We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay if you are visiting Disneyland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #15 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Prince George, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent place to stay if you are visiting Disneyland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We were very impressed with the service, cleanliness and the breakfasts we received at this hotel. I also got up in the mornings and used the exercise room which was very nice. Just a nice walk to Disneyland and back no problem with our 3 yr. old grandson in a stroller.

Room Tip: The only complaint I had about the room is one of our bathrooms in the adjoining room we got was ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,341 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    571
    437
    182
    78
    73
See reviews for
886
98
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

On arrival to Desert Palms we were made to feel very welcome and kindly upgraded to a Kuha Kids Suite at no extra cost. It was great to have an 8-10 minute walk to both Disney parks which meant we could get there for opening times. The room was great, the pool a godsend for the kids after a day at the parks and we were close to many if the local restaurants and Downtown Disney. Easy to park our hire car also. The only negative would be the breakfast, which although plentiful was a little bland or 'manufactured' but given what we were paying for the room, a nice bonus.
This is a good hotel at great value.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My husband, four growing children and I stayed here for a week to do the Disneyland thing. Desert palms is very comfortable for a family our size. We had two rooms with two queen beds each and most importantly two showers/toilets. This accommodation is located 10 minutes easy walk to Disneyland. We used to walk home from Disneyland to enjoy a lovely relaxing spa or swim in the pool. I felt that the hotel was so big and had such a high turnover of customers that there wasnt a lot of personalisation (we were just the customers in room 315!) - but that was fine. Coin laundry on our floor was convenient. The maid service starts too early. A couple of times we returned from breakfast and the maid was already fixing our room. Breakfast, what can I say......you get what you pay for. Coming from Australia my kids were really looking forward to the American breakfast experience. After just one experience they were crushed. Orange juice (as sweet as cordial), toaster (doesnt work properly), waffles (no taste), eggs/sausages (dont even go there) , and I cant even comment on the fruit loops and chocolate doughnuts. In summary, stay here for the comfortable beds, hot showers and convenience of Disneyland NOT the breakfast.

Room Tip: Dont get a room on Level 5 - the breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We recently undertook our fourth visit to the Desert Palms Hotel and Suites. We are a family of two adults and two children (5 and 8 years) and find the Desert Palms a nice 10-12 minute walk from Disneyland Resort (although people with older children or teenages could cover the distance quicker).
We stayed in a Borrego Suite which provided that additional space for the kids to play in as well as a seperate bed for each child. The free breakfast provided lots of hot and cold options (great for fussy children) and the free wifi allowed us to keep in touch with home.
Didn't get to play in the pool on this visit but we have enjoyed it in the past. During our last visit plenty of other guests appeared to be having heaps of fun.
The staff are very helpful and friendly and the gift shop on the ground floor has items at very reasonable prices. Having a 'Seven Eleven' store next door was very handy as well. Across the road are a number of eateries and the Cheesecake Factory is just a 10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: The Borrego Suite provides families with just that extra bit of space (for all those Disney souvenir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in a Sahara Suite, which has a fully equipped kitchen. The first night we stayed in a room that faced onto the road. It was very noisy, so we asked to be moved the next morning. Staff were very accommodating and our new room faced inside into the pool area. No noise except the usual of people going to and from their rooms, but as mostly families stay here there was no late night noise. Walking distance to Disneyland and several restaurants including Bubba Gump's, IHOP, Denny's & other fast food outlets. Right next door is 7eleven & Alamo Car Hire. Breakfast was fairly average, except the waffle making machine which the kids (15 & 12yrs) loved. They did have scrambled eggs and some American breakfast favourite called "biscuits and gravy" which we stayed away from. Toast, donuts, pastries & cereals, juice & coffee. Can't complain as it was included with our accommodation booking. Good value family hotel.

Room Tip: Request an inwards (pool) facing room, not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wasilla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We all enjoyed our stay, the front desk staff was very friendly. It is a close walk to Disney & the convention center. We will stay again next year, the kids loved the pool area & it was great to have a restaurant/bar area in the hotel though I think it should stay open later in the evening. The breakfast was great for the kids but I think it should be open later as well. Overall a great experience!!

Room Tip: Close walk to Disney & to the convention center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Only thing that may need improvement is the complimentary breakfast. Not the healthiest cereals and the oatmeal was much too runny.
Great location for walking to the Park even with small kids.
Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a smoking deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#25 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, getaroom.com and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.