We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Deal Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground to your Saves list
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great Deal Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

I booked our stay at the Howard Johnson Anaheim based on other TripAdvisor reviews and was not disappointed with my decision. We had a park view deluxe room on the 3rd floor in building 1. Fireworks were directly in front of us which we enjoyed each night we weren't in the park to watch them "live". We stayed 5 nights. The room was clean and spacious with a mini fridge and microwave, tons of drawer and closet space, comfortable beds, table with 2 chairs, desk, free wifi, and television console. The bathroom was standard with good water pressure in the shower, power flush toilet (not my 7 year old's favorite noise) and a single sink. There was also a sink outside the bathroom so that one could finish getting ready while someone else was using the bathroom. I always appreciate that set up. Walking distance to the Disneyland Resort was less than advertised, but we are quick walkers. Regardless, it was less than 2 city blocks to the parks. Not connected to the hotel, but across a parking lot is Mimi's Cafe, which we never took advantage of, but saw that it was popular. (Join Mimi's Cafe club for coupons and discounts before your visit.) It was a bit too chilly to enjoy the pool, but one day was warm enough for the spray park. My daughter enjoyed the water slides and dump bucket while her parents enjoyed the hot tub. There were plenty of umbrella tables and lounge chairs in the spray park area. The pool is located elsewhere, although there was a "pee pool" for toddlers in the spray park. Reviewers complained of freeway noise. Yes, there was freeway noise, however I'd much rather deal with that kind of noise than convention center late night revelers, another reason I chose HoJo over hotels close to the convention center. There was no partier noise whatsoever. We had neighbors above and beside us who we heard during normal waking hours. They must have been on the same schedule as us. Lights out at 10. I booked online and got a wicked price for a great room, great location, great stay. I highly recommend HoJo Anaheim.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,697
    1,959
    554
    159
    54
See reviews for
4,068
348
54
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (644)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Westminster, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2011

This was our 3rd trip to Disneyland but only our first time staying here. By far the best place that we have stayed in while at Disney. Very friendly and helpful staff, easy walk to Disney and the pool area is great! Our room had a great view of the fireworks and the beds were so comfortable! I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

This is our 3rd stay at the Howard Johnson/Anaheim to visit the Disneyland Resort and will return again and again. It has something for everyone from small children to adults who need a quiet place to rest after going to the parks. There is a children's water play area that looked so fun I wished I had brought my suit. Some children might remember the dumping water bucket clearer than they remember Disneyland! Our room was large enough for 3 adults and extremely comfortable. We found ourself returning to the room midday for naps. The hotel is located near to the maingate of DL/DCA and there is a great restaurant Mimi's next door. Furthermore they do not charge for parking if you have a vehicle. We hated to leave.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

I only stayed one night at the hotel but it was great place and I have no complaints. When we arrived we asked it there was a room available (on the standard which we had booked) where we would be able to see the Disney fireworks; there wasn't, but they did upgrade us, for free, to a room where we would be able to see them, seeing as we were only there for one night! The fireworks are not to be missed and its well worth trying to get a room with a view.

The room was spacious, clean, comfortable, had its own balcony and the hotel has its own shop which was pretty handy. We never got the chance to try out the pool as we arrived pretty late in the day, but it looked awesome and if I was a 7 year old I would have been positively giddy with excitment! Roll into that the idea of seeing Mickey and any parents might want to hide any sugary treats for a while.

Off to Disney Land the next day and the hotel were more than happy to provide us with free storage for suitcases.

My first time at a HoJo but I thought it was great!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Rooms - We were placed in Building 1 on the second floor in a room with two queen beds (very comfy) which faced the freeway. We are a family of three with a 7 year old and we found the size of the room was huge with plenty of space. We had a small balcony, a little bistro table with two chairs in the room, and tons of storage space in the room. The bathroom was a decent size and there was also counterspace with a sink and mirror outside of the actual bathroom which I really liked when it came to all of us getting ready at the same time. We had a little mini fridge as well as a Keurig coffee maker which the hotel provides four coffee pods for every day. If you love your coffee (as we do!) and run out of the coffee pods or want actual creamer as opposed to the powder, the little store downstairs sells a nice selection of them for $1 for the coffee pods and .25 for the little creamers. There is also a safe provided free of charge in the room as well. If you are sensitive to noise, then I suggest requesting a room facing away from the freeway as you WILL find it noisy at all times.

