We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a Good Neighbor Hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Anaheim

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Anaheim to your Saves list
Hilton Anaheim
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   777 Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 4 + WiFi
Ranked #49 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“NOT a Good Neighbor Hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My mother and I (51 and 27) recently stayed at this hotel over Valentine's Day weekend to enjoy a mother-daughter weekend at Disneyland. While we (of course) enjoyed Disneyland, the hotel was literally the only part of the vacation we did not look forward to at the end of our days! It was crawling with people, the elevators were painfully slow, and it was a mile walk from there to the park entrance.

Here is our story: we got the room with HiltonHonors points, which is why we opted for it, since it was free, but I would NOT pay to stay there ever, even if I was on business for the convention center. Things we know: this hotel's main purpose is to serve patrons of the convention center, not vacationers. We also know that it was a busy weekend, as (and note, this happens EVERY Valentine's Day weekend at this hotel) there was a Greek Dance competition and festival being hosted within the hotel that weekend. So it was especially busy.

What ended up happening was that the dancers (aged preschool to adult) took over the hotel, and the kids were allowed to run all over, seemingly however, whenever, and as loud as they pleased. The elevators could not nearly accomodate for all the people - one day I got so sick of waiting for the elevator that I took the stairs to my room on the 12th floor, and it was STILL faster! In the evenings, although they tried to accommodate everyone with extra "mini" bars set up throughout the lobby, it was elbow-to-elbow all the way to any part of any bar, and one night, my mother and I just went to our room even though we wanted a night cap, because it would have taken us a half hour to get to the bar, and easily 1.5 hours for room service.

In the morning, breakfast was no better. The Starbucks always had a line 15+ people long, and the "breakfast" is juice and cereal... for like $8! And then if you upgrade you get a breakfast buffet, etc., and the food is OK, but it's still ridiculously overpriced, slow, and the coffee is terrible.

Other low points: because they were so busy, peoples' room service dishes from the night before were often left out in the hallway all day, making the hallway smell, and the gym is charge-per-use, even if you're a guest of the hotel. It's a nice gym, but it's not worth whatever $7 per day to work out. I ended up going for a run in the neighborhood about a block away.

The one saving grace for this hotel is that all the staff were amazing the entire time we were there. They were helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable. It's unfortunate that this part of our trip was how we started and ended each day.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the longer your elevator takes... however, you're more likely to get onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear MeredithABaker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. It sounds like you were with us on one of our busier weekends of the year and that this caused some inconveniences for you. For that we apologize. We do thank you for making sure to single out our team members and for recognizing the excellent service they provided you. We really do strive to be as efficient as possible during the busier times at our hotel but people tend to gravitate to the more poplar locations within the hotel (the Starbucks, the MIX lounge, and the MIX restaurant). If the hustle and bustle ever becomes too much we recommend that you visit one of the concierge desks and they can refer you elsewhere if you’d like. Luckily our location conveniently situates us next to endless dining, entertainment, and nightlife options. As much as we’d love for you to stay and enjoy the amenities on site we want our guests to leave the Anaheim having an enjoyable experience. We hope you would consider returning to our hotel, we would certainly love to have you back.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    595
    801
    510
    181
    107
See reviews for
777
362
86
648
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (486)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I need to start by saying that I was here for a conference and not for fun....the hotel is huge and since you are in the Disney area you should expect to walk...a lot! The hotel is organized to maximize the space. The double rooms are nicely sized. The room has two Queen beds which would be great for a family..there is also plenty of space in the room for a rollaway. The beds were comfortable and each comes with four pillows. Some of the rooms are quite far from the elevator...the layout can be slightly confusing as it is not entirely intuitive on how to get to some of the rooms and the signage to those rooms (the 600 wing) is certainly lacking. Try to get a higher floor if you can..the noise level will be better. If you are sensitive to noise you should also ask that your room not face the courtyard especially if there is a large group that will be using it for an evening function. I enjoyed room service twice...they are very efficient...25 minute wait the first time and then a 35 minute wait from call to delivery. In my experience that is pretty darn good. The quality of the burgers really was quite good. The rooms are clean and all of the hotel staff was quite pleasant & helpful. This hotel is close to Disney without the Disney feel...there are bike rentals (they start at $6) right outside the hotel and downtown Disney is about a 15 minute walk. I cannot comment on the room price since it was master billed but I cannot imagine that a property this close to Disney would be a huge discount. The gym is among the best I have ever been to in a hotel. It is huge and most of the machines (except the spin bikes) seem very up to date. You have the option to take classes that are offered...I did spin and rowbics..spin was good, but I highly recommend the rowbics class...it gave me a great workout!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear PurdueGirl1127,

