We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay while visiting Disneyland!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #19 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to stay while visiting Disneyland!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

This hotel was a fantastic place to stay while on a week long tip to southern california and Disneyland. It's a very quick - 5-10 minute walk to Disneyland itself which helps quite a bit. Free parking was great and the free breakfast was quite good as well. The rooms that we stayed in were satisfactory and great for a place to sleep in at night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    471
    202
    81
    75
See reviews for
950
108
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a business trip while attending an event at the Anaheim Convention Center. Great location -- 10 minute walk to the convention center. Room and bath were clean. Nothing fancy -- basic room with comfortable beds and additional sofa and table with chairs (very basic and not so comfortable). Small suite type accommodation suitable for a family. Small refrigerator and microwave. Good coffee for sale in the lobby bar in the morning. Water with fruit available in the lobby all day -- very nice. Breakfast provided but I did not try that. Would definitely stay here again. Quiet hotel preferable to most of the motel type accommodations nearby.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

Our main criteria for a hotel for our Disneyland stay was a place within walking distance of Disneyland, had a free breakfast and free parking, all at a reasonable price. We also wanted a place that had a room with a separate kid's bedroom (for my daughter and grand-daughter) and a room with a king size bed for us. I researched many hotels near Disneyland and this was the only one that offered both free breakfast and free parking. It was just a 10 minute walk to Disneyland so it was very easy. The rooms were nice and quiet, the bed was fine and we slept soundly all three nights we stayed. We appreciated the helpfulness of the front desk staff when we had special requests. They were friendly and helpful to meet our needs. We would definitely stay again. We have stayed at many hotels near Disneyland and this is the first one I can say I would visit again.

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter, away from the pool and if your are on the 5th floor, you may get to see th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Discovery Bay, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

We had a wonderful vacation with our grandchildren. The stay at the Desert Palms was great
The rooms were clean and the service was great.
It was only a short walk to the Disneyland Park. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a master suite and a room for the kids It was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prince Albert, Canada
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

I have stayed at 3 different hotels for our Disney family trips and this year we tried out the Desert Palms. I lasted half an hour before deciding that if I stayed here my week would be ruined. I walked into our room and felt like I was staying in a basement suite, It was extremely dark and dingy. I probably could have handled the room, if the pool was acceptable, but it was extremely small, the perimeter wasn't very wide, and the towers surrounded the pool area made it feel even more cramped. The hotel itself is in desperate need of a renovation. On a positive note the staff was friendly and helpful. The front desk did show me other rooms to see if they were brighter, and when I decided to check out they were very accomadating. Also,The Desert Palms is at least a 10-15 minute walk so if you like to run to the pool to escape the crowds in the afternoon, it would feel like a chore.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Great place to stay. Walk to Disneyland without much effort. Gave us a heckuva deal, better than close, comparable places. Breakfast (not continental) was a bonus, so it made the deal even better. Staff, custodial, everyone there was very friendly and helpful. Rooms were always cleaned and a pleasure to come back to after a full day of magic. I've been to Anaheim many times and this is the best place, value and everything, I've stayed. Look forward to staying there again. Even their follow-up after we got home was commendable. 5 stars without hesitation. You should check it out.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel. Avoid those other services.I used the services, then found I got a bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel inside the rooms is very old.
Had to use thongs in the shower to feel comfortable. Bed was comfortable. Approx 10 min walk to disneyland. Free breakfast a plus. Customer service were young women who were not friendly and seemed more interested in chatting to others than helping guests.
I would stay elsewhere when I returned, there has to be something better for the money.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.