We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for Disney” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off + Free Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
south yorkshire
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great location for Disney”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We were upgraded to a room with 2 bedrooms 4 queen size beds and 2 bathrooms. More space than we needed but not complaining as it meant we weren't under each other's feet. Beds extremely comfortable. Rooms cleaned regularly
Staff were extremely helpful at all times
If this hotel has anything that let's it down then it's the pool size which they can't do much about. Plus the breakfast which they can do something about.
Food is poor and they could take into consideration that not all folk staying at this hotel have small children in tow and perhaps have an adult only eating are
That said we would stay here again. Location wise it's brilliant

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    605
    471
    202
    81
    75
See reviews for
950
108
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (363)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Layton, Utah, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We recently had a good stay at Desert Palms. In fact, we didn't complain once. Our room was nice. It was a suite where the kids room had a wall and bunk beds (TV on kids wall). It was clean and comfortable. The breakfast was about what we expected. It wasn't great, however, it wasn't bad either. I guess if I had one compliant it would be that the cafeteria was often jam packed in the mornings. They opened a room down the hall to accommodate everyone, which was nice.

We took our 8 and 5 year old and brought no stroller. We didn't think we'd need it. This made for some long walks back to the hotel carrying tired kids. It's about .5 miles to the entrance of the parks, and then you're walking all over all day long. We had to carry the 5 year old a lot. In hindsight we should have rented a stroller.

Anyways, there's a 7-11 next door to the hotel and a Subway across the street. There's a Cheesecake Factory, PF Chang's, and California Pizza (and a few others) maybe .5 miles in a different direction from the parks. We drove to those restaurants during our mid day break. You can get your parking validated when you eat.

We'll easily stay at Desert Palms in the future. The staff were very hospitable.

This was our favorite Disney area hotel in the three trips we've made in the last 5 years. We also stayed at the Staybridge and Fairfield Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This hotel was exactly what I expected. It's not perfect but it ticks a lot of boxes if you're looking for good value Disneyland accommodation. First the positives, the location is nice and close to Disney, they have family suites with separate rooms for kids, there's a decent pool, the staff are very helpful and it's good value for money. The downsides are that although the breakfast is free, it's pretty terrible, the rooms are not very spacious and our room was slightly musty. Still, the positives far outweigh the negatives and I'd stay here again if I was visiting Disney.

Room Tip: We were in 318 and the view out of our balcony was of the carpark, so there may be better views else...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights with our 10 year old twin boys in a Yuhu kids room. The stay was great. The kids loved having a separate room to us with a bunk and there own television and air conditioner. The room was spacious and clean. There was a small fridge to store drink bottles and things in and the room had a safe. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to Disneyland, so it was easy to return during the day and change clothes and take a break. The buffet breakfast was not bad. Not too many options, but some hot foods, cereal, waffles, toast, fruit and donuts. The service staff were not great, at one time I stood at the counter (with another gentleman) and we were ignored by at least two staff members. (A little acknowledgement goes a long way!) Overall, wer would recommend a stay at this hotel for a family or anyone who wants to be close to Disneyland.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to choose a family room if you have kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Just got here and for what I paid, it is not worth it. Room is very small and old. Slight musty smell. Noisy cooler. Pool is small. Not at all what it looked like on the website. Ten dollar resort fee. So disappointed. I paid a lot for this room. Never again. Could someone help me out and tell me a reasonably priced hotel not too far from the park that is worth it? Thanks.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Templeton, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We have stayed in several hotels around Disneyland and this one was one of the best for the money. Plus FREE parking! It took less than 10 minutes to walk to Disneyland and there were several national chain restaurants within walking distance. A 7/11 on the corner was handy for buying snacks and water.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

This place has some good qualities. Close to Disneyland and restaurants. Free breakfast (not the best, but it's free). Friendly and helpful staff. I love the cucumber water in the lobby. The pool is not great, but my kids swam in it every day while we were here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#19 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.