We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value family accommodation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good value family accommodation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed in a Sahara Suite, which has a fully equipped kitchen. The first night we stayed in a room that faced onto the road. It was very noisy, so we asked to be moved the next morning. Staff were very accommodating and our new room faced inside into the pool area. No noise except the usual of people going to and from their rooms, but as mostly families stay here there was no late night noise. Walking distance to Disneyland and several restaurants including Bubba Gump's, IHOP, Denny's & other fast food outlets. Right next door is 7eleven & Alamo Car Hire. Breakfast was fairly average, except the waffle making machine which the kids (15 & 12yrs) loved. They did have scrambled eggs and some American breakfast favourite called "biscuits and gravy" which we stayed away from. Toast, donuts, pastries & cereals, juice & coffee. Can't complain as it was included with our accommodation booking. Good value family hotel.

Room Tip: Request an inwards (pool) facing room, not on the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    581
    445
    187
    79
    73
See reviews for
904
102
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wasilla
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We all enjoyed our stay, the front desk staff was very friendly. It is a close walk to Disney & the convention center. We will stay again next year, the kids loved the pool area & it was great to have a restaurant/bar area in the hotel though I think it should stay open later in the evening. The breakfast was great for the kids but I think it should be open later as well. Overall a great experience!!

Room Tip: Close walk to Disney & to the convention center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is very clean and the staff couldn't be more helpful. Only thing that may need improvement is the complimentary breakfast. Not the healthiest cereals and the oatmeal was much too runny.
Great location for walking to the Park even with small kids.
Thanks for everything.

Room Tip: We booked early and got a smoking deal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Incredibly noisy. I cannot emphasize this enough! Got up in the night thinking my kids were crying but it was not my child. The maids woke us up to clean room very early too.
The breakfast is terrible! I could barely choke down the food. Bread for toast was not edible. My kids even thought the fruit loop cereal tasted gross. Never a free table it is so crowded.
The walk feels very long after a full day at the park. Took a $6 cab ride back twice. Pool small and always full.
Had kids yuha suite which the kids loved but couldn't keep their door closed as AC was in their room. The room felt so small! Sun coming through shutters woke my kids up every morning.
Toilet made horrible water chugging sound for hours after flushing.
Surprised at lack of channel choices/ kids channels.
I called specifically asking for a taxi twice and was given a person driving a black car who tells us inflated prices. Airport ride was $10 more back than coming and it was a way faster that trip, if I was in a taxi it would have been cheaper.
Hotel seemed clean, except for the mold around the ring of the toilet I could see when having a bath, gross!! Bed was maybe one step up from the floor, sheets and towels cheap and rough feeling.
I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 6 nights during our Disney trip. We were given a beautiful suite with a great view of DCA. Front desk staff was very friendly. Breakfast was always crowded, but they don't have much controll over that. Pretty close walk to Disney. We could have stayed closer, but we would have had to comprise quality.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

When we arrived the staff were very friendly and obliging. Our room was not ready, but we could leave our luggage there. We had a room with two queen beds and there was a separate area with a tv, sofa, chair and coffee table. You could pull a heavy curtain across the area to separate it from the bedroom. Breakfast at the hotel was quite basic. Mainly sweet items although there were powered scrambled eggs and cereal. We requested a taxi to be ordered for us and they provided a mini van at the same cost we had anticipated for the taxi. Most of the places to eat around the area are burgers and pizzas. We ate at Denny's which is across the road from the main gates at Disneyland. Here there was a variety of meals at very reasonable prices. The only bugbear was they only provided one coffee sachet for two people and it was not replaced. We had rooms which looked out towards Disneyland and we could see some of the fireworks from our window.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We stayed at this hotel on a family vacation with my husbands side of the family and had total of 15 of us. This was the best priced hotel that we could find that could accommodate all of us and our needs.
We stayed in the Kids suite with the king bed and my kids loved having a their own room with their own bunk beds. However, the rooms seemed really dark and smelled somewhat musty AND one night there was a cockroach on my pillow!! You could not leave on the bathroom light without the loud bathroom fan being on as well, which was kind of annoying because i like to leave on the bathroom light at night, just in case my kids get up and need to find their way around a unfamiliar place. They also have weird placing of outlets ( like by where your child lays there head on the wall of where the bunk beds are). Housekeeping wasnt very thorough and never replaced any soaps and they left towels thrown on the floor.. they replaced them but i guess just never picked up the old ones. With that being said, if you plan to stay here you may want to take your own night light and outlet covers if your child likes to find trouble. The breakfast was okay. i felt that the stairs up to the top bunk was a much safer choice than the ladder, so i really loved that! and the walk to disneyland wasnt bad either
Overall, i probably wouldnt recommend this hotel nor would i stay here again UNLESS i was traveling with a large group of people on a budget.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#14 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#21 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.