We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer service exceeds expectations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Indigo Anaheim to your Saves list
Hotel Indigo Anaheim
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   435 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
Floydada TX
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Customer service exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Hotel Indigo-Anaheim. We were greeted outside by one of the young men from the desk. He immediately helped to unload our car while we checked in. The staff went overboard helping us with restaurant suggestions and advice on surviving Disneyland. The breakfast staff were superb and the food was excellent. Rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. Loved the whole boutique hotel experience! Our thanks to Thomas Long, the Manager for the great customer service!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was truly my pleasure to help serve you throughout your stay. I am truly grateful to have a hotel team that enjoys being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable while staying with us. We believe in delivering personalized service and I am glad that you felt that we delivered that to you throughout your stay with us. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim/Disneyland Resort area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a wonderful Wednesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    168
    20
    5
    4
See reviews for
283
119
12
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We came for a quick two night stay and were pleasantly surprised. Newly remodelled (and name changed from Holiday Inn) it had great modern decor, and WONDERFUL service (thanks Victor in the restaurant, Jessica in the bar, and Alex in the front desk). Great location a few km from Disney, and they gave us a free hot breakfast both mornings for all 4 of us --- and not a continental one - a full service bacon and egg one. Only drawback was some noise in the morning with doors slamming etc as people got ready to leave, but we would be back. They were great with arranging a city tour, a chute yo the airport, and let us hang out in a separate lounge for awhile to wait for our shuttle even though we were already checked out.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Also, thank you for staying with us during your “Disney Getaway”. We know that we are a newer less known brand to the area, so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members like Victor and Alex that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable during your Disney Getaway. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim/Disneyland Resort area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a relaxing Tuesday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I selected this hotel not only because of its proximity to Disneyland (15 minute walk to main gate) but because of the TripAdvisor reviews of the bed (i.e. so comfortable you'll need a wakeup call to get out of it). They weren't kidding! I loved our stay in this room. From the earthy color-scheme to the cushy-plus bed to the comfy corner chair with ottoman to the spa-like bathroom to the accessible HDMI port on the TV (love me some Netflix on the big screen when I travel) - hotel excellence. There are some great eateries on the same block, as well as a nearby Subway for a little after-park evening meal. We were the first customers to breakfast in their restaurant; delish. The breakfast burrito was tasty and filling. I will 100% stay here the next time we come to Disneyland. On my first Disney trip, we stayed at Paradise Pier. This felt posher.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable during your Disney Getaway. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim/Disneyland Resort area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a relaxing Tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I am torn about this property...many things to like and yet many disappointments as well. The service is excellent, all staff very friendly and wanting to help in whatever way they can. The rooms are spacious and newly decorated in an eco-chic palette with furniture and fixtures of a higher quality than a regular HI or HIE. The beds are very comfy and plush. Proximity to Disney, Convention Center, and Garden Walk make it an ideal location. Property is clean and well-maintained.

That said, no one seemed to have a whole lot of experience at what they do...check-in was slow, so was service at the restaurant, and it took a solid 10 minutes to get a glass of wine and a beer at the bar (it wasn't crowded; the bartender didn't know the difference between a Chardonnay and a Cabernet, and then couldn't get the bottle open). The rooms have hardwood floors which is just not a great idea for a hotel - we painfully heard every single step the people above us made, and they were up all night long. We also had the misfortune of having a room in the front of the hotel, which is situated on a main thoroughfare, so the considerable street noise prevented us from getting a good night's sleep as well.

The re-do from a HIE was probably a good one...but the layout of the hotel belies its roots as a hotel that was originally planned for economy stays, from the low ceilings to the narrow hallways to the metal doorjambs. The overhaul is only cosmetic, so don't look too closely...as you can see in these pictures, the bathroom looks nice when you first walk in, but upon further inspection you can see that they did not finish off the bathroom remodel, and left plaster and drywall exposed. Oops!

In short, they have done a pretty good job gussying up what used to be a lower-end property, but it is still not up to the level of a true 4-star, "upscale boutique" hotel that it claims to be. However, the prices were more than reasonable, therefore much can be overlooked at this price point.

Room Tip: If you want to get any sleep at all, you will need a room on the top floor (floors are hardwood so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I truly apologize for the negative experiences you had during your stay. At this hotel we believe in delivering an excellence guest experience and it is clear that we were not able to deliver that to you. With that said, I did want to clarify a couple of things. As stated even here on Tripadvisor we are a 3 Star Hotel. While we are on the upper end of 3 Star, that is what we are. I apologize if we did something to give you a different perception. Also, all Hotel Indigo hotels have hardwood floors. Again, I truly apologize that they were not to your liking. Our goal is to deliver an upscale experience to our guests. We aim to give a personalize level of service to all of our guests. I truly hope if you are in the area again you will give us another opportunity to wow you. Have a terrific Tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Our family of 4 adults just did a one nighter before a day at Disneyland. The rooms were outrageously nice and big. Big fluffy beds, lots of room, huge bathroom with large shower.
We had a great view of the Disney fireworks so you might ask for that when making reservations since all rooms do not offer the same view. The small restaurant downstairs was cozy, modern, and a very good breakfast. They offer dinner but we did not take advantage of that. The people were extremely friendly. It was like they were an extension of the Disney family. This will be our place to go in the future and will recommend it to everyone. It also has a good size pool and hot tube. Just go there, you'll love it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room to view the fireworks if you don't think you will be in Disneyland to watch the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. Also, thank you for staying with us during you brief time in the area. We know that we are a newer less known brand to the area, so thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable during your Disney Getaway. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim/Disneyland Resort area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a relaxing Tuesday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Recently stayed here for a 5-day visit to Disneyland & California Adventure. Fabulous location; cleaner than clean; beds to die for; and top-notch service from all. Just mention your need, it is met.

