We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tough Reviewer, Great location, Value for money. great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save at least 15% Now!
Ranked #5 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tough Reviewer, Great location, Value for money. great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

If your Planning to visit Disneyland, This hotel is a very good place to start. we stayed 5 nights. 8 minute walk or one shuttle stop from Disney's front door. Rooms very clean and provide free WiFi fridge and Microwave. staff were friendly and helpful. Plenty of parking available. They provide a kids play area water park and game room, pool and spa, Laundry rooms in building. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,145 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,026
    1,520
    428
    132
    39
See reviews for
3003
284
46
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We arrived at the hotel after a very long flight (and not much sleep) our room was not ready as we were early, staff were very good to us, stored our baggage and got a room ready for us 2 hours before check in time. Our room was very spacious, and clean. The only thing that I didnt like were the lack of washing machines. There were only 3 in our building which were all in use, and there were some in one other building, which was a fair walk away. Swimming pools were great, kids pool was awesome! Overall, pretty happy.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the premium queen, top floor, so you can see the fireworks from Disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is a three-star hotel available at two-star prices in a five-star location. It is always tricky finding something suitable for a family with three kids (10/13/15) and this fit the bill. We stayed over New Year's Eve 2011/12 when Disney hotel prices were astronomical, yet got a good deal here based on the recommendation from mousesavers (which is an awesome site!). We did not get a family suite but were quite comfortable in a deluxe 2-queen suite with a rollaway for the youngest. The rollaway cost an additional $15/day but I rationalized it since you can walk to Disneyland and parking is free at the hotel! I was glad we got the deluxe garden-facing room (in building 2), there were no issues whatsoever with the highway noise. The property was very clean and the grounds were immaculate. Frankly all the maingate properties are looking pretty good these days so it was really nice to walk up and down S. Harbor Blvd to restaurants and shops and into the park. Staff were friendly and helpful. My kids preferred the garden pool in the rear of the property to the pirate splash area at the front; the outdoor hot tub is also in the front so parents of younger kids were relaxing there while their kids cavorted. Over New Year's the hotel was sold out yet it never appeared crowded or stretched to capacity. Mimi's restaurant (not onsite but across the side street) was terrific as was the next restaurant over, Millie's (breakfast was better and cheaper than IHOP/Denny's). Tip: good morning coffee available from the nearby Tropicana. Tip: you can walk into the Disneyland entrance way and continue out the other side to Downtown Disney, their free-admission shopping/dining area. The highway location was actually pretty handy for us since we toured some other areas (Beverly Hills, Hollywood, Universal Studios) and after L.A.'s notorious traffic it was nice to just hop off the interstate and be at your hotel. Tip: the bigger kids preferred Universal to Disney but the area amenities are nicer near Disney.

Room Tip: Poolside in Building 2 was worth the premium. The parking lot behind Building 2 had excellent viewi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

Excellent reception staff -really friendly and helpful. Pool and water playground great for families after long day at Disneyland. Mimi's restaurant had good, reasonably priced food. Would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We had a lovely three night stay here. It is clean,quiet, and very accommodating to guests' needs. We have always stayed at the Disneyland hotel or Grand California and found this hotel was right up there with them, but not as expensive! It is an easy walk to Disneyland and there is also a shuttle if you are too tired to walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012 via mobile

Our family stayed here for three nights while visiting Disneyland. We typically stay at the Disneyland Hotel but they were booked. I have read many positive things about this hotel on the MouseWait app and saw good reviews on Trip Advisor so we made reservations. We had a super easy check in with no wait at about 4:15pm. There was ample parking available with big enough spots (not tiny for compact cars only.)
Our room was on the 5th floor facing the pool and smaller buildings. We were able to see a great view of the fireworks and could clearly hear the music too. We had a view of the Matterhorn and a small deck to enjoy it all from.
The room had 2 queen beds with white linens. The beds were comfortable and the room was clean.
The only con I saw was the TV. It was sort of old and the remote control didn't always work. We didn't spend much time trying to watch tv so it wasn't a big issue. We weren't able to check out using the tv because the remote wouldn't allow us to.
We ate many meals at Mimi's across the street. The food was good but the service was slow and you had to flag people down to get simple stuff. It was convienent and tasty so we overlooked the spotty service. There is also a McDonalds a few doors down.
The walk to Disneyland was about 8 minutes and felt easier than trudging through Downtown Disney to the Disneyland Hotel. The streets were clean, well lit and felt safe.
When we checked out the front desk told us that we could continue to park our car there until midnight in case we were going back to the parks. They also said we could use the pool and to just ask for a key. We didn't take them up on either of these offers but I thought it was a nice touch.
We stayed in building 1 and we could not hear the freeway at all from our room even with ac/fan off. We were parked on the side facing the freeway and it was noisier on that side so I would ask for a room facing the pool area.
I would stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belmont
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

If you are sensitive to noise, do not stay here. If noise is not a problem then I would highly recommend.

I did hours of research on this hotel, read endless reviews on trip advisor. We chose not to stay at this hotel in years past due to the proximity to the free way. After reading all the reviews I decided to give it a try.
Let me start by saying, the staff are very helpful and accommodating. The rooms were awesome, clean, comfortable everything was great. Beds were really cozy. The short walk to Disneyland is a big plus.

We watched the Disneyland fireworks from our room, I kept hearing this low rumble, thought maybe it was coming from the fireworks show. When I tried to sleep that night the room would ‘vibrate’ or ‘hum’ with each passing semi truck, the sound of the freeway itself was not too bad, but the low sonic rumble (reverberation) from the freeway and from Harbor Blvd traffic just about drove me crazy.

About six in the morning, I went down to the office to request a different room in another part of the hotel, Joel was a little annoyed with me, but he was able to get me another room located farther from the freeway. The room seemed to have a little less freeway noise. Thankfully we were able to move right away.

That night when lying in bed trying to sleep, the rumble was still present. It is more of a ‘feeling’ with each passing vehicle. A ‘vibration’. Big trucks are the worst. I ended up in tears in the middle of the night, because I was so frustrated and exhausted. Knowing that there was no way I could spend another sleepless night on my vacation I called the office after 8:00Am, I did not want to encounter Joel again, I asked for a manager. I spoke with Rafael asking him if there were any alternatives to the building I was in, he had us check out yet another room and unfortunately it had the same rumble. He said they could provide me with a fan to create some white noise or ear plugs. He was very nice and he really did try, but we made the decision to move to another hotel.
This of course wasted a perfectly good morning we could have spent in Disneyland, but instead we had to pack up all of our stuff, two rooms and six people worth of stuff.

I hope this review will help anyone who is sensitive to noise to make an informed decision.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#8 of 111 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,130 reviews
Family-friendly...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 111 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 250 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
2.2 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#1 of 111 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Budget, Free in...
Show More
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
Quiet, Pool, Fr...
Show More
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#7 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#9 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Agoda, Booking.com, Amex, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California
Anaheim Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.