We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the place to stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 114 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Milan, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the place to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

My family had been planning this trip to Disneyland since my daughter was born. She is now 6 and I thought this would be the best memory she could ever experience. I wanted the best possible vacation along with great value. I read up on my reviews on many different sites. I have to say that the reviews where in the middle for this place. I will tell you this place is 4 1/2 stars. It started with a free up grade to a suite for my family! This was amazing and I appreciate this from Parveen! The facilities were clean and safe on site. Moreover, it is safe and close in walking to the Disney Parks during day and night. We walked every day back and forth and felt safe. I would stay there everything time I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    638
    500
    212
    84
    77
See reviews for
998
111
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santee, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Have stayed at your hotel several times but wanted to try something a little closer to the Disney entrance! Choose the Anaheim desert inn, worst mistake ever! Horrible customer service! We have always had great interactions with the staff at your hotel! We will be making a reservation with you for our next Disney trip!!!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

This has now been our 5th trip to Disneyland and 4th time in a row staying at Desert Palms Hotel & Suites! It has been a very nice clean place to stay with great breakfast buffet! It is a short walk to the resort which is a bonus! All Staff members are very friendly, front desk very professional, and the housekeeping does a very outstanding job cleaning the rooms! I would recommend this place to stay and will continue to stay here for our trips!

Room Tip: I would say any room is good! Not much noise at night time probably because all kids are worn out fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Hotel was very clean. Loved the water in the lobby.

Most of the customer service was good, however sometimes it seemed they weren't listening to our requests, just quoting from a list of responses. The lady in the gift shop was really nice and helpful. Be wary of the timeshare salespeople in the lobby.

Getting run down - needs a proper renovation rather than a coat of paint.

Walls between rooms must be quite thin as we could hear everything going on next door.

Breakfast was just okay but there aren't really any healthy options - we ended up eating breakfast elsewhere most days.

For the price, there are better hotels in the Anaheim area, so I recommend shopping around.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location and that's it. The room rate was expensive for the kind of room we had. The breakfast selections were all unhealthy, the carpet has an old smell, the pool is small and although they tidy the room everyday the shower fixture was really bad. The fridge was making some noise and it's the smell of the carpet that's really bad. Won't come back to this hotel ever.

Room Tip: Room 427 is the Borrego suite and was quite.
See more room tips
Green Features: Didn't see anything in the hotel to share in this aspect.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

As we learned the hard way this past week, if you book a standard room, there is no such thing as a room with a view. Did I expectr a room with panoramic views of Disney or Anaheim, not at all, but i also di not expect the room to have a view of the stairwell well 10 feet from the window. We did ask the desk to move our room, te response was we could have the same view but one floor down (no thanks) or a room 1 floor down with a slightly better view. The slightly better view consisted of a room 1 floor above a parking lot and facing the wall of another building.

Sadly, this seems to be a property that knows it's proximity to disney guarantees high occupancy rates that they don't feel the need to invest in keeping the property up to date. Lots of very old funriture in the rooms, bathrooms in need of repair and elevators that don't go to all of the floors (this is only a 5 floor hotel).

Room Tip: Regular rooms have no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My family enjoyed the time in the area and the hotel hospitality was part of it. The staff members are willing to help you. Room was a little noisy, but nothing too serious. My family enjoyed the time in the area, and the hotel hospitality was part of it.

Room Tip: The kids enjoyed the Yuha Kids Suite very much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#17 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Hotwire so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.