We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Desert Palm Hotel & Suites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ventura, CA
1 review
“Love the Desert Palm Hotel & Suites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2008

The hotel is great--right next to Disneyland and a real bargin for how nice it is. A trolley picks you up right out front and drops you off right at Disneyland and does the same for a return trip. The hotel serves a very nice continental breakfast all included in your room charge. There's a microwave and refrigerator in the room as well. The rooms are clean and well appointed.

  • Liked — Proximity to Disneyland
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    639
    500
    212
    84
    77
See reviews for
999
111
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

Solid value for our two-night stay on 10/31 and 11/1. We were assigned one of the non-renovated room, which was older and had older linens, comforter, chairs, etc.

The hotel does go 3 for 3 in my criteria of what I like in a hotel; free breakfast (eggs and sausage patties onr day, eggs and biscuits and gravy the next), free parking (although they were repainting the garage) and free Internet.

The walk to Disney Maingate wasnt too far either and took less than 15 minutes.

  • Liked — Value, free parking, breakfast and Internet.
  • Disliked — Assigned a non-renovated room
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

We stayed here for our Disneyland vaction. The hotel was great the pool was nice, it a little small but perfect for a relaxing time after a long day. The room we stayed in was newly renovated and was great. We had an absolute blast. The hotel is about a 5-10 minute walk from Disneyland which was great. The breakfast was good, I wouldn't say great but it hit the spot. All in all I think this is a great place and I would absolutely stay again.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

November 2, 2008
Modesto, California

We have been staying at Desert Palms for the last three years. We go to the Disneyland Resort 3-4 times per year and find this hotel to be very convenient to the park. It is within walking distance. The breakfast is a wonderful perk and has recently been upgraded with additional food items. The staff has always been very helpful and in fact, on our most recent trip last week, we were given an upgrade on our room at no additional charge. I strongly recommend Desert Palms because of the amenities and very reasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2008

We had a very nice stay at this hotel. It is located very close to the Anaheim Convention Center, allowing me to walk quickly to a conference I was attending. It is located relatively close to Disneyland--within walking distance for adults, but too far to walk for small children. If you plan to walk back and forth to the park with tired, young children, be sure to bring a stroller or you will regret it! They do offer a shuttle service...for a fee.

The staff was friendly and courteous, the continental breakfast was convenient and tasted good. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. One thing to keep in mind is that the pictures on their website are mostly of their deluxe suites--if you are expecting their regular rooms to look that nice, you will be disappointed.

Overall, this hotel provides very good value for the cost. The only things I didn't like about this hotel were the limited hours of availability of the exercise room (probably to avoid waking the guests below since it is located on the top floor) and potentially limited parking during peak travel seasons. Otherwise, it is a very nice option if you are traveling for business and will save you significant money over some of the other hotels as long as you plan accordingly.

  • Liked — Proximity to the Anaheim Convention Center and Disneyland
  • Disliked — Limited hours of the exercise room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jordan, Utah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Not a bad hotel! Could use some up-dating. Small outdoor pool and hot tub in an enclosed courtyard. Breakfest buffet was not as expected, fair to say the least! Free parking was a big plus for a resort hotel close to Disneyland. The walk to Disneyland was only 10 minutes, better then parking there. Plenty of resturants close by.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

We stayed at this hotel because basically everything else was booked because of a convention that week-end. This hotel charged us $132 a night for a noisy, outdated, cramped room. We felt like we were in a maze because the elevators and stairs were so confusing. Apparently when this hotel was updated and rooms were added they never updated the elevators so some don't go to all the floors. It was very very annoying. The bedspread was worn out and torn and the pillows looked like someone had just slept on them! The blanket was some old sky blue color that looked like something my grandmother might have on her bed. The alarm clock was broken and everything just looked old and worn. The noise out on the street was very loud. The internet connection was not available for a few hours in the morning which is when my husband needed it for work! We were just very disappointed all the way around. This hotel should not charge any more than 50-60 bucks a night. We will not be coming back here again.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.