We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You Get What You Pay For” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Chicago
Level Contributor
85 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“You Get What You Pay For”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I used Trip Advisor to choose this hotel and I have to say I was surprised upon arrival that people were giving this place an "excellent" rating. At best this place is average. On the upside, they do have free parking and free wi-fi. Also, you are paying less than $200 a night for a room with two queen sized beds.
The reality is this, it's still a HoJo's and it, like all the other hotels on this strip is right next to the very busy Hwy 5. It is the furthest in a string of chain motels on Harbor Ave from Disneyland and all that the park has to offer. We were not even on the supposedly loud side of the hotel, and you can hear it all the time.You can also hear Disneyland- all the time. The beds were pretty comfortable, but this place is rundown and needs some love. Retro is a term used when something kitschy is refurbished and becomes popular again, in it's shiny new incarnation. This place needs the refurbished part to happen, and then it can honestly make the claim that staying here is "retro fun".
If your Disneyland hotel choice is based on seeking a cheap place to lay your heads, and you want a pool thrown into the package then this place could fit the bill. Otherwise, keep looking.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,767
    2,002
    571
    163
    55
See reviews for
4,187
353
54
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We have stayed at HoJo Anaheim before and are going back this month. One of the great things is that if you email the hotel with a question (eg to ask if early check-in is possible) then someone emails you back promptly to answer your question. They answered my question (which was no early checkin) but made great suggestions about what we can do, where to go in the meantime. The tone of all the emails was really friendly and helpful. In the end I asked them to change my reservation - and it was all done over email- quickly and efficiently! Really happy with this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morris, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our first visit to Disneyland. The staff was really nice and accomodating!! We upgraded our room to view the fireworks every night...well worth the money!! Rooms were a little outdated but extremely clean. Beds were extremely comfortable. Kids loved the water park!! We have a 3 and 6 year old boys and the walk to Disney was so short it didn't even tire them out!! When we plan another California vacation we will definitely come back here!!

Room Tip: Tower 1 has view of fireworks for a small upgrade...well worth it!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutto, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My wife and I loved this hotel - the beds were super comfy and the $59 entertainment rate can't be beat! The hotel is older and as long as you expect that going in, you'll have an amazing time. We enjoyed the Garden Pool and the hotel is very close to Disneyland and within walking distance. We use this as a base for Disneyland and exploring Newport Beach and Catalina Island. We are staying there again this summer - this time with our kids and I know they'll have a blast!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Okay so you don't book this hotel because you think you are going to the Ritz Carlton...but compared to any travel lodge type place, the rooms are adequate, shower curtain doesn't hug your thighs as you bathe in lukewarm water or anything like that :) We had a room in the Building 2 with a balcony looking at the pool, and 2 Queen beds. I'm really glad we didn't opt for the smaller beds and the skylight, as the inability to darketn your room would have bothered me. Noise was surprisingly small - given the proximity to the freeway. I think this really differs from room to room - so if you are noise sensitive, be sure to ask the front desk about the noise in the particular room you are booked into, before heading up with all your luggage.

The waterpark is smallish but just perfect for a 3 and 5 year old to fall in love with. Had it been a wee bit hotter the kids could have probably spent hours running around there, and as it was the hour or so we spent there each day was the only part of my vacation that truly felt like a vacation.

The walking distance to Disneyland is also just right. Close enough that we were able to come back 1/2 way through or day at Disney, and return in the evening. I highly recommend Mimi's Cafe across the street for large, varied, and affordable meals. They even post the calories on each entry - yikes! At least you know exactly how much of a glutton that plate makes you... Great stuff though.

I can't give this hotel 5 stars just because it's not cheap enough or nice enough to be some kind of awesome find - but the waterpark does make it unique among Disney area hotels - and for anybody not wanting to shell out nearly $400 a night just to have Goofy serving breakfast in a more luxurious environment, you'll be plenty happy here as long as you aren't expecting more than a travel lodge type room.

Room Tip: We found Building 2 with views of the pool to be very quiet, go for the 2 queens and NOT the smaller...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

Stayed here over Thanksgiving , Very close to Disneyland,Rooms are fabulous,used the laundry room, Room had everything we needed, was able to see fireworks from Disneyland,Very clean complex and we felt safe walking back at night from Disneyland. Would definately stay there again, Receptionist even organised a town car for us to get to Hollywood for our next destination.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

great place to stay with children, close to disney land very comfy beds and rooms

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#10 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,826 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#11 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.