Thank you for the positive review on TripAdvisor. Your words have given us a lot to be proud about and we are so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were very impressed with our fitness center and our comfy, cozy beds and we don’t blame you. Those are two of the most complimented features of our hotel. You also loved the food from room service and our location. The list seems to go on an on. We hope you are able to stay with us again and will be able to have the same great experience!

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamiek81
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I'm going to start by saying that I used my Hilton Honors points to book this room so I didn't pay cash for this reservation.

The staff seemed friendly and the attendant at the Honors check-in was extremely helpful. Our room, however, was a LONG walk! This hotel is huge and is located about 2 blocks from Disneyland. Our room was large (we switched to a guest room with two double beds to accommodate my in-laws joining us), there was plenty of space to maneuver around the room, a nice sized sitting area, and a nice clean bathroom.

The downsides:
*The strange "barn" door this hotel has for a bathroom door is loud and doesn't provide much privacy.

*The beds were terribly soft and the pillows flattened out as soon as your head hit them.

*The LONG walk to the room

*Rooms very well worn, needs mattress/pillow replacement, and PLEASE replace that awful bathroom door

*Too expensive for the condition of the rooms (I previously compared the cash cost against our points)

The upsides:
*Reasonable points value if you are an Honors member (cost me about 25,000 for the night)

*Location was amazing if you are going to Disneyland

*Attractive hotel on the first floor and in common areas

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear jamiek81,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback here on TripAdvisor
and we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay here with us. Being an HHonors
member definitely has a lot of perks so if you feel like you did not get enough for your points, please feel free to reach out to us. It's incredibly important that we meet your expectations.

We really appreciate your brief review of our guestroom and we will
share these with the team. We are always working on making improvements.

Thank you again for choosing Hilton Anaheim and we hope you can visit us again soon.

All the best,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande Ca.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Very close to restaurants and disneyland so the location was great. The hotel was immaculate with all the bells and whistles. The rooms were quiet and very comfortable, The lines were fresh and high quality. The room was lovely with a great view. I would and have already recommended the hotel to my friends.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Angela 252,

Thank You for your review on TripAdvisor. Like many other reviewers, it sounds like you enjoyed a very restful night’s sleep on our signature Hilton beds. You mentioned that you loved the linens. You can actually purchase those same linens fresh from the factory through our “Hilton To Home” website. You can even purchase the same mattresses, pillows, and select furnishings! We’re also glad were able to take advantage of our convenient location to entertainment and dining options. We hope you do get the chance to stay with us again, we would love to have you back!

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest Satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Last stayed here February 2012 and have stayed here 6 times in last 2 years. Always have experienced great service and value. Pretty typical of the Hilton brand. Common areas are showing a bit of wear and tear - hallway carpets need replacing. Bathrooms in rooms are getting a bit dated as well and could use some minor fixing. Pool area recently redone with a nice spray deck for the kids. Not enough loungers at poolside for size of hotel and amount of guests. Good food at the Mix restaurant and service is good as well. Has a small food court for pizzas,etc...and handy car rental in lobby. Hotel is 10 minute walk to Disney or take the Anaheim resort transit from right in front of hotel - bus comes every 10 minutes or so.

