We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food; Excellent Service; Rooms Average” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anaheim

Save Saved
You added Hilton Anaheim to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hilton Anaheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #45 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food; Excellent Service; Rooms Average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed here Monday to Monday...with 3 days of meetings at the hotel and 3 days of meetings at the convention center. Check-in was super -- professional and fast. Lobby is up-to-date -- a lot of seating area to chat with colleagues and the bar is comfortable. This hotel is BUSY BUSY. Three conventions took place while I was here, in addition to families who stay here because Disney is close by. Elevators always seem to be full but the waits aren't too long. TIP: Do not go to the Starbucks in this hotel. Ever. The lines are ridiculously long and the Starbucks crew do not have their fast act together. Go across the street to the Marriott Starbucks -- the best crew I've seen at a Starbucks and you can stand in line, get your drink and be back at the Hilton by the time the people in front of you originally at the HIlton Starbucks even get their order placed. The sleeping rooms are okay -- comfortable beds with lots of pillows and nice linens. Bathrooms are very small - only one person can fit in the bathroom at a time (at least in my room). So if you have family/kids, just know that you will be waiting for the loo. The hallways and carpets of the HIlton are older -- and blah tan. The carpet doesn't seem that clean, but it may be because of the color they chose. The hotel is located adjacent to the Convention Center so is in an ideal location. I probably would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear saltkettle-

Thanks so much for putting in the time and effort to review our hotel! You definitely got to experience our team performing at their best as well as seeing them working with the challenges such as the Starbucks line. We sincerely value your kind words about our Front Office team. Being the very first major interaction that our guests have with our team, it's incredibly important that we put our best foot forward every time we meet our guests. So glad to read that you also enjoyed our beds! The Serenity Bed Collection by Serta is one of the most popular items in our hotel. Did you know you could buy one for your home? Visit our Hilton website to find out how!

Lastly I wanted to share some great news with you regarding our Starbucks and hotel hallways and carpeting. We are in the process of updating all of the features you referenced in your review and should have everything updated by 2014! Please be sure to come back and visit us again next year so you can see these updates first-hand.

Again, many thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon!

All the best,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    505
    705
    430
    158
    92
See reviews for
697
300
81
538
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed at the Hilton from March 31 - April 3, 2013. Check-in was fast and easy. We were there at 4:30pm. Room was ready! 14th floor room 115. I booked a Disney View and was not disappointed. You could see from Cars Land all the way to Paradise Pier Hotel and across to Disneyland. Also you could see part of World of Color and most of Disneyland fireworks. Room was very clean and newer. Bathroom was good. Plush towels! Not a lot of counter space in the bathroom, but that wasn't really a big deal. Large sliding door for the bathroom so watch your fingers because it closes fast. Plenty of outlets. It says that they charge for Wi-Fi, but I was not charged. You will pay extra for the Anaheim tax, which is true for ALL Anaheim hotels/motels which was a total of $20.89. No big deal. Also $16.00 a day for parking. Total bill for me $174.00 a night! Great deal! There was a small in room safe which I recommend using for all of your valuables, do not leave cameras and I-pads, etc. out while gone. This is true for every hotel. I did read reviews about rooms close to elevators. Our room was on the corner next to the service elevators. We were in bed early first night around 10:30pm and did hear a little humming noise hear and there, but honestly since it was strictly a service elevator it only runs now and then and rarely into the night. So was not an issue with us at all and I am an extremely light sleeper. The hallways were quiet too. The bed was on the firmer side. 6 pillows to choose from. The staff at the hotel is at your beck and call, they want to make your stay great! Also had a very short walk to our room from regular guest elevators. We never had to wait more than 2 minutes for an elevator up or down and we were there during a convention and spring break. We did not use the pool area, but from the view out our window it was always packed. Looked like a nice place to hang out. Lots of seating available. I think for families they usually have rooms on the fifth floor closer to the pools, with the private lanais. We stayed in one of those rooms way back in 2005. We were able to buy our Disneyland park-hopper tickets at the Disney desk. I highly recommend the ART transit bus that goes from the hotel to Disneyland. That is a very long walk when you are exhausted at the end of the day. The website is www.rideart.org if you have other questions. But otherwise we paid $12.00 for a 3-day adult pass, $20 for 5 day. Adults are $5.00 a day otherwise. Children are $2.00 a day, $3.00 for 3 or $5.00 for 5 day. There is a silver box right outside the Hilton front doors (in the middle area) ask the attendants they will show you. Buy your tickets ahead of time online if you are booking in advance. OR be sure to buy them when you check in because the line in the morning can get long. The machine takes cash and credit cards. The bus drivers will only accept exact change so make sure you have your tickets! The bus picks you up in front of the Marriott, which is just a few steps directly a crossed from the Hilton. It will be on the street side not literally at the Marriott front doors. Again ask the attendants if you need assistance. The buses run every 15-20 min. They go straight to and from Disneyland to the Hilton/Marriott. That was great! And the buses are usually bigger. I had to stand once. If you have ANY questions about anything Disneyland I have been there 100's of times. cbauer81@gmail.com Please feel free to ask!
Enjoy your visit!