Hotel Grounds - The hotel itself is broken up into a few buildings with some nice landscaping. One of the things that makes the Howard Johnson so popular with families is the pirate themed water park they have. It really is a great area for kids and there are tables and chairs and lounge chairs in there as well as blue pool towels provided. There is also a regular pool area (with a salt water pool) with tables, chairs, lounge chairs, and blue pool towels there for you too. Both of these are completely fenced in and gated, both which you need a room card to get in. If you need to use the internet while here, there are two Mac computers in the hotel lobby to use free of charge. The people at the front desk were always great and willing to go beyond. There is a little convenience store located in the lobby of Building 1 and they carry most everything you could possibly need for your stay and pretty good prices. They have snacks, drinks, beer, wine, a few things you could use for breakfasts or lunch, gifts, etc.,...I could really go on and on! Also in the lobby of Building 1 is a games room that uses quarters for the games.

Restaurants - Within a fifteen minute walk from the hotel itself, you really have a huge selection of restaurants to choose from. Of course the closest is Mimi's Cafe (right across the street) and their prices are pretty good. We had a couple of breakfasts, one lunch, and one dinner here. I found the food really good but I have to agree with other reviewers that the service here is a definite hit and miss. Our first time there our waitress was FANTASTIC, but the next day for breakfast, oh my goodness, you could tell our waiter wanted to be anywhere but there, lol (he gave my son the wrong drink, my husband the wrong muffin, and he got our bills wrong). Obviously nothing to ruin a vacation (or even a morning) over, but just be prepared for rocky service;-) Just a couple of minutes further is Millie's where we ate most of our breakfasts. It has more of a diner feel than Mimi's Cafe and the food is more like that too but it's also a tad bit cheaper and we found the service better. Over in the Gardenwalk area is The Cheesecake Factory, PF Changs, Bubba Gump Shrimp, California Pizza Kitchen, and many more.
One place we felt the need to tell people to avoid is the IHOP right across the street from the Disneyland entrance. We went there one evening for dinner and we were so disappointed with the food, service, and for what you get for the prices they charge you is ridiculous! They have a 'Kids Eat Free After 5pm' deal that trust me, is NOT a deal. With our son eating 'free' our bill ended up being $32 for 2 sad looking clubhouse sandwiches (they weren't even true clubhouse sandwiches, just some sad ingredients between two pieces of bread) and 3 pops. Also, my 7 year old son loves salad and most of the time he will ask to substitute a salad instead of having fries with his meal. Never in the history of us going to a restaurant has this ever been a problem but for IHOP it was. In this day and age where healthier choices are being pushed, that should never be a question! Just as a comparison, at Mimi's and Millie's, their sandwiches are around ten dollars and kids meals about $5 so while you're not getting your child's meal for 'free', you will still pay about the same for a WAY better meal.

All in all, we were incredibly happy with our stay at HOJO's and would no doubt choose this hotel should we come back to Disneyland in the future=)

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

This hotel is very clean; the grounds, the lobby, the gameroom, the waterpark, the mini store, and most importantly the room. We stayed in a double room in building 4 which is the farthest from the freeway and yes we could hear the traffic when we opened the patio door but not once we closed the door. The beds were very comfortable, the corner rooms in buildings 3-6 are slightly smaller than the rest due to the stairs, no elevators in these two story buildings but they do not face the freeway. Buildings 1 and 2 have elevators but face the freeway. Disney is a close 8 minute walk. Mimis restaurant is great, millies restaurant is ok and both are across the street along with Mc Donalds. We have stayed at many hotels in Anaheim and this by far was the best, this will be the hotel we always stay in Anaheim from now on. Overall this was a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We just returned after a 5 night stay using 4 different rooms. Using the entertainment rate made this an awesome deal. Our rooms were in Building 2 overlooking the garden pool. I would say this was a perfect location and they even had our block of rooms very close to each other. Everything was perfect. The kids loved the water park, pool and hot tub. And I was able to watch the grandkids in the pool from our small deck.
My biggest tip to everyone is to join the Mimi's Cafe eclub online just prior to your trip and you will get some 2 for 1 coupons for the restaurant next door. Best place we ate our whole trip. During our stay, Mimi's sent a new online coupon for dinner and the front desk gladly printed the coupon for us, so we could use it. Very nice of them. So nice having free Wi-Fi in the room. This was a wonderful family trip and I would gladly stay at HOJO'S again.

Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.8 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,768 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
#2 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
0.6 mi away
Disney's Grand Californian Hotel
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn Anaheim Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground

Address: 1380 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground 2.5*
Number of rooms: 303
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just an 8-minute walk from Disneyland Park, this non-smoking family resort hotel features Castaway Cove - A Watery Pirate Playground! With slides, drench bucket, water canons, jacuzzi, toddler's wading pool and more, Castaway Cove is a great place for your whole family to play together! Also nestled within the lush, park-like grounds is the family friendly Garden Pool! With free parking, fridges and internet- HoJo Anaheim is the perfect choice for your family adventure! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wyndham, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Plaza Hotel And Water Playground - Anaheim / Disneyland Park
Howard Johnson Anaheim
Anaheim Howard Johnson
Howard Johnson Hotel Anaheim California

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.