We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2006

I really cant understand why there are bad reviews for this hotel.

This hotel is GREAT for the price, Our room was nice, The housekeeping made the room look amazing every day, It felt brand new every time we got back into the room.

The TV is good, The microwave and fridge is good.

Bathrooms were perfect, Allways clean and spotless.

The hotel staff are freindly but not that helpfull, Like they do their job, They answer your questions and do what there meant to. But they wont go out of their way (But who does these days!)

I will definatley be staying here again, Im from australia and will definatly visit anaheim and stay at desert palms again.

I Really cant comprehend how people gave this place a bad review.

A+++++ Must stay at!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    471
    203
    81
    75
See reviews for
951
108
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2006

Just got back from the desert Palm and Disneyland, check in was easy adn we got upgraded from a king suite to a kids suite...nice room, asked for a crib and got one right away, did not have to reask. The Hotel is a good location, it is right across from Disney but actually it is behind California Adventure so you have to walk a bit to the enterance ways about 15 mins. There is a quiznos in the hotel and a 7-elevan and ABC Grocers next door. Get the water and snacs for the kids there before you go to the parks...alot cheaper, carry them in a back pack or stroller if you have one, water is a neccesity, it is 2.75 for a pop or water inthe park so you can ssave lots of money. The breakfast is simple, do not go there thinking you can get lots of items..it is simple and quick, I took some oranges and apples for the parks as well as filled up a ziplock with the fruit loops for My son to snack on in the park. The pool is cold but nice on hot day, and the hot tub is small but did the trick at the end of the day, very clean hotel I thought and well laid out. Did not find it noisy and the bus the lax or John Wayne is right there outside the hotel.

If you are going to califronia adventure make sure you have a hopper ticket because if you plan to spend the whole day there you cannot, it is very quick and can be done easily in half a day, make sure you have a hopper for the park or you will feel like you were riiped off(i used hoppers). I have been to disney 4 times in 5 years with the fam and this hotel was good for what we neede it for. For dinner I recommned going to RainForest Cafe in downtown disney, the kids love it and the food is reasonable and the portions good, lots of walking, strollers can be rented at Disney and brought between parks. If you like there is a subway kitty corner as well as hotdigs and taco places, good for quick snacks or once again bring the subs into the park and eat them later....for a good place in disneyland, go to the Orleans section and go to the restaurant and get a sourdough clam chowder bowl, filling, good options and the prices are ok...

overall, a good experience at the Hotel and enjoy...

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2006

horrible, no service. at all. ever. I got strep while staying in this hotel, and no one would give me service even then. not even an extra pillow. Steer clear of this disasterous hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2006

We chose the Desert Palms because it was across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center and was less expensive than some of the other nearby hotels. The convention center was an easy 5 minute walk - definitely much better than fighting the parking nightmare there. We reserved our room through Orbitz and check-in was a breeze - the staff very friendly and efficient. The hotel room was clean and comfortable and included all the amenities such as microwave, refrigerator, coffee pot, iron,adequate towels, etc. The bathroom was equipped for those physically challenged. There was no counter space as the sink was mounted on the wall, which made it a bit awkward to handle all the morning toiletry products.

The free continental breakfast consisted of hard boiled eggs, whole oranges, bread, pound cake, danish, corn flakes, fruit loops, oatmeal, tea, coffee and juice. The attendant kept the tables clean and replenished the food items as needed.
For those wanting a traditional hot breakfast, IHOP is located across the street on Harbor. Even better yet, Tiffy's is nearby on Katella, west of the Annabella hotel. Adjacent to the hotel is a small convenience store and there's a Quiznos in the hotel lobby.

The swimming pool area was clean and well maintained, but enclosed by the buildings. Probably not a good situation if you're looking to lay in the sun and tan. The hotel didn't charge for parking. Internet access was I think $12.00. Instead we used their business center and paid $5.00 to print boarding passes for our flight home.

The rating I chose is based on cleanliness of the room and comfort of the beds as that is more important to me than the pool, amenities, etc. The cross streets for the hotel are Katella and Harbor, for those who like to know those kind of things.

  • Stayed January 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mill Valley, CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for our annual visit to Disneyland. This time we were three adult sisters and one 9 year old niece. We chose the two-room suite because it gave us room to spread out and two bathrooms! The room was average as far as decor and cleanliness. No real complaints. The beds were more comfortable than most motel beds we've slept in. There was a fair amount of noise from the room above us and from the hall but we expected that, being in a family destination. But, why do parents think it's ok for their kids to run in the halls and jump up at down at 7 in the morning? We never could get the Pay-Per-View TV to work, nor could the hotel attendant sent up to help us. Hotel is extremely convenient to Disneyland. We walked through the parking lot gate and caught the tram to the main gate. The pool's nothing to write home about but the 9-year old enjoyed it. Hotel staff was friendly and accomodating. We will consider a return visit if the rates are good.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2006

Not bad at all. Maybe we had gotten a newer room but the accomodations were very nice. The lobby was very nice but who really cares about that? The room was very nice. No smell. Everything looked new. Would stay here again. Did not see any rats. Clean accomodations.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2006

After much research (and juggling of dates) we ended up at this hotel. The main thing we requested was a hotel with a separate bedroom, close to the Parks. We were originally booked into a Mohave Suite, but when we checked in, Ray on the front desk suggested that maybe we would be happier in a Borrego Suite. He offered to let us look at both before deciding (the hotel was not busy at this point) After looking at both, the Mojave was sooo small and cramped, and we said we would take the Borrego, unless he could suggest another suite that would have more room for the same price. He was very accommodating and let us look at two more, the Escalante and the Yuha Kid's Suite. The Escalante we saw was under construction, so not sure what the dimensions were, but the Yuha Kids Suite had a king sized bed and a separate bedroom with bunk beds, a couch and a kid's own TV.
It was supposed to sleep 6 but the 3 of us were quite cozy in it. My daughter loved the fact that she had her own room to chill in after spending the whole day with her parents. The room was clean and the staff was quite pleasant and helpful. The hotel was a short 5-7 minute walk from the main entrance of Disney, there is a 7-11 and ABC store right next door, and lots of restaurants nearby. The best meals we had were at Tiffy's and Coco's, both just down Katella past the Anabella. The food in the parks is very pricey, be prepared. The only negative comment I can make about this hotel is that the pool was too cold for me, my daughter loved it but she is 10 and just loved the fact that she could swim in February!
I'm not sure what camera angle the hotel uses to post it's photos on the website, but they leave the impression that the rooms are much much bigger than they really are! And the pool is quite disappointing compared to the photos. Breakfast was quite basic but there was enough to fill you up before heading off for the day. One last comment, the fan in the bathroom of our suite sounded like a 747 getting ready to take off, it was quite annoying and we avoided turning on the light whenever possible!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.