Room Tip: If you are traveling with just adults or older children stay in the main towers. It will be quieter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Good Day, Cbauer81-

Thank you very much for stopping by TripAdvisor to share your Hilton Anaheim experience. We are delighted and extremely thankful to read such lovely compliments from such a savvy Anaheim area guest. We also sincerely appreciate your constructive information for other future guests to read as some of the details you included about the ART shuttle, Disney Desk offerings views of Disneyland, cleanliness of your guestroom and staff attentiveness are among the most popular inquiries that we receive. Thanks so much for bringing up the sliding bathroom door in your room. We're actually going to be replacing all the bathroom doors in our hotel that are of that type to avoid any injuries for our guests. Times change style and when the hotel was built in 1984, those doors were all the rage. Now, we're moving into the 21st Century and will be updating those models.

Again Cbauer81, thank you so much for sharing your experience and we certainly look forward to having you as our guest in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

It is a decent hotel. We booked it through hotwire. Hotwire claims this to be 4 star. But it is actually3.5star. So be careful while booking from hotwire.
I liked the hotel. I didn't like paying $14 per day for Internet. They placed mineral water bottles in our room and charged $4 per bottle. We didn't ask for this so didn't like that. These a little charges but add up if you are staying for week . I didn't mind paying $16per day for parking.

I feel duped by hotwire. We thought that we are booking 4 star but when we saw the name of hotel we knew we were duped and are getting 3.5 star hotel.

Hotel staff was nice.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello Ak P-

Thank you very much for sharing your thoughts about our property. We sincerely appreciate your feedback regarding our hotel staff and reasonable self-parking pricing. We also appreciate your constructive thoughts regarding waters in the guestrooms and internet fees. These reviews are viewed by our executive team so that we can find ways to meet your standards and expectations on a consistent basis. So thank you, we'll definitely look into finding ways resolving these challenges.

Again, many thanks and we hope to see you again in the future.

Best regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, FL
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for several nights while exhibiting at Wondercon at the convention center and then did a day at Disneyland. All of the staff we encountered were excellent, friendly and helpful, from the maids to the people in the gift shop. The hotel was clean with good beds, and showed only a bit of wear (which would be expected). The first night, our floor had a lot of families and there were children up and out at 6:30am, so not great for sleeping in. By the next night, the floor was all attendees for the convention, and oddly enough, they were quieter and went to bed early. I would ask for a non-connecting room if possible, because a lot of noise came through the connecting door. The hotel is enormous and that leads to some of the down sides. The halls are very long and the elevators can be slow. If you did not do the hotel restaurant for breakfast, the lines at Starbucks were always really long. The gift shop had some packaged items and juices. The food court is great for later in the day, but not open for breakfast (and often quite busy). Our last day there, the line for the restaurant breakfast was really long. I walked across to the Marriott every day. Their Marketplace had a variety of breakfast items and no line, and their Starbucks had a very short line. The Marriott was also a good dinner option.There are restaurants a short walk away, if one has time and energy. It is an easy walk to Disneyland, ART buses are readily available at the front door, and there are plenty of cabs with reasonable prices (unusual for LA). All in all, this is a good hotel, but be prepared for lines and waits, especially if there is a large convention or at peak times for Disneyland.

Room Tip: Unless you are looking for connecting rooms, ask for one which does not have a connecting door. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear deepdrkpit-

Thank you very much for sharing your Hilton Anaheim experience on TripAdvisor. We're are grateful to all our guests who share both the good and the not-so-good because it helps us deliver on our brand promise. With that said, thank you for touting our team's efforts to make all our guests feel valued and cared for, the cleanliness of our guestrooms, and the comfort of our beds. Additionally, we are very aware of the lines that form when our hotel is sold out and are looking at finding solutions for it. We are also working on the noise factor between rooms when there is an adjoining door so hopefully when you return next year for Wondercon 2014, you'll see all the updates that we've made!

Again, thank you very much for reviewing our property and we hope to see you soon!

All the best,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recently had a group staying at this hotel for a work event. The hotel was extremely cooperative with our constant changes prior to our stay and was great to work with while we were there. In addition, I have 2 young children and the hotel went out of their way to make sure my stay was easy and comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are staying in Anaheim and I will definitely be staying there again for both personal and business travel. Darin Martin and Debbie Granger in the sales group were fantastic to work with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hello 246MelissaH-

WOW! Thank you so much for this fantastic review! We are so proud of our team and the fact that you called out both Darin and Debbie is just so wonderful! They're definitely All Stars and we 're so proud to have them on our team! I also want to thank you for the wonderful words about the rest of our team that you worked with during your event. We really work so hard to make all our guests and clients feel at home and confident that they're in great hands and it seems like we definitely were able to do that for you.