One word of warning- this is a very big, very busy hotel with business travellers, convention traffic and Disney goers so expect some line ups at check in and especially at the elevators regardless of time of day. That said though this is a solid hotel with good service close to everything and the best part is the great Hilton beds.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Be sure to review your bill carefully -- they charged me for two bottles of water in the room that I hadn't touched. Also don't tip for room service as a big gratuity is automatically added. Room was clean and bed comfortable, but the hotel itself, as other reviewers have said, is huge and and the hallways endless. The carpets in the hallways are worn and should definitely be replaced. I was at the hotel for a large convention and so hotel was always crowded. Location is excellent right next to the convention center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Ewie_Cambridge,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on TripAdvisor. While we do our best to ensure the accuracy of our guest billing it is always recommended that our guests review their folio carefully before checkout. I trust getting the discrepancy resolved quickly was not an issue. We are happy to hear that you found your accommodations to be clean and comfortable during your stay. As you mentioned, we are very close to the Anaheim Convention Center, right next door in fact. We are also very close to Disneyland and many other exciting Southern California attractions. We hope you return to the Hilton Anaheim whether it be for the next convention or perhaps a trip for pleasure. We offer the best of both worlds.

Kind Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed for two nights while going to Disneyland. I had read other reviews that made me think it might be a bit iffy. They have a food court and several stores, including a UPS so you can ship anything you might pick up while at the park. We were on the very top floor. Everything was clean. The room is definitely showing its age. On the second night and following morning the water ran cold in the shower. Also, the heater would turn on but as soon as the room hit the right temp the a/c would turn on automatically and it would get cold again. We had the heat turned up to 82+ because we couldn't get the heater to work w/o the a/c coming on. The front desk did what they could to help us and comped our parking. The location is great to get to Disneyland, but the hotel could really use some renovations. Their breakfast buffet was decent. The wait staff was really nice. We had freshly made waffles each morning. Even though the location to Disneyland is great we will probably go back to our favorite hotel down the road.

Room Tip: We always request a higher floor. You might want to ask for a renovated room at check in, as I think...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonAnaheim, Manager at Hilton Anaheim, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Heather P P,

Thank you for sharing you Hilton Anaheim experience on TripAdvisor. We’re sorry that you experienced some inconveniences during your stay but I’m glad our attentive staff was able compensate you fairly. We are also very glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet at the MIX Restaurant. They have a wide variety of options that change each morning. If you’re looking for a quick bite to eat, some of the restaurants in the food court are seasonally open for breakfast. While the hotel completed and entire remodel in 2009 we would love to hear your suggestions for our future improvements and we invite you to fill out our guest satisfaction survey. You may receive an email invitation asking you to do so in the coming days after your stay. We hope you bring your family back to our hotel, perhaps in the warmer summer months when we’ll have many more amenities for you and the kids to enjoy.

Kindest Regards,
Jennifer Sacks
Guest satisfaction Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Anaheim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Anaheim

Address: 777 Convention Way, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Anaheim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1572
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a satisfying California experience at the Hilton Anaheim hotel, located in the heart of Orange County, adjacent to the Anaheim Convention Center and across the street from the Disneyland® Resort. Reach the hotel easily with convenient access from all major freeways and Southern California airports.This upscale hotel offers Mix Restaurant & Lounge, a Starbucks, a recently renovated outdoor pool with two whirlpool tubs and the new addition of the Kids Splash Zone! The Health Club at Hilton Anaheim (daily fee applies) offers all the amenities of a private health club, including spa treatments, Precor equipment and a tranquil indoor pool.Enjoy Disneyland® Resort benefits at this Anaheim family hotel by paying a visit to the Disney® Desk where expert cast members will offer advice and queue-jump tickets to the world-class attraction right across the street. Experience the magic of Disneyland® Resort from a special Disney® View room, providing great views of the fireworks display and the resort. All guest rooms and suites feature modern comforting amenities and contemporary styling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Anaheim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Anaheim Hotel Anaheim
Hilton Hotel Anaheim
Anaheim Hilton Hotel
Hilton And Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Anaheim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.