops, however, there are enough eating/dining places, so no need to go hungry! Very touristy, but well located. There is an excellent shoe shop called Shoe City just right of the freeway.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

We stayed here February 2011 for my mom's 50th Birthday.

Location; Good. a few blocks from the main gate & you can always use the transit system if you just dont feel like walking. The hotel grounds are also very well maintained & look beautiful even in February.
Rooms; Spacious & clean althought a little run down.
Service; Staff where friendly & helpful. I always ask a zillion questions & they could answer them all.
Waterpark; Awesome. Small wading pool for toddlers, Waterslides, hottub & lots of chairs to relax. It can only be accessed by hotel guest with their room key.
Little perks; Store on site was very accomadating & the laundry area is very convenient.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#11 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;