We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Burnie Tasmania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Back Again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

This was my 4th and 5th stays at Howard Johnson. Great location, easy walk to Disneyland. Always try to accommodate early check ins which as flights arrive in morning from Australia is very much appreciated. If you want a jug not a coffemaker just ask at reception. Great pool and water areas. Love watching the fireworks in the spa. Desk staff are very helpful!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,696
    1,958
    554
    159
    54
See reviews for
4,066
348
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

Great Disneyland hotel, close to the park. We stayed on the 6th floor with a great view at night of the fireworks. Room basic but good with fridge and tea/coffee making facilties. Very comfy beds. Pools great. We stayed for some time and needed to use the laundry which l found handy and easy to use. Staff friendly. They have a little convenience shop on the ground floor, has lots of things, we used it for milk and bread rolls. We ate across the road at Minnies alot, loved the ribs. We did most tours from here and hired a car (mustang)for two days, cheap and so much fun. The front desk people helped with arranging this.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

10 minutes from Disney, priced right, family and international traveller friendly.

Expect noise from the freeway and park. Honestly doesn't matter as you're too tired from the parks to care.

Good wifi service. Good restaurants nearby - Mimi's is a great all rounder across the road. Nice ribs at tony Roma's down the street.

Would stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nowhere
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We've stayed at Howard Johnson's twice now for Disney trips and we love it! The staff is friendly, the beds are comfortable, it's within walking distance to the parks (about 10 minutes). It's clean, no-frills. We did not get to take advantage of the pools though, it was November and cold! But they looked really fun.

No breakfast, but they have a small store downstairs. There is some noise from the freeway or the garden pool, but we bring a white noise machine so it didn't bother us. Some of the rooms have a view of the fireworks. Great hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

Howard Johnson's is a nice hotel - it's clean & the staff is very friendly & helpful. It's also walking distance to the parks, which is a big plus. It's an older hotel & could stand some updating. We've stayed there twice & the first time we were facing the park - if you stay there, that's the best type of room. We stood on the balcony & watched the fireworks one night & it was a perfect view! The second time we stayed there, we ended up facing highway 5, which is pretty noisy. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room, only the evening, but if you are a sensitive sleeper, be sure to ask for a park facing room. And $174 with taxes seems pretty steep for an older hotel. But it is a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

You choose this hotel based on location.. it's about a 10 minute leisurely walk to Disneyland.

We checked in before room was available, and requested 2 joined rooms with double beds as there were 9 of us. They said it couldn't be guaranteed which was fine, as long as they were close by. There is a storage area for our luggage, and public bathrooms we could use to freshen up. Staff were friendly enough.

We arrived back at our hotel after Disney closed, and checked in. It is a bit confusing getting around as there are several different buildings. It would have been nice to have the buildings more clearly labelled. We were pleasantly surprised to find out we got adjoining rooms in the end.

There is free wifi in the room, as well as a computer you can use in the main lobby. The rooms suited our needs, there was a coffee maker and fridge. Plenty of counter space, which I find lacking in other hotels. There were also double sinks, which is fantastic for a group of girls (and families). The rooms weren't the cleanest, there is a slight smell to them, and the towels were rough, but good enough. The shower head was a bit rusted. The beds were a bit lumpy, but I didn't notice after a long day at the park; I just passed out. Only thing is that there's no room service when we needed extra items (towels, blankets, shower stuff). We would have to head back to the lobby, which was hard enough to find the first time.

There's no on-site restaurant, but not required as there are restaurants only a few minutes away. There is a small shop on site, which we didn't go in to. They do offer comp toiletries if you forget anything, just remember to pick up before you get to the room. :P We were near the pool area which wasn't too noisy considering.. didn't have a chance to check it out, but looks like the kids enjoyed it.

It's a no frills hotel, close to our primary reason for visiting, ie. Disneyland. It suited our needs and good for groups with the extra space and spacious bathroom. I would stay here again for proximity to Disney and if it was at the right price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

The hotel was kind of retro cool, built in the 60's. Great place for kids with the castaway cove water park. Plenty of restaurants to eat at in the area. The room was clean and tidy although facing the highway so needed ear plugs to sleep. Overall soul stay here again and would tell friends to stay here. The hotel staff were lovely and friendly, the gift shop staff were rude and only were after your money but it had all the bits and pieces you would expect.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 588 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.