We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Grande Prairie, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excelent holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

A perfect spot to be close to Disneyland. I stayed here for 6 night free using my hotel rewards. The rooms were clean and view of firework was good eventhough they were canceled for a few days. New years eve at disneyland was insane suggest not going during that time with little kids. Way too many people. The staff was very helpfull and accomidating.
I would deffinetily stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,092
    1,553
    436
    136
    40
See reviews for
3099
286
48
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (537)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

A perfect spot for a visit to Disneyland / California Adventure Park. The room rate was excellent value for a comfortable cloud-like bed to crash in after a long day at the park. Our room was ready hours before check-in time, and the hotel gladly held bags after check-out while we spent the day at Disneyland. A great welcome from the frontdesk upon check-in!! Would definitely stay here for the next visit to Disneyland!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This place is the tale of 3 different hotels. It is a throwback to a simpler time if you stay in the older part of the property, and with that it is well cared for and simply charming. The newer towers are your standard hotel towers with clean and nicely appointed rooms. The freeway facing rooms (this hotel sits directly adjacent to I-5) have an ingenious door behind a door behind a glass slider before you get to the smallish balcony, but it makes the road noise imperceptible. Lastly the Pirates play area is simply fantastic. I have two daughters 6 and 4, and we have been staying here no less than 4 times a year for the past 3 years, and they love to play in the water. If you have a Disneyland annual pass you can get a discount, and if you go here http://www.boards.hojoanaheim.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=29 and have a pass you can get a super discounted price if you will be there on the listed dates. Enjoy!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

great stay here.
fast check in, easy friendly staff. nothing a problem.
clean really comfortable rooms.
10 min walk to disneyland.
free wifi great.
No breakfast provided, but great coffee machine in each room, and cereal and milk to be bought in the hotel shop.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, SK Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

We stayed here for a week in October during our vacation to Disneyland. The hotel was a great choice. The beds are AMAZING!!! I cannot stress that enough!!! So nice to come back to such a comfortable bed after a day of walking the parks. There is a really nice kids water park area (more suited for younger kids, my seven year old loved it, my 13 year old was a bit old for it). It does have a nice hottub though that you can sit in and relax and watch your child after a long day while your child runs around the slide area. There is also a swimming pool located not to far away. Nice pool. The walk from the park to the hotel was not bad at all. There are other hotels closer that you walk by on the way to the HOJO but the extra little walk was worth it to go back to those great beds. Its probably a fast 6-8 minute walk away from the parks. The hotel is broken up into a few separate buildings over the property. Ours was the furthest, closest to the highway, not facing the highway though. Really didn't hear much highway noise at all, maybe a little bit, but nothing to complain about at all. It would have been maybe nice to stay in a closer building but I believe these were the nicer rooms from what I was told. We had a nice view of the main swimming pool. Several restaurants along the way to the park. The gift shop in the hotel was great - great for snacks, souvenirs, etc.

Loved the Keurig machine in the room. That was a nice perk! The free wi-fi for my IPad was also very nice to have. They have a computer in the check-in lobby where I was able to go down and check in for my flight home. They even let me print out my boarding passes for no charge. Also another bonus of this hotel is parking is Free! A lot of the closer hotels charge for parking I noticed. There is ample parking here. The room was nice, spacious and clean.

This is a great hotel for a reasonable price. The closer hotels you will be paying a lot more for and don't have the great waterpark area for the kids. I would totally recommend staying here for a trip to Disneyland.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ND
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If you're an Disney Annual Pass holder (must show card upon check-in), and can utilize their Retro Rate days (20% off on ineligible dates), this hotel is one heck of a deal. We got 2 Qn bds rm for $69, and the room is at least 25-30% larger than a typical hotel room. Ours was on the 1st flr next to the elevator/shop/game room, but we were hardly disturbed by noise, and rather glad for the quick accessibility. It had a balcony w/ double doors that completely shut out all road noise. They have several bldgs, and you can check their map online.
Parking is tight, but free - they even let our visiting friend park for free while we went to DL. Wifi works, but signal can be spotty. The pool (kids' themed pool) was fantastic for my kids, but the attendant's attitude can be hit or miss (one was great and greeted my kids by first name, but the other was just grumpy and my kids complained of her 'glaring'). There is another pool, but we didn't get to try it.
The location is right off the highway, and easily accessible. You can easily walk to DL, and in fact, it is closer than the Disney Hotels (except Grand Californian, you have to walk quite a bit thru Downtown Disney), or from the parking garage (usually 30+ min walk/tram/wait in line one-way). However, walking back w/ 2 sleeping kids and 1 on the carrier makes you wish you stayed at Marriott right in front of the entrance... You can see the fireworks from the parking lot.
The room furniture/deco is not super new or nice, but clean. Overall, a great stay at a great rate, and will definitely consider returning again and again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If your Planning to visit Disneyland, This hotel is a very good place to start. we stayed 5 nights. 8 minute walk or one shuttle stop from Disney's front door. Rooms very clean and provide free WiFi fridge and Microwave. staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking available. They provide a kids play area water park and game room, pool and spa, Laundry rooms in building. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#12 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.