We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not A Boutique Hotel but Ok for Disney Visit” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Anaheim to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 113 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Not A Boutique Hotel but Ok for Disney Visit”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I travel a lot, averaging 7-10 trips annually. With that said, I admit that my standards for service and accommodations are high. My go-to hotel brands are Luxury Collection, Starwood, Kimpton, etc. I have Travel Connoisseur status on TripAdvisor and Expedia Gold+ membership. I state this not to brag but to confirm my travel experience/knowledge.

When I planned a recent Spring Break trip to Anaheim to haunt the Disney Parks, I sought out accommodations that “on paper” met my standards. I checked the Hotel Indigo’s reviews on both TripAdvisor and Expedia. I felt comfortable with my reservation.

Pros:
Location: The Hotel Indigo is located 3 blocks from the Disney Parks. No car is necessary if your primary purpose is to do Disneyland / California Adventure. Katella Avenue is lined with hotels, restaurants, convenience stores (CVA, Walgreens). Basic needs are easily accessible.

Service: At every touch point during our 4-night stay, every employee was friendly. Our package included breakfast in the small cafe in the hotel lobby. However, the quality was wonderful (tasty food, clean dining room, friendly servers). It was a treat to start the days with filling breakfasts.

Ok:
The room was not what I expected (and I carefully reviewed the online photos). I travelled with a teenager and wanted a suite with a separate bedroom, for privacy reason. The “family suite” consisted of two queen beds in a narrow room, and a sofa bed by the window. The room was so narrow that we moved the desk chair as it blocked the walkway at the foot of the two queen beds. I will add that the room faced Disneyland and had a view of the nightly fireworks show (we watched on our arrival evening).
Bathroom was ok. Nice glass shower with updated vessel faucet, granite/tiled surfaces and Aveda bespoke amenities.

Cons:
Sadly, my vacation was compromised due to rude, loud, obnoxious Spring Break guests. Upon returning to the hotel after 16+ hour days at Disney (12:45-1am), for our last two nights, the guests next door on our floor had parties (slamming doors, loud laughter, smoking). On the first night, I informed the night clerk at 1 am. I heard noise until 2:30 am (me and my daughter collapsed by then). Unfortunately, we missed breakfast as we overslept due to the excessive noise. Sadly, we experienced the same scenario on our last night. Was like Groundhog Day as the same night clerk informed me (during my 1 am call) that he had talked to the offensive guests (obviously his talk wasn’t effective).

Upon checkout, I asked to speak to the hotel general manager (Edward V.) – he met me in his office to discuss my concerns. He respectfully honored my request to comp the last two nights of my stay – very professional and THE RIGHT THING TO DO!

Lessons Learned: Don’t trust hotel pictures exclusively (even on respected web sites). If you have very specific room configuration needs, call the hotel to confirm before booking. Although Mr. V addressed and resolved my concerns, and I appreciated his professionalism, I will likely not return to the Hotel Indigo. Although it is touted as a boutique hotel, it simply did not meet my expectations based on price and quality. I will give the Indigo 4+ stars on service as each employee made an effort to make me and my daughter feel welcome during our stay.

Note that the area around the Disney parks (and Convention Center) attracts a seedy street element. Be aware/careful walking late at night back to your hotel. Stick to main lighted streets and pay attention to your surroundings.

Room Tip: Cannot recommend room 331. Small, cramped but had view of Disney fireworks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    125
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
221
88
10
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

It was close to disneyland but sleep quality not so good because it was loud in the hallways.
The pool was really cold but refreshing after a day at disneyland I made a new "friend".
There was a restaurant in the building so we didn't have to go out as much the food was pretty good.The staff were really nice.It was also really clean and looked very new.-Kiki age9

Room Tip: choose a room above floor one so it will be less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management1Team, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your nice review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim. We are very glad you are satisfied with location, foods, and guest services. Every one of our employees tries their best to meet and exceed each guest’s expectation. They will be happy to know their efforts are paying off and have not gone unnoticed. We would like to apologize for the noise from the hallway. Please contact us directly if you would like to discuss about it further more. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Arrived at the hotel to a friendly girl at the front desk. Easy check in. Room is very modern and clean. Room has a kuerig coffee maker. Floors are beautiful wood and Bathroom is very nice. My children (5&7) said that is was such a nice place. Free parking which is hard to find around Disneyland. My father and sister who live near Disneyland came to visit and they didn't make them pay for parking. The bar has a happy hour which we enjoyed for mine and my sisters birthday. They bar tender even treated us to a free desert. Hotel is about a 10-15 min. Walk to Disneyland. Beds are very comfortable. We ate breakfast at the restaurant in the morning with our food vouchers. Food was amazing! Manager greated us in the morning to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We only live an hour from Disneyland but when we go for two days we sometimes get a hotel and I will definitely be staying here again and recommending to friends.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waco, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed here on our trip to Disneyland and we were not disappointed. The room is very modern both in decor and design. The small fridge was handy for leftovers from the restaurants we ate at (but you'll have to ask for a microwave hopefully at the restaurant). Wifi signal was decent (and complimentary). Parking underground was a huge plus and we could come and go with no extra fee or charge. Our window allowed us to see the fireworks (always at 9:25pm)

