We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location location location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wasilla, Alaska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Location location location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here and would stay again. That said we had set up an early check in, and confirmed with the hotel that we would be on the same floor as our cheer team via phone and booking.com. This was not true upon arrival and not only were we assigned the incorrect floor but we were unable to check in until 4:30 so late after travelling all night with my 80+ year old grandfather. What saved the hotel is that after some go around with an obnoxious front desk girl, we had someone else fix it and put us on the correct floor, plus upgrade us. Without that this review would have a very different tone. Rooms on the fourth floor were gorgeous, maids did a good job, and location simply cannot be beat. Parking worked well for us, and was very handy in the area. Pool does not get the best sun but no one stays here for the pool and there was an elevated area you could get a bit more sun in. We had apple scooter deliver a couple scooters and they were super prompt, and handy to get around for elderly family members. Convention center is literally a block away! The restaurant/bar downstairs is a gem with great employees, delicious food, and drinks. The convenience store next door is very handy for extended trips as well.

Room Tip: 4th floor rooms have higher ceilings and seem to be maintained better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    471
    202
    81
    75
See reviews for
950
108
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mermaid Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Check in was great, location was awesome. So close to everything. Conveniant service station next door to top up your water and snacks for the day in Disneyland. The room was really nice. Kids suite was fabulous for the boys.

We could easily walk to the parks each day. Took us about 8mins with a 5 and 9 year old.

Bad things, its very noisy all day and night. Parents allow their ankle biters to make so much noise day and night. There is running up and down the hallways, yelling, screaming, crying and slammaing doors to the their rooms. The bed was so close to the door you could hear everything going on outside. Our last night we heard a huge argument going on next door. Oh dear, not good. Maybe we were put in a bad location but the noise was not good. Smell of stinky nappies occassionally as there was just not enough air in the hallway where our room was.

The breakfast was not good either. You get what you pay for and I know its mostly included for everyone who stays there. The eggs would have bounced off the concrete had I thrown them. The only nice thing here is the toast. Too many dirty fingered children were allowed to help themselves to things so it was just a total turnoff really. I read a lot of reviews on here about this hotel and the breakfast and they lived up to the reputation. Its only minor really and did not ruin our stay.

Staff were fab and gave us a late checkout on our last day for free due to a member of our party being ill/

All in all a good experience for us and a good alternative but make sure you ask for a room where it may have less traffic from thoughtless people who don't consider anyone else who may be trying to have a bit of piece and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in a quiet part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Great place to stay , great location , great rooms , awesome suite .
The reception had very rude people but other than that all good . Disney land was close , 7:11 close by . The staff needs to be more friendly & get customer service training . Thanks

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Friendly staff.Check-In was a breeze, complimentary parking, complimentary breakfast buffet, complimentary wi-fi. about a 10 minute walk to Disneyland. Great experience, CLEAN rooms, nice space -seperate living and sleeping space, makes for nice time to relax with hubby while kids knock out. Room was always clean when we got back from Disney. Great hotel will be back for such a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Nice Place, very friendly Staff, nice pool, free parking, nice rooms but the family suite was rather small, the included breakfast was also not very good, but overall priced very well & is an excellent location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Stayed in a bunk room. It was great for a family of four. Easy walking distance to Disneyland and the complimentary buffet breakfast was a bonus! Loads of restaurants close by for a quick snack or meal.

Room Tip: Bunk rooms were good for a family of 4 as it was nice for the kids to have a rest in their own beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

I stayed here in March with family after reading the positive reviews online. We were very pleased with our stay. The staff were friendly and helpful and even gave us a room upgrade which was a pleasant surprise and worked out better for us overall. One of the housekeepers even went out of her way to direct and help us find our room which was greatly appreciated. The room was very clean and nice - two comfortable queen beds, sunken living room and a nice bathroom with a fan that actually cleared the steam, from the shower, quickly so you could use the mirror right away. There was plenty of drawer and closet space, two T.V.'s, which we didn't use, a microwave and refrigerator. They thought of just about everything you would need for a home away from home. It was about a ten minute walk away from the Disneyland Park entrance. The free breakfast was wonderful and the variety of choices was great. This room was also clean and tidy. To avoid the crowds get there between 6:30AM and 7:00AM and enjoy the sunrise:) I will definitely stay here again and recommend it highly to anyone traveling to the Anaheim area.

Room Tip: We had room 355 and it was away from the pool area and was pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.