We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #12 of 111 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Stockton, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent 5 days and the first 2 days we weren't thrilled with our 2nd floor room but after speaking to Jenny the night desk clerk (who was Great) we were able to get an upgrade to a suite. And that is what I call great service. We enjoyed the rest of our vacation and wish there were more Jennys' out there.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,306 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    556
    427
    181
    72
    70
See reviews for
850
96
12
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Just had 8 nights here as family of 5 (kids 11, 9 and 7). We had the Yuha kids suite which was ok as we didn't spend that much time in it except for sleeping but once the fold out couch was opened, not much room left. Nice and clean, comfy beds. Front desk staff were very helpful and courteous. Breakfast buffet a little disappointing. Not a lot of choice, high in sugar. It was ok though as lots of eating places very close by. 711 next door. Pool area is a definite plus. Pool sheltered by hotel walls surrounding and very warm. Laudromat on few floors, only 2 washers and dryers though in each. Our room had a small balcony which looked over back car park but had a view of fire works. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach, Hawaii
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I loved EVERYTHING about this resort! As soon as I stepped out of the elevator and took a deep breath, I knew I was going to enjoy my stay and be comfortable. I work in a sterile part of a hospital and the smell of the hotel was sooo clean! That's how I judge a hotel's cleanliness. The room was the same, clean. We had excellent maid service the whole time we were there. She would display our son's newly acquired stuffed toy on his bed. It was a wonderful surprise and an exciting time for our son coming back to our suite after a long day of sightseeing and visiting theme parks. The maid in charge of our room (343) was outstanding. She provided excellent service from 6/16 through 6/20. I wish she could be recognize for her hard work. You get more than your money's worth. Everyone in the hotel are very friendly and hardworking. I was also amazed at the ladies who tended the complimentary continental breakfast each morning. These girls were on it! Always busy (and friendly at the same time) wiping the tables for the next guest, refilling the food, juice, etc. The location of the resort is perfect. It's close to Disneyland, eating places, freeways. Disneyland was the last leg of our trip. We started in Vegas and stayed at the circus/circus. That was a disappointment. I will never stay at that filthy hotel again! So it was a amazing to end our vacation on a happy note by staying at the Desert Palms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plain City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We just came back from a Disney vacation and spent 7 days at the Desert Palms Hotel. We were a large group with 13 people staying here. We rented a 15 passenger van for everyone to travel in.

Upon arrival Saturday I noticed the parking for the van was terrible. Their parking terrace below ground only allows vehicles with a clearance of 6'7" Our van was 7' so we had no choice but to park in the above parking. Each time we left with the van it was a gamble if we would have a place to park when we returned. They should require compact cars to park underground to allow for the larger vehicles enough parking up top. Also there were many large bus vehicles parked in no parking zones by the entrance so we often had to squeeze through with only inches to spare. There were also cars parked in no parking zones along the sides making it very difficult to maneuver through the lot. One night we came in late and ended up spending 15 minutes squeezing into the only spot left in the back of the parking lot. There was plenty of parking underground for vehicles.

The room was another problem. They were on the second floor in the low 200's numbers. The mattresses were foam and felt like a giant sponge, the pillows were terrible and the bedding sheets were marginal. I ended up using a jacket I brought as a pillow. My 9 year old son squirmed all night and I asked him what was wrong and he said the beds were uncomfortable. The heating and air unit sat next to the bed so if the room was hot and you turned on the air the person on the bed next to the circulation unit froze. The sink and mirror are inside the bathroom making it difficult for anyone else to get ready if the bathroom is in use. The sink had a sewage odor coming from it. One of the other guests in our group noticed the same thing in their room as well. The door from the bathroom hits the door to the closet. It also hits anyone standing in that area trying to get ready or getting into the refrigerator. We also noticed as we were walking on the carpet in the room it felt like there were small holes/divots underneath the carpet that were not patched properly. I assume this was from previous remodels. The road outside the hotel clearly sounded like a race track every morning and it looked like they were building a new hotel across the street. I'm sure the building going on there will continue for many months as they were digging the foundation out with heavy equipment. The sounds passing through to us were mainly emanating from the AC unit. There was a nicely folded elephant on the bed the kids loved when we arrived. Aside from all the other problems the room did appear to be very clean which is always a nice touch.

