We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Indigo - a Good Choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Save Saved
You added Hotel Indigo Anaheim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hotel Indigo - a Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This weekend (July 2014), my wife and I stayed at the Hotel Indigo in
Anaheim, CA for just one night. This is our second stay at this hotel in the last month. We discovered it after we stayed at the Hotel Indigo in Santa Barbara. We like this hotel for several reasons.

First is location, it is walking distance to the entrance of Disneyland and DCA (about 2 blockes). There are also several restaurants (fast food to fine steakhouses) all within walking distance (read on the same block) as well as some 7-11s and other convenience stores. CVS is building a store ½ block away which should open sometime later this year (there’s a reason for this comment).

Second is that the staff has been very good in several areas. From taking our calls, to greeting us, to check out, everyone has been very friendly, polite, and fun to be with. Anything we have asked for has been met with graciousness and they have exceeded our expectations.

Third is that we like the ambiance of the hotel. While it is a higher end budget or economy hotel, they have made it very comfortable for travelers. My wife particularly enjoys the showers as they are very large for a typical hotel and she really likes the tile they used. The bathrooms are a very good size with raised washbowls (another nice feature for us). The beds were very comfortable and the A/C was almost too good. The hotel’s construction can be a little noisy but nothing that bothered us.

Now for the caveat, which is not uncommon and we don’t hold it against the hotel (or why else would have come back). The hotel is pet friendly, good for a number of travelers but not so good for some of us with certain allergies. The first night we stayed here on our previous visit, we had such a bad skin reaction that by 6:00 AM, I was calling for a cab to take me to a 24 hours drug store (now you can appreciate my previous comment about a new CVS store in the area) to get some prescription medications. After explaining the problem to the staff, they had housecleaning replace the sheets and the problem was fixed. On this trip, we called the hotel in advanced to alert them to our late arrival but also to remind them of our prior problem. They said they would take care of it and they did, we had a very comfortable night’s sleep.

While the allergic reaction problem could happen at any “Pet Friendly” hotel, we were impressed by the hotel’s staff in taking care of us. While one could argue about why they don’t this for all guests, the fact that the staff was responsive to us is why we like it. Also we know we can call ahead of time and they’ll make sure that is taken care of.

While my wife and I have stayed at many of the hotels in the area over the years, from economy to the higher end ballroom hotels, this is our current favorite for pleasure at the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    163
    66
    7
    5
    2
See reviews for
112
42
6
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
La Center, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We picked this hotel based on it's review on a few travel sites and we were not disappointed. The main entrance is kept up very well and the staff is accommodating and gracious. They rooms were very impressive, clean, and comfortable. It's a nice distance from the park, and though they offer no shuttle, a taxi from the park to the hotel for tired feet at the end of the day is only about 10$.
I personally had to cut my trip short because of a family emergency, but I will definitely be staying here for my next trip to the magic kingdom.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Stoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We arrived after an extremely long flight from the uk. We were greeted by great desk staff and given a room upgrade as IHG members so we could watch the Disney fireworks from our top floor room.

There wasn't any noise or problems like that. The room was a suite and very spacious, it was clean and comfortable.

The walk to Disney was quick and easy and if we had any questions the staff were so ready with help and advice. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to travellers.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This was our second time staying at the Hotel Indigo. I love this hotel. The friendly, welcoming front desk staff remembered us from our stay a year ago. The hotel is always clean and the rooms are quiet. They put us in a room with a window overlooking the Disney fireworks. We had two queen size beds and a pull out sofa bed for my grandchild. It is a quick walk to Disneyland. We left the car parked at the hotel as they have free parking. Arthur went above and beyond to make sure we had all the information we needed about the places we were visiting and the best deals on tickets. They even called a gentleman to bring us a motorized scooter for my husband to ride to Disneyland and back to the hotel. It was a fraction of the cost of the ones at Disneyland. The spa was a welcome relief after all that walking. We will be back next year for sure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have previously stayed at Grand Californian, but really once you have done it and you have to do it the first time for the whole Disney experience it really does feel like a rip off so I came across Hotel Indigo and I am so glad we did! We booked a King room with Sofa bed for the kids. The hotel was well decorated, we had plenty of space and it was an easy walk for the kids to Disneyland probably not much further from staying at GC. Lots of places nearby to eat and snack without being completely ripped off. Front desk staff were lovely and always said hello.

Room Tip: We had views of the fireworks from our room, just ask. We were also on a higher floor which I liked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pismo Beach, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This property has modern décor and furnishings, but the rooms are small. This is an old budget hotel that was redone with nice floor coverings and furnishings, but other things were not remodeled. The whole property is cramped and the nice décor doesn't make up for the cramped layout. The windows are old and do not keep out the sounds of heavy traffic from Katella Blvd and the busy commercial area. (Very loud and busy well past 2 am.) The air conditioner/heater is an old and noisy under-window unit. The pool and hot tub is small - hot tub is max 6 persons. There are only a very few deck chairs. The entire hotel has just one shaky cart for hauling luggage, no bellhop on staff. The location is perfect for Disneyland and there are excellent restaurants within a very short walk. There is a very small no frills on-site restaurant. The staff was friendly and eager to please.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far from the street as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Loved this hotel! Great staff, great restaurant and great rooms! We felt very welcome here with the staff greeting us each time we entered the property. We were a family of four staying in a 2 bedded room which felt squashed with all our luggage. We highly recommend indigo and thank the staff for our wonderful experience!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Indigo Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Address: 435 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#10 Best Value Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Anaheim 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim’s first upscale boutique hotel....the new Hotel Indigo Anaheim delivers a vibrant and refreshing guest experience. You are welcomed by agricultural murals and a stunning California themed garden enhanced in the evening by electrifying dancing waters. Enter the hotel and feel a contemporary neighborhood story of years past when Anaheim was a flourishing farming community.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Feel the warmth of hardwood floors to a plush over-sized duvet and pillows with spa-inspired showers...you'll feel right at home. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Whether your visiting the major attractions or looking for that hidden gastronomical gem Hotel Indigo Anaheim is your ideal choice. Families can be steps away from the maingate of the Disneyland Resort or if your visit brings you to Anaheim for a convention the Hotel Indigo Anaheim provides convenient walking access to the Anaheim Convention Center.Relax and enjoy a bite in our Chambers Bar & Bistro where you can savor locally inspired recipes and sip on specialty cocktails created by our mixologist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel Indigo Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.