We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eh... overrated” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1700 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #60 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Hawaii
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Eh... overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Booked this hotel because it was dirt cheap. I realize I can't complain much for the quality of a hotel when it was $120 for two nights after tax, during the holidays, but the reviews for this place definitely make it overrated.

Two things were great about this hotel: the location (10 minute walk to the Disney park entrance), and the firm bed.

The not so great things: The tub drain was clogged, they did not provide lotion or hair conditioner, and our maid services, for some reason, only provided us enough towels for two people on one night, and on the second night only provided towels for one person?? Weird. It was 1 AM and we weren't about to go on a hunt for more towels so we dealt with it. The AC was also kinda ghetto - it's a unit in the wall, but that wasn't a big deal.

Can't say I'd stay here again for certain - I'd be willing to pay a little more for a place like Tropicana which is higher quality, in my opinion. But if it were a big enough price difference, I guess I would spring for Anaheim Plaza again.

Room Tip: I'm assuming bottom floors have more noise, but noise doesn't bother us too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    335
    186
    94
    67
See reviews for
362
119
28
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

We took our 2 adult children and their significant others to Disneyland in November, and thought it would be nice to be able to spread out with 3 rooms. The Plaza was the most reasonably priced hotel in walking distance to the parks. All 3 rooms had refrigerators, and ours had a microwave. We stocked up on breakfast food at Food 4 Less on Katella, so we were all able to eat what we like, when we liked. One day we had a big lunch in the parks, so we came back to the hotel after closing and ate p.b. sandwiches and fruit for dinner. That saved us a bundle. We used the big, steaming hot tub one night, and found the temperature and surroundings to be very comfortable. One day my husband needed to rent a scooter, and we were able to get it right there in the hotel, meaning he could use it to get to and from the hotel as well as in the park. If you do this, ask at the front desk and you'll get a hotel guest discount on the rental.
The coffee in the hotel rooms was pretty bad, so bring your own or, like we did one day, walk to 7-11 on Katella and get some. If you buy it in the parks, the Market House on Main Street gives you free refills all day, something you rarely see at Disney.
We bought annual passes for the family, and will definitely will be back in the next few months. I would gladly stay at the Anaheim Plaza again, if the price is right.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I live in San Diego and have an annual pass to Disney. My BFF and I have been going up and staying in different hotels within walking distance to the park for years. This is the first time we've stayed here and it will definitely not be our last! We didn't know what to expect in reading some of the other reviews, but we were definitely pleasantly surprised! The staff was helpful and friendly. Our room was in the 700 building which was a small hike from the lobby, but not too bad. The room was on the second floor. As I said, from reading some of the previous reviews we expected the worst, but when we opened the door we were shocked that the room was so nice! It was very spacious and clean. The beds were very comfortable. The air conditioner worked well, completely cooled the room down. The walk to Disney's main gates was about 6-8 minutes, depending on how fast you walk. Our main goal in staying here was being close to Disney and the price wasn't bad either!! We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 700 building on the second floor. Great room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

Due to enjoying our first stay so much...we decided to stay again due to the great price and top location. It's comfortable...has everything you need...and feels safe.
We booked ahead a Courtyard room which worked out perfect as I am a smoker.
The room was cleaned each day and supplied with plenty of towels and supplies.
The frontdesk clerk was very helpful with information regarding bus travel to a local shopping centre and even printed out directions.
Please understand it is an older style hotel and has seen it's day...but the price and location is what appeals to us. If something flash is what is are used to...this hotel is probably not for you.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

Easy walk to Disney. Cheaper than other hotels around the gate, but lots of nickel and dime stuff like parking fee, stiff internet fee, and no continental breakfast included. Adding it all up, I think we could have stayed in more modern accomodations. Huge rooms, if that's what you need. There were double sinks, which could be helpful. Attractive landscaping. On-site restaurant was good.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Just got back from a 10 night stay in the Anaheim Plaza Hotel.
I have stayed at this hotel several times over the years because of its location and it's very reasonably priced.

There were three of us sharing the room on this occasion, and my sister was impressed at how close it was to Disneyland.

All Qantas flights arrive in USA way to early in the morning, and I know that the check in time at the Hotel is 3pm, so we had almost 8 hours up our sleeve before we could check in.

We chose PRIME to take us from LAX Airport, to our Hotel at a cost of $15 each, very reasonable when you compare what we pay to go from Geelong to Tullamarine on the Gull Bus.

Upon arriving at the Hotel, the receptionist had remembered us from our last stay which was 2 years ago, and we only had to wait one hour foe our room, so we checked in our luggage, and headed off to Denneys for a nice hot drink.

Our room was in the 600 Block, we had 2 Queen sized beds, Tv, microwave, nice sized fridge, and plenty of room for the three of us.