The kids used the pool only one time and it was freezing cold. They only stayed in a few minutes. One of the little girls that was in our group had purple lips after she got out she was so cold. There were adequate amounts of towels at the pool.

The lobby was very nice and we really appreciated the Ice water they had on hand for everyone to use as we came in from long days at Disneyland. On our first day there we were sucked into talking to a Wyndham time share rep that was right in the lobby falsely claiming the hotel was giving some guests free lunches. Fortunately we recognized what this was before we completely signed up. They claim over and over its not a time share they just want you to tour their new facility and take 2 hours to view their presentation. They should not even allow these leaches into the hotel facility. The allow them to have a very official looking desk area right in the lobby of the hotel. Just remember no such thing as a free lunch here. I didn't expect this kind of activity going on right in our hotel lobby. It reflects poorly on the Desert Palms.

The location is convenient for the bus stop that runs up to Disneyland and it comes by every 5 minutes just across the main drive from the hotel area. You have to watch out for the street people because of this. One morning the lady sleeping on the bench decided it was time to go. She urinated all over the parking lot as she leaned on the back of a car, causing the car alarm to go off. This was in full view of our entire group. I'm just glad our children didn't see it. Not a very magical memory I wanted from this trip. There is also minor shopping areas right next door to the hotel as well. 7/11 and ABC convenience store came in handy for buying bottled water, supplies or Disney memorabilia. You can also walk to Coco's and Tiffany's just up the street. We found Coco's so good and reasonably priced we ate there for four meals.

The breakfast was the best. I suspect this is where the hotel gains its popularity. It was well supplied and had a great variety of selections. Make your own waffles, sausage, juice, milk, coffee, pastries, scrambled eggs, fruit, oatmeal, biscuits and gravy, cereal, oatmeal. I have to admit eating the same items for breakfast every day did get old by the time we left but it did the job keeping us full for the morning activities.

Overall the hotel was a nice and clean facility but because of all the minor problems with it we will not stay there again and cannot recommend anyone else stay there either.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Our stay at the Desert Palms in room 447 was great. The front desk staff were extremely accommodating, from ordering us a taxi to looking online for the nearest sushi restaurant, to just being a very friendly staff, always willing to please. The person responsible for cleaning our room was also wonderful. Every day after being out, we came back to a very clean and organized room.

We have two sons 22 and 24, so breakfast worked out very well for us as they can eat a lot. They both loved the waffle machine, as I’m sure many of the guests will agree. Personally I enjoy porridge with a bit of brown sugar and pineapple on top. I will also say that the coffee was excellent!

We will definitely recommend this hotel and if we are in the area again, we would stay there. It’s a great location, only a few minutes walk to Disneyland.

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th Floor are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Payson, Utah
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My experiences with the hotel staff and their wonderful Group Reservation Representative, Julie Gomez, was such a treat!!! We had a lot of details with over 23 rooms and a lot of changes...all workable with such a great staff. From the wonderful breakfast in the morning, to the wheelchair availability for our needs....let us just say it was great!!!! I had already recommended the hotel to another big group before we even made it to the hotel, just from dealing with Julie and the staff!!! I will probably be bringing my whole troop back again as we do this every two years with a group from 45 to 75 people!!! Thank you again for making our family feel so welcome and at home..

From Jo Benson and the Benson Clan

Room Tip: Please get a queen two bedroom , as it the most accommodating...
See more room tips
Green Features: clean and the well kept up...the ability to keep your towels and beds the same for a couple of days, I like...we do not need to use so much detergent and water to do it every day...the biodegradable items are something that I value!!!
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daly City, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As a family, we have been staying at the Desert Palms for well over 15 years. We have watched it grow from a small 2 story motel to the wonderful property it is today. The staff is always very courteous and tends to our every needs. If ever there is a problem, they are very quick to remedy it. The past 5 years, we have had an 8th grade graduation trip to DIsneyland and group sales has been a tremendous help in the organizing of all the guests. They make me look good and I always get positive feed back from the parents. Thank you for always making our graduation celebration a huge success!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#13 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.