We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 113 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel for families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

The room with bunk beds in a separate room was great with two teenage boys. The room had everything we needed, was quiet and was spotlessly clean. The breakfast which was included was complete with something for everyone. We enjoyed the small but nice pool. Disneyland was a short walk away. Staff was friendly and helpful. Also, there is no extra charge for parking which can be expensive at some of the hotels. There is a restaurant/bar on site with a limited menu but prices are reasonable.

Room Tip: Our room was at the end of the hall on the 5th floor where the breakfast room is, so it was very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    498
    212
    83
    77
See reviews for
992
110
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Very good value for the price. Rooms easily accommodated a family of 5. Very clean and well appointed. Bunk bed was a big hit with the kids, and the ability to close the door on the kids room was perfect. Fridge and microwave were great for keeping leftovers or snacking at odd hours. Convenience store and 7/11 right beside. Short walk to Disney, without having to cross any major streets, and close to the Disney transportation hub if you wanted to adventure off site. Pool and hot tub were clean and well kept. Staff were great! Concierge was very helpful. Also, I had left something in the room at checkout, and the hotel manager packaged it up and helped me FedEx it home. She really went out of her way and I appreciate it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The staff was so amazingly friendly! The room was updated and immaculate! With four kids the morning complimentary breakfast buffet was the perfect start to our Disney Day! Will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herriman, UT
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had a great experience with Desert Palms. We were there for Disneyland and had a very short walk to the park. The rooms were clean (nothing special to them) and housekeeping came everyday to clean and change linens, and the daily breakfast was good. All the staff we interacted with (reservations, front desk, housekeeping) were very friendly and helpful. I recommend this hotel if you are looking for a good price with decent accomadations. We will definitely stay there again on our next trip to the Happiest Place on Earth.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

The staff at this hotel is one of the best I have ever come across. Very friendly and accomodating, even during very busy times of the day. The breakfast is great! the rooms are nice and spacious. It is such a quick walk to Disneyland it made it very easy.

Room Tip: Choose the Borrengo Suite. It has your beds then a step down area with a small living room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We arrived early, however it wasn't a problem for the staff. Everyone was very courteous and helpful at all times. Main entrance area and room were very clean.

For a family wishing to visit Disneyland, this is the best location. You can wall to the Disneyland entrance from the hotel. It's even close enough to come back from the part for a short rest before the evening parade.

Parking is a little tight, but considering how close you are to the Disneyland park it's well worth the effort.

A small mall is within comfortable walking distance. Quite a few good restaurants are withing a couple of blocks driving distance.

A good experience

Room Tip: Back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Resort (more like a hotel) is around the corner from entrance to Disneyland, Cali Adventure and Downtown Disney. Took us about 10 mins or 20 min round trips to get from the Palms to the parks. There are many hotels farther away and several closer too. Room was outdated, but comfortable and cleaned each day. outside pool was nice and warm at night. Breakfast is good, but recommend eating before the crowds of families show up. Between 7 and 8 am seemed to be best time to eat. Parking was free at the Palms and you can park underground which is nice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.