We certainly hope to you and your family here again soon! Maybe you'd want to celebrate Mother's Day with us! It's going to be a fantastic celebration! Queen For A Day! You won't want to miss it!

Until then, kindest regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Florida
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
117 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I last stayed at this property with my wife in 1991. My memories were of the last room available that turned out to be a super suite corner room that stunned us with it's beauty and distance from the elevator :-) Segue to the present, and once again I was amazed by the distance from the elevator and the somewhat smaller suite sized room but still very adequate.

The annoyance factor stemmed from the A. Lack of an Executive lounge and B. Mega long lines at the breakfast restaurant as well as the in-house Starbucks. I use the Exec lounge as a way to avoid those lines. No such luck at this resort. The Starbucks closed very early as well (earlier than advertised on some nights if the staff felt like it, as I found out) , which was surprising given this hotel's proximity to Disneyland and as a convention center focus.

Top that off with a front desk check in line that was slow and understaffed, a lobby more cave like than bright and cheery due to the front door renovation, and the fire alarm that mysteriously went off one night at 11pm with zero follow up on root cause that night or the next day from the hotel.

The exception to all of these annoyances was the comfortable spacious room and the managers reception on Thursday night, which excelled in both food and beverage quality.

My memories of yesteryear were updated, leaving less wonderful ones in their place.

While I would stay at this property again, it won't be my first choice, given this last visit experience.

Room Tip: Near the elevator and DIsney view are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear VisitedNewPlaces,

Thank you for your review and your repeat visits to the Hilton Anaheim. We are sorry that you experienced some inconveniences during your visit but overall it sounds like you had a very pleasant stay. It is true that the light oak, pink, and sea foam color scheme that adorned our lobby in the 1990’s is long gone. Throughout the property you will now find a variety of textures complimented by rich, chocolaty, and earthy tones. The new front entrance, including our brand new revolving door actually allow for more light to enter the lobby which really plays well off the various surfaces you will find there. You had mentioned how comfortable your Hilton Serenity Bed was. The Serta mattresses are often one of the most complimented features of our guest rooms. We would also like to thank you for the compliments in regards to the food and beverages you were able to taste during a recent event. Chef Carroll and his culinary team are amongst the finest in Orange County and are constantly innovating and creating unique epicurean experiences. We hope you are able to stay with us again, we would certainly love to see you return.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

First off, we are Hilton honors members. We got treated like a second class citizen. The check in lady was rude and not very helpful. We got to the room which was small and had not been updated since the 90's. The hotel is very old and not updated. We got up next morning and walked to Disneyland. About a 20 minute walk. Ok for us with a teenager but not with small kids. We got back to the room and only beds were made. No new towels, bathroom still a mess, and garbage cans not emptied. We called housekeeping. It took them two hours to bring us a set of towels only to bring us shampoo. It was now midnight so we decided to wait on towels until morning.
We complained and Hilton gave us two nights refund but in hind sight we should have moved hotels. Hotel is very old and loud. Not good for families. Lastly, the floors in the hotel are uneven. Foundation must have settled. Hotel has tons of mold. One positive thing was the security guard brought us bottled water since the lobby ran out of water. If you are visiting Disneyland with small children I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear ShellieBB,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Our Hilton team members are usually very well regarded in these reviews and it is regretful that you did not receive the same great service. Since the hotel was built in 1984 there has been some settlement that has occurred. The building is still very much structurally sound and is routinely inspected. We are pleased to announce that we will be correcting these imperfections in the coming months. We are unaware of any mold issues on our hotel grounds so I hope you were able to report the problem to a Hilton Team Member so we can fix any sort of problem that may exist. This kind of report we take very seriously and would warrant immediate attention. While the hotel décor may not suit your personal taste, the entire property was completely renovated in 2009. Not one single piece of furniture or carpeting or wallpaper is older than 4 years. It sounds like the front desk manager was able to compensate you fairly and we hope this one lackluster experience would not deter you from staying with us again. We appreciate every single guest that comes through our doors, especially our Hilton Honors members.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anaheim

Address: 777 Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anaheim 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a satisfying California experience at the Hilton Anaheim hotel, located in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to the Anaheim Convention Center and across the street from the Disneyland® Resort. Reach the hotel easily with convenient access from all major freeways and Southern California airports.This upscale hotel offers Mix Restaurant & Lounge, a Starbucks, a recently renovated outdoor pool with two whirlpool tubs and the new addition of the Kids Splash Zone! The Health Club at Hilton Anaheim (daily fee applies) offers all the amenities of a private health club, including spa treatments, Precor equipment and a tranquil indoor pool.Enjoy Disneyland® Resort benefits at this Anaheim family hotel by paying a visit to the Disney® Desk where expert cast members will offer advice and queue-jump tickets to the world-class attraction right across the street. Experience the magic of Disneyland® Resort from a special Disney® View room, providing great views of the fireworks display and the resort. All guest rooms and suites feature modern comforting amenities and contemporary styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Reservation Counter, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hilton Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Hilton Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Hilton Hotel
Hilton And Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.