We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So tired I barely noticed the thin walls” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #15 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“So tired I barely noticed the thin walls”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Overall the Desert Palms is an average experience. My family booked the Yuha suite for two nights on our last Disneyland trip. The Yuha suite has a main sleeping area by the door (with mini fridge and TV) and a kid's sleeping area (with a bunk bed, sofa and TV) toward the back end of the "room" separated by a bathroom with closing doors. A decent amount of space for what we paid, and quite a lovely first impression. Unfortunately, first impressions don't guarantee a good nap time or good night's sleep, which is where the rating comes down.

The walls are thin, and the ceiling/floor above is thin. Mixed with the fact that it's a relatively small hotel with elevators/stairs on every hall, and you hear walking and talking all day and night. Our suite was on the first floor, which may have more traffic than others, but quite simply, it was too noisy. On a Disneyland vacation toward the end of summer, we were exhausted every night and managed to sleep reasonably well, but nap times with the kids were a little more difficult. And since I'm complaining, let me throw in that there was no conditioner for the shower, and no Disney Channel on the TV (would have been nice).

With that negativity out of the way I can move on to some other points:

* The hotel has covered parking which was included in the price of our stay
* A decent breakfast is provided on the 5th floor including a few hot items like scrambled eggs, and a waffle maker
* The hotel is in walking distance to the park or the convention center. It's not right next door, or "150 yards" like the internet hotel booking told me, but it's not a bad walk for those who don't mind a little walking
* It's right next to a 7-Eleven for those of us who like to buy our Gatorade outside and bring it into the park.

I have the sense that most of the neighborhood hotels are "older" with the thin walls, but even knowing that, I would choose to stay somewhere else next time, if just to gamble that I would find a place a little more peaceful.

Room Tip: Try to grab a top level room, no floor above, means no walking noise on your head
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    437
    183
    78
    73
See reviews for
887
98
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Antioch, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Our family revisited Desert Palms last November and will continue to return! The employees are so nice and pleasant. They want to make sure that you are satisfied with your stay and feel at home. Housekeeping is great, the buffet is great, the swimming pool/hot tub is great and very relaxing. Our room has always been clean and cozy. Location to Disneyland is a straight shot and convenient walk to the Park . We are definitely going to come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
crestline, ca
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Last week we had the pleasure of staying here. Not only is it within walking distance of the convention center and the amusement parks, it was just a nice place to stay. Clean, pretty, nice staff, very good breakfast buffet. The coffee at the buffet was excellent, the food was plentiful. We will go back when we stay in the area.

Room Tip: We had a suite and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Falls, Iowa
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here four nights for a visit to the Disney Parks. Booked several months in advance, when I checked in they said they had upgraded our family to a suite with 2 bunk beds for no extra charge (I presume a Yuha suite). Our kids were absolutely thrilled to be able to sleep in bunk beds, have their own room and T.V. The room was on the third floor and had windows with an interior view. That was a little disappointing but OK with us - wasn't a deal breaker. The layout of the room had the king size bed nearest the room's door, bathroom in the middle and the bunk bed room in the rear with the window. I had no trouble with noise being that close to the hall. There are five floors total but the fifth floor contains the breakfast room and banquet facilities - no guest rooms on that level. You would need to be up this high to see anything from Disney so expect to not have a view for fireworks. Nightly rate was acceptable for the location - came to total of about $170/night with the resort fee added in. There are 2 levels for parking which are located at street level and below. Liked this because my vehicle was out of the sun for 4+ days and out of view. Breakfast was a typical hotel breakfast. I noticed that some items would run out and when gone for the day there were no more (like donuts). They did allow you to sit outside where there is a view of the Disney Parks and the other hotels in the area. We did swim in the pool one night. It is a salt water pool if that makes a difference. It can be busy at times but no issues when we swam.

Walking to/from the parks: It's a good half mile or more to the center of Disney Parks. There's one crosswalk that needs to be crossed and is a busy intersection with Disney buses entering/exiting! It's an easy walk but if in the back of a park and a decision is made to go back to the hotel it can be a good mile or more. And, that is the time where that walk seems quite further away. There were times where we saw the Candy Cane Hotel's shuttle and wished there was the same for us. That being said, it still is within an OK walking distance.

Next door is a Seven Eleven and across the street is a strip mall with several types of fast food options that are open late! Ate at the Alerto's Mexican Restaurant a few times on this visit and a couple of others for convenience and cheaper food than the parks and hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed here last Dec when we visited Disneyland. The place is great! And the staff are really helpful especially when you are with kids. They are all smiles every time we ask them a question. Its a good 10-15 min walk going to Disneyland, there is ample parking and the breakfast is pretty decent and heavy. A good way to start the whole day in Disneyland.

The rooms are not that flash but it still serves its purpose. Nice and clean :)

Overall i would recommend this place to our friends and will definitely be coming back when we visit Disneyland again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland NZ
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed at Desert Palms mainly for it's close proximity to Disneyland, only about a 15 minute walk.
When I booked the hotel about ten months ago I did request a higher floor with the hope of getting a view of the fireworks at Disneyland, this request was not met perhaps due to check late in the evening.
The staff at the front desk weren't particularly friendly, maybe it was too late for them!
The lobby is quite large and it was good to see fruit infused water on hand for guest to help themselves as it was quite hot this time of year.
The room itself was a good size with two queen beds that we found comfortable and the level of cleanliness was good. The rooms could do with a spruce up, carpet was worn and tired. The wifi was very weak and kept on dropping out or at times was not available.
The level of sound insulation could be of concern for those light sleepers, on our third night a family checked in next to us and all we could hear was their baby crying non stop, afternoon, night and early morning! The noise from the road outside was loud too as was banging on the floor upstairs.
We found the breakfast good with scrambled eggs, potatoes, cereal, pastries and coffee and plenty to go around, the staff in the breakfast room were excellent and very friendly, credit to them.
The swimming pool is quite small and is located in a sort of courtyard.
Next time we come to to Anaheim we will stay elsewhere.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

dark tired rooms looking into the center of the hotel, the worst hotel breakfast I have ever experienced (but included in the room price), the room price is not good value for two, and could only be justified by the very convenient location - and easy walk to Disneyland. I would not return here.

Room Tip: avoid the inward facing rooms which are very dark and poorly configured
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.