We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2040 S. Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #31 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Seattle
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2009

This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed in. None of the appliances works, and some additionally are missing major parts. The room smells disgusting, and cleanliness is, for all intents and purposes, non-existent. When we asked for a room change, the hotel clerk, who clearly could not speak English probably (she explained that her primary language is Spanish), was incredibly obtuse until we threatened to call the credit card company to rescind the hotel charge.

In fact, given the incredible awfulness of this hotel, we will probably call up the credit company to do take punitive measures.

The worst part is, we couldn't sleep, because as this hotel was a magnet for tour groups, a great number of very ill-behaved and unruly children ended up stamping up and down the external hallways well into the night, making sleep nigh well impossible.

I cannot recommend strenuously enough that you stay as far away as you can from this place. I wouldn't touch it again with a 30-foot pole.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    226
    105
    45
    49
See reviews for
429
29
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2009

This was a business and pleasure trip. We had a family of 6 people stay in their family suite. Two teens and two children. The sheets had blood and rust stains on them. So we had to obtain new bedding and make our own beds upon retiring the first night.

I have stayed at many Best Western properties and this was HORRIBLE. The food was frozen and ran out. Breakfast was fruit, cereal, pastries and biscuits with gravy if available. The pastries were frozen. The juice even ran out and good luck finding the only single person that was working it.

Next we had the front desk staff that was less than helpful for anything. It was a real do it yourself place.

We purchased our reservation and paid in advance only to be charged again when we checked out. Only problem was they did not tell us upon checking out. They did it after we left. Our bank fixed the error, the front desk after six phone calls could only say they were working on the issue and we had to be patient. I would say that we were more than patient we waited two days for results and received nothing.

We also purchased bus tickets according to the staff we had 30 minutes after Disneyland closed to catch the bus. Only problem was the bus stopped after 20 minutes and so the staff gave us wrong information. Upon letting the front desk know of the issue they seemed very unconcerned.

Parking was another issue. Good luck in the evening, the staff will give you the option of leaving your keys with them or they will gladly wake you up when they need you to move your double parked car.

This is the one place I will never go back to.

The rooms were not bad, but the staff made the trip an misery.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

It was a great motel nice and clean and totally what we expected. Like the other reviews the car parking was very tight and you needed to get in early to get a parking spot, although I am sure we still received quite a few door dents. The location was fantastic close to all amenties eg: Disneyland, Restaurants and even Target. The breakfast was ok not fantastic and you needed to get in early to even get a seat. A bit disappointed that there was not even a bottle opener for my wine in the building at all. Even reception did not have a bottle opener which is an essential when on holidays.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 6 days in may 2009. We called ahead to see if there would e any schedueled maintaniece. I was told there would be none. We came from Oregon so a pool and spa were a major concern. The second day of our trip we recieved a note saying the pool be be closed for the following 2 days for maintatence. We left disney early that day too get in the spa to our surprise they had closed spa a day early. The day it opened neither were warm enough to swim in. So in a 6 day stay we only could swim 2 days. The rooms were very out dated and our door was broken we had to go to front desk to get in room 3 times before they fixed door. The walk to disney is about half hour. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2009

The hotel is a bit too far to walk to disney with kid's, so you'll need to spend another $13-18/day for the transit, so might as well stay closer and apply this to the hotel room. The hotel is getting dated. The breakfast has no waffle maker, which kid's NEED, along with a limited selection. The desk staff, while friendly, were not much help with basis questions of where things were or how to get there. The cleaniness could have been one notch higher in the rooms as well.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ok
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2009

My family and I stayed here for our first Disneyland vacaton. I highly recomend that you book another hotel. Among the few minor inconviences of an ice machine and elevator not working, the major problem was the horrible parking. Rather lack of parking available to guests. I called three weeks before check-in to get a downstairs room due to the fact that I suffered an injury and needed to be in a wheelchair a good bit. I got called at 5:30 in the morning to come move my car. We were blocked in and couldn't get out for 35 minutes on another occassion. Another guest from Canada had a disabled son and they put them on the third floor at the other end from the elevator. My children sat outside to eat breakfast because the smell of the breakfast room made them sick. It was the worst hotel stay I have ever had and I worked "on the road" for several years. I wished we had stayed at the Candy Cane Inn (had their own shuttle) or the Castle inn(looked really neat).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, CA
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

This the 2nd time we've stayed at the Raffles Inn. Both times we needed a larger space to accomodate adults and children, but didn't want to pay a lot. The Raffles in has a few different multi room suites. We stayed in the Family suite : 2 queens, 1 sofa queen and bunk beds with 2 bathrooms. We've stayed in the queen suite which has 2 queens and a sofa queen. I prefer the 2nd one because although it has less beds and only 1 bathroom is it more spacious and updated. The family suite suffered from outdated everything and felt cramped. The air circulation was poor in the 2nd room and didn't have a window to open. The price was wonderful at just over $100 a night for a party of 7. The location is great if you use ART and the free breakfast was okay. Get there early as it's a mob seen by 9AM

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites

Address: 2040 S. Harbor Blvd., Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the midst of the Disneyland Resort in Anaheim, California near many exciting theme parks, the Best Western Raffles Inn & Suites boasts a classic Victorian design along with luxurious accommodations, awesome amenities and a wide array of packages and specials. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Raffles Inn And Suites Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Best Western Anaheim
Anaheim Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Raffles Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.