We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money, close to disney & quite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1176 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #43 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
new zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great value for money, close to disney & quite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

Both myself and my 3.5year old son stayed here for 10 nights at the beginning of our 3 week holiday. I booked this hotel from New Zealand based on price and proximity to Disneyland having read tripadvisor reviews.
Upon arrival and seeing the green building I was a bit hesitant but the staff were friendly and helpful and once checked in I was pleasantly surprised with the room. It had a small fridge and microwave and the great thing about this hotel is that the basin is outside of the bathroom unlike New Zealand hotels. It's more like a motel studio bar the kitchenette. They also have free internet in the lobby and yummy choc chip cookies every afternoon. The housekeeping staff were great too.
There were two downsides 1) aircon was damn noisy but it did the job and 2) you had to do your laundry down at the BW Stovalls - you just get voucher from Reception and take to BW Stovalls.
Food4Less was about 10mins walk and that's where we stocked up with food for breakfast and lunches. We never ate at Denny's which is right next door but we did eat at Coco's which had "kids eat free on Tuesdays & Wednesday".
We walked to Disneyland each day through the workers carpark (I think they called it the secret garden walk). That walk only took about 10-15mins and you cut through the "Disney's Grand California Hotel" it's great.
The location is great as there is hardly any foot traffic and it is quiet compared to South Harbour Blvd.
There is a bus stop right outside that's where the picks were for the day trips were did.
I'd recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    167
    67
    21
    16
See reviews for
191
72
17
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

We bought a cheap package deal from Australia to the US taking in Los Angelos, Las Vegas and San Francisco. After reading reviews on Tripadvisor we upgraded the hotels and room types in Vegas and San Francisco but decided to leave this one because we didn't intend to spend much time in the room. When we arrived and I looked at the exterior of the hotel, which should more correctly be called a motel I was dismayed, I thought I had made a big mistake not upgrading. We went to book in and we greeted by very pleasant and helpful staff and offered a room with one bed or two. We opted for the one and were given room 145 which is on the ground floor behind the pool. I must say the room was a pleasant surprise, modern, spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. We didn't hear any street noise or noise from the rooms next door. We could hear some movement from upstairs but it didn't keep us awake. The bathroom was very small but it was very clean. The small fridge came in handy as we bought water and milk from the convenience store next door. The hotel was discribed as being across the road from Disneyland and while it is across the road from the car park they can't legitimately claim to be across the road from Disneyland. We used the art buses to get around and we also walked across the carpark to downtown disney which was a leisurely 10 minute walk and then another 10 minute stroll to the parks. It was an easy walk but one you might think twice about if you have small children in tow. We tried the Dennys restaurant out the front one night, it was cheap and if you don't mind high fat, high sugar food it is ok but we found that diet really didn't agree with our stomachs. We dined mostly in the restaurants at downtown disney and the cheesecake factory on Katella Ave was also very good. We did our laundry at the other best western a few doors down (get a pass from reception) which was not as convenient as having a laundry at your hotel but not hugely inconvenient either. Overall for a cheap hotel it was very good.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2009

We spent six nights at Best Western Pavilions at the start of our USA holiday and had a fantastic experience. Unlike some of the bigger hotels closer to Disneyland, BW Pavilions had a more relaxed atmosphere. It was a great place to go back to after a day at Disneyland and chill out away from the crowds. The rooms are a decent size and the beds are super comfortable.

The staff were helpful, they gave us directions to catch a bus out to Huntington Beach (the bus stop is right outside). There's free internet in the hotel lobby as well as wireless access in all the rooms. Also, they serve up fresh cookies every afternoon, which were delicious!

The location is great, there's a bus stop right outside to catch the Disneyland shuttle which we used every time we headed to Disney. You can also cut through the Disneyland staff carpark across the road and enter in through one of the Disney hotels into California Adventure, if you prefer to walk. Some people have mentioned it's quite far from Disneyland, but if you use the shortcut, it's not far at all. And if you catch the shuttle, it only takes about five minutes to get to the main Disney entrance.

We also used the shuttle to go up to Gardenwalk and to The Block at Orange to do some shopping.

There's also a Food4Less about 10 minutes walk up the road, which is really handy to stock up on snack foods to take to Disneyland. Avoid the Denny's next to BW Pavilions, though. The food was awful and the restaurant didn't look clean at all.

I'd definitely recommend Best Western Pavilions as a cheap and cheerful alternative to some of the huge resorts in the area.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

stayed for 3 nights in june 2009.
BW offers good value for money.
Nice & close to disney.
By Dennys & bus stop.
Walking distance to disney & supermarkets, good value, beds super soft, only gripe was the air con was too bloody loud

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2009

Very nice room and very helpful staff.

Just note that while technically it is opposite Disney Land as stated on their website, it is a 15-20 minute walk around 2 sides of the park to reach the entrance. If you're not up to that then there is a bus to Disney Land that leaves right outside the hotel in the morning.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2009

This hotel was a great place to stay if you want Disneyland, California adventure or Knotts berry farm this is a MUST stay place. Denny's is in the parking lot and when you wake up and need better coffee or more coffee your just a few feet away. We would order 2 Grand Slams with 2 extra sides and it would feed our family of 5 and start our day. The hot tub was nice to sit in and meet people after a full day of walking. We watched the Dreams Come True" Fireworks Spectacular every night from the parking lot and even better shot if you walked across the street to the Disneyland parking lot. The beds were very comfortable, the housekeeping staff did an AMAZING JOB the Place was very Clean Front desk staff VERY FRIENDLY and answered any questions we had. down. We will stay in this hotel again. very pleased. Colorado Family

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wa.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2008

I was completely happy with my stay, my son his daughter, and I had such an experience, we would get up, eat our free breakfast, then catch the shuttle and go straight to the Greatest Place on Earth!! This was my second time there and If I go again I will stay there again, the people were very friendly and helpful. The location was great. Nice resturant with good food, right next door. Very well located and rooms were clean and nice.

Stayed November 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions

Address: 1176 W. Katella Ave, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Pavilions Hotel Anaheim
Best Western Hotel Pavilions
Best Western Anaheim
Best Western Pavilions Anaheim
Anaheim Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.