We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, good breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
1,000 bonus reward points
Ranked #27 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, good breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This older hotel did a nice job on their remodel. The room was clean and did have a mini-fridge. The breakfast included yoghurt and fresh fruit, eggs and sausage (good for the grown-up taste) as well as the unavoidable fruit loops (my kids don't get them at home, so they love it on vacation). It gave us a good start before going into the park. One morning we had breakfast with Mickey at the Paradise Pier, which is only a short walk up the street.
The service was a bit poor as we had asked for early check in, they put us on a wait list and said we have to call them every 20 minutes otherwise the room will go to the next person who walks in that day. Really??? We want to be in the park and not call the hotel every 20 minutes!
We could see the roller coasters and Ferris wheel from our balcony and even part of the fireworks (there are a few trees blocking the lower half, but considering that I can drop into bed right afterwards, the fireworks were great from here).
We tried both walking to Disney and taking the shuttle. If you only go to the park a day or two then walking from here is fine. We were at Disney 5 days, so you want to save your feet as much as possible, then the shuttle is well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StovallsManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. I’m glad that you had a great time while staying with us. I apologize for the poor customer service. We don’t give rooms away. We would have hoped to get you in right away but no rooms were available at that time. We hope you come again and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    439
    622
    242
    57
    65
See reviews for
798
217
37
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We recently stayed at Stovall's for the second time for a Disneyland visit. It is basically clean and well kept. The rooms are dark and a little small, but that really isn't a problem for us. We like the fact that they have a fridge and microwave. I especially like the sink and mirror being outside of the toilet and tub/shower room. They really need to add a vent to the bathroom. This last time we opened the small window above the tub while we showered (which they need to put a screen on) and that helped some, but the humidity can get really high without a vent. There is nice tile in the bathroom and a granite countertop around the sink. The ceiling in the toilet room was only half-painted, which was strange, but didn't bother us. The toilet paper holders don't rotate easily so the toilet paper breaks off between each sheet unless you manually rotate the roll, a bit of a bother.

We have requested a quiet room both times, and had a quiet room both times, except for the garbage trucks in the mornings, but there isn't much that can be done about that. The beds were fine. The grounds are clean and the greenery nice, with several fun topiaries. The pools look very nice but we haven't used them. There is a free breakfast with good breakfast hours, 6-10 am. The space has been enlarged since our first visit, which is good since it was very crowded the first time. I would like to see a make-your-own-waffle station added, and real butter for toast, pancakes, etc. They do have both hot and cold breakfast items.

It is a reasonable walking distance, but a little long for walking back and forth more than once a day. We do like this walking route a lot more than walking along Harbor, as it is nicely landscaped, with lots of small white lights on the trees at night, and less traffic and people. Plus walking through the lobby of the Grand Californian is a nice way to start and end the day. We didn't realize it the first time, but noticed on a google map before this last visit, that the sidewalk is a hidden mickey right south of Paradise Pier. The first time it was annoying that they had curved the sidewalk out so much because it added to the walking, but this time it was fun knowing we were walking on a hidden mickey - funny how perception can change, huh!

We didn't have a car, but for those who do, there is a parking fee per day, I think it is $10.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room and we got one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StovallsManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. I’m glad that you had a great time while staying with us. The walk going to Disney through Downtown Disney is great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clive, Iowa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Overall a great value! We booked thru Costco Travel and I loved that it was all taken care of when we got there. I purchased the ART shuttle passes thru the hotel when we arrived and that was convenient. Close to Disneyland/California Adventure if you don't mind a walk, but we used the ART shuttle because we knew we'd be walking all day in the parks. Excellent breakfast! Comfy beds and we appreciated having a fridge in the room. The pool area was nice and usually we had the area to ourselves. Before we left each morning, we'd buy bottled water from the vending machine for $1.50 (or such) and it saved us from buying in the parks. I would recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StovallsManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. We hope that you guys come back and stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynnwood, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We enjoyed our four nights at the Stovall Inn. The grounds and rooms are kept very clean, and the breakfast if perfectly adequate, with standard scrambled eggs, sausage, and the other usual fare. This place is in a great location for visiting the park -- it's a little bit of a walk, but not bad at all. You can easily walk to Downtown Disney for a meal or to shop, and you enter the parks through Downtown Disney, so it's very convenient.

We were on the third floor facing the swimming pool and intersection. So it was a bit noisy at times, but we liked being able to see over to the park -- there's a great view of the ferris wheel and California Screamin' roller coaster.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StovallsManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. It is very close to walk back and forth to the parks. The scenery is beautiful! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I was attending an event at the Anaheim Convention Center so this motel was convenient. Thought they were remodeling their breakfast room we were given vouchers for the restaurant next door. Our room was standard. I missed a refrigerator and a safe. Everything was clean when we arrived. One night the Santa Ana winds blew pretty hard and the old aluminum windows rattled loudly. I could not hear people in the rooms surrounding me but I could hear people talking as they walked by (as if they were in my room). Over all it was good for the price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StovallsManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. We are currently remodeling our breakfast room. We didn’t want to inconvenience you so we went ahead and set the breakfast up at Coco’s restaurant. We do have a small fridge and microwave in the room. The safes are not available in the rooms for guest protection. We have safes at the desk that you may use. We hope that you had a great time. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California, Usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Overall stay was good. Did not partake in the free breakfast. Coco's restaurant next to motel, very convenient. Proximity was very close to Disneyland and my family and I were able to walk to the theme parks. Beds were hard for my liking. Rooms are not very sound proof. Parking is extremely limited and can be hard to find by the evening. If you're just looking for a clean place to lay your head at night this place is good for that. Grounds are nicely landscaped and kept up.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StovallsManager, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your business. We are very close to the park that you are able to walk back and forth to the parks. We hope that you come back and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Anaheim hotels
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Pavilions
0.8 mi away
Stanford Inn & Suites
Stanford Inn & Suites
#14 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 891 reviews
0.7 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castle Inn and Suites
Castle Inn and Suites
#12 of 115 in Anaheim
4.0 of 5 stars 1,100 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Comfort Inn & Suites Anaheim, Disneyland Resort
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Park Place Inn - Mini Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn

Address: 1110 West Katella Ave., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Stovall`s Hotel Anaheim
Best Western Stovalls Hotel
Best Western Anaheim
Anaheim Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Stovall's Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.