Hotel General Manager Thomas Long is the epitome of Customer Service. He is there first thing in the morning and last thing at night. He is constantly monitoring the guests' needs to be certain they are met. I asked for information on their mattresses; came back later and he had 4 pages of photocopied information for me! My friend needed a Sharps container for insulin syringes; it was at the front desk immediately.

The service staff in the restaurant were always checking on you to be sure you had what you needed (coffee, water, anything else) When we asked for 2% milk for our oatmeal, it was there the next morning.

They are 1/2 mile from the parks, an easy walk, or if you take one of the Disney shuttles, the stop is next door.

Everything you need is here. Why stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Chaplain, thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. It was truly my pleasure to help serve you throughout your stay. I am truly grateful to have a hotel team that enjoys being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable while staying with us. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim/Disneyland Resort area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a relaxing Tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

It's one of those smaller hotels, but it was beautiful, clean and well-kept. The hotel room we had was a 2 Queen Bed/Studio (with a pull-out sofa). Sleeps 6 people. The bathroom was very modern, and clean, I liked how the room had a refrigirator, but would have been great if there was also a mini microwave since we had a lot of left overs from outside food we wanted to eat warm. The beds and sheets were soft, and mattress was SO comfortable. The only thing was probably the noise level, we heard loud voices, and footsteps, from outside the hallway during the night -- sounds creepy..but really the doors and walls are thin enough to hear the guests in the rooms next door and outside the door.
Other than that..customer service was superb. VERY friendly staff, things you needed were brought in a timely manner. Complimentary Aveda products in the bathrooms. Parking garage was a good size for non-busy weekends..we were there Sunday - Wednesday, so there were lots of free spots. Wasn't able to try the pool, jacuzzi, but hopefully next time. Same block as Cheesecake Factory, and Coffee shop. About 10 min walk to Disneyland. Definitely going to stay here again!

Thank you Hotel Indigo!

Room Tip: For big families 2 Queen Beds/Studio (Includes a Sofabed)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas L, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Anaheim, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. We are truly grateful to have hotel team members that enjoy being of service to our hotel guests and make you feel comfortable while staying with us. I will pass on your comments about the mini refrigerators to the Hotel Indigo Brand Team. Currently, we are not able to provide microwaves for our guests. However, I will pass on your comments and see if anything can be done about it. I do apologize that you experienced some noise issues. We will make efforts to see what we can do to reduce that issue. We know that you have many choices for hotel accommodations when staying in the Anaheim/Disneyland Resort area and we appreciate you giving us the opportunity to host your accommodations.
We look forward to your return visit with us and wish you a relaxing Tuesday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.7 mi away
Howard Johnson Anaheim Hotel and Water Playground
0.9 mi away
Disneyland Hotel
Disneyland Hotel
#9 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,766 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
Ayres Hotel Anaheim
#1 of 115 in Anaheim
4.5 of 5 stars 1,451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Anaheim (1 BLK/Disneyland)
0.2 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Place at Anaheim Resort/Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Anaheim

Address: 435 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#3 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Indigo Anaheim 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anaheim’s first upscale boutique hotel....the new Hotel Indigo Anaheim delivers a vibrant and refreshing guest experience. You are welcomed by agricultural murals and a stunning California themed garden enhanced in the evening by electrifying dancing waters. Enter the hotel and feel a contemporary neighborhood story of years past when Anaheim was a flourishing farming community.Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living with the best in traditional hotel hospitality. Feel the warmth of hardwood floors to a plush over-sized duvet and pillows with spa-inspired showers...you'll feel right at home. Complimentary wireless Internet access throughout the hotel is at your fingertips or use our business center if you prefer.Whether your visiting the major attractions or looking for that hidden gastronomical gem Hotel Indigo Anaheim is your ideal choice. Families can be steps away from the maingate of the Disneyland Resort or if your visit brings you to Anaheim for a convention the Hotel Indigo Anaheim provides convenient walking access to the Anaheim Convention Center.Relax and enjoy a bite in our Chambers Bar & Bistro where you can savor locally inspired recipes and sip on specialty cocktails created by our mixologist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel Indigo Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Anaheim Maingate Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Indigo Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.