Service was very good. Front desk was very friendly, housekeeping gave us fresh coffee and cleaned the bed, and arranged the towels in those animal shapes in the bathroom.

The only minor issues I would mention are that the combination shower head and wand cannot be used simultaneously, it's just one or the other. Also, the door to the bathroom is a traditional swing door - when opened all the way, it blocks the door to the room effectively blocking your way out if you need to escape. It might be better if the door was sliding. The walls and floors are somewhat thin so we can hear movement above us and outside the door. Since this is Disneyland area, that means kids running and jumping.

well worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a room view a view of the fireworks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management1Team, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your kind review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim. We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with room, complimentary wifi and self-parking service, and guest services. We would like to apologize that the combination shower head and wand cannot be used simultaneously and the noise from the wall and hard-wood floor. Please contact us directly if you would like to discuss about it further more. Thank you so much for choosing our hotel and look forward to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

When we walked into the hotel, we knew that this was the perfect hotel. There's a parking lot for the hotel, but you need a room card first. You can eat breakfast at the Cheesecake factory which you can walk to, and you can arrive at Disneyland in a 10 minute walk. Breakfast is also served at the hotel, but I wanted to try the Cheesecake Factory. The rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. The staff was friendly and they would help anyone with anything. I recommend staying at this hotel if you want to go to Disneyland and definitely buy Disneyland tickets from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on higher floors are quieter and you get good sleep quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management1Team, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your nice review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim. We are glad to know that you liked our location and guest services. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable while staying with us. We look forward to see you in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hem, France
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

From the moment we arrive, the personnel made us feel home, they were charming all stay long. The hotel is located 10 minutes from Disneyland by walk so quite easy and has plenty of restaurants around for eating of Disney property

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management1Team, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your nice comment about our property. We are delighted to hear that you are satisfied with our location. We hope to see you again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here on a whirlwind trip to visit LA theme parks. We were here for 8 days, of which 4 wee spent at the two Disney parks - the hotel is a short easy walk to Disneyland each day. The location was exceptional, because it is placed partway between Disney and the local Restaurant precinct (not the Disney one). Our room was at the back giving us a view of the Disney fireworks. Staff were helpful, friendly and our room was excellent as a place to sleep - we didn't really spend a lot of time in there. Have and will recommend it to friends and family over the usual popular and more expensive hotels. In-house restaurant food was also good, we had snacks one night before heading to the Honda Center down the road for ice hockey (they also arranged a private car for this and the driver was fantastic). Also ate breakfast one morning towards the end of our stay and regretted not doing it more.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor (4) at the back offer a good view of the fireworks at Disneyland.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management1Team, Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you so much for your nice review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim. We are delighted that you loved our location, guest services, and our breakfast. The primary goal of all of us is to provide our guests with best possible service and meet or exceed their expectations. We look forward to see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Indigo Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Address: 435 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Anaheim 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim’s first upscale boutique hotel....the new Hotel Indigo Anaheim delivers a vibrant and refreshing guest experience. You are welcomed by agricultural murals and a stunning California themed garden enhanced in the evening by electrifying dancing waters. Enter the hotel and feel a contemporary neighborhood story of years past when Anaheim was a flourishing farming community.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Feel the warmth of hardwood floors to a plush over-sized duvet and pillows with spa-inspired showers...you'll feel right at home. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Whether your visiting the major attractions or looking for that hidden gastronomical gem Hotel Indigo Anaheim is your ideal choice. Families can be steps away from the maingate of the Disneyland Resort or if your visit brings you to Anaheim for a convention the Hotel Indigo Anaheim provides convenient walking access to the Anaheim Convention Center.Relax and enjoy a bite in our Chambers Bar & Bistro where you can savor locally inspired recipes and sip on specialty cocktails created by our mixologist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Indigo Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.