My mother is 78 years young :) and the location of this Hotel was great for a short walk to and from the Disney Parks.....at the end of a long day, it's really nice knowing that we didn't have to walk far to get back to our room.

The Anaheim Plaza has a full Olypic sized heated outdoor swimming pool, which we used only once.....it is winter in USA, but for us Ozzie's their temps for winter, are our low 20's still fine for swimming.

They also have a hot tub, which we had noted they had done repairs and improvements since the last time we had been there.

The tub was nice and hot, and the jets felt good on our aching feet :)

The staff at the hotel are extremely friendly and courteous and very obliging to requests.
We asked for extra pillows and an ironing board, and also noted the bath didn't drain very fast, but all it look was a simple phone call to get that fixed.

What I love about this Hotel is the Price, it's Location, not only to Disneyland, but it's very easy to catch buses from there as well.

We did manage to get lost trying to catch a bus to The Block of Orange, however, it was a good thing, because we ended up at The Village, and they had a big Wallmart Store whoohoo!!

A Day pass for the bus cost us $4 each Mum paid less as a senior.

Not far from the Hotel is a Big 5 Sports Store, and a Target Store, however it is a bit of a walk, just remember that if you have young children, it might be a bit too far for them.

We stocked up our fridge from Walmart, with milk, drinks, fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurt etc, it is well worth a trip there to save on buying breakfast every day.

Bananas were only 59cents a pound, and we brought a big big punet of Strawberries for $1.85.
Muesli Bars, and nuts where also very cheap, as were the packets of dry biscuites.

For us it was way cheaper to hit Walmart than spend almost $10 per person per day on breakfast, we each brought a large box of cereal for around $2.95 do the math :)

I enjoy staying at the Anaheim Plaza Hotel, and I will stay there again, it's not exactly the Hilton, but it's clean, it's inexpensive, and location location is a winner for sure.

Why spend mega bucks on a more upmarket Hotel, when all your doing is sleeping there?
Heck I dont know about you guys but I'd rather spend my money on other things :)

So to sum it all up we had a wonderful wonderful time.

Ohhh one more thing for Australians and our NewZealand friends, it pays to take advantage of the 14 Day Disney Park Hopper Pass, they cost about $8 more than a 3 Day Park Hopper, and are only available to us who do not live in USA or Canada.

We brought our passes from Flight Centre, but did not book our Flights from them, the 14 Day Passes are available from any Travel Agent, through a Company called Creative? I think?

We got free flights to and from USA on the A380 with Qantas by pooling and cashing in all our Qantas Frequent Flyer Points.... the only cost incurred was tax.

Next time we head back to the Anaheim area, we will definitely be booking a room at The Anaheim Plaza Hotel.

.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to ask for extras, like a Microwave, there is no extra cost and the staff are very ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonney Lake, Washington
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

The Anaheim Plaza Inn & Suites is an older property (as are many on the "Disney Strip" on Harbor Blvd.), but is different from the others in that there is space - lots of it. Grassy space between buildings, space around the large pool, and - most important - space in the rooms. Most rooms also feature an fenced/enclosed patio (ground floor) or balcony - a plus if you have kids or just want to relax outdoors.

The beds were comfortable (for us, anyway), and the rooms were mostly well-maintained.
It is a short walk to the Disney Main Gate, so transportation is not necessary to & from the park. The Mi Casita restaurant is on site with a fairly good breakfast buffet available (kids ate free while we were there). Also on site is a gift shop, arcade, guest laundry, and a lounge with a tended bar.

There is a microwave and a small refrigerator in the rooms, but we did notice a distinct lack of electrical outlets (for charging cell phones, laptops, and other typical travel devices) - typical of older places. There is also a lot of peeling paint outside (although we witnessed a maintenance person scraping and repainting the facade of our building), and a feeling that the place is bigger than their maintenance staff can keep up with. But overall, the property exhibits a pleasant and relaxed feel that you just can't get at the places a block or two to the north.

One irritating issue: the shower, specifically the range of water temperature one experiences during the course of a seven-minute shower. Hot to warm to cold and back again.

Measuring the good against the bad, the good wins. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites

Address: 1700 South Harbor Boulevard, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This unique resort style hotel offers the following features:LOCATION:Directly across the main entrance to Disneyland® Adjacent to Anaheim Garden Walk.Two blocks from the Anaheim Convention Center.STYLE:Two story apartment style buildings on nine acres of landscaped gardens and walkways.PARKING:Ample parking all around the hotel.POOL:Olympic size outdoor heated pool and spa.ROOMS:Large rooms, some with patio or balcony.FAMILY SUITES:Two connecting rooms for families.FOOD & BEVERAGE:Mi Casita Restaurant and Lounge.MEETING ROOMS:Over 11,000 sq feet of flexible meeting space.VALUE: Excellent value for a hotel in Anaheim! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda, HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anaheim Plaza Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anaheim Plaza Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.