We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable hotel in the middle of everything in Anaheim” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #21 of 115 Hotels in Anaheim
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Reasonable hotel in the middle of everything in Anaheim”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights as part of a convention at the Anaheim convention center. The convention center is about a 5 minute walk, and I believe it would be a reasonable walk to the Disneyland gate too. The room was on the small size, but it's adequate and clean. The hotel internet service was OK, as was the free breakfast (although the breakfast room was overrun by families with screaming kids, which shouldn't surprise anyone, so I generally ate out on the terrace, which was fine too). Service was pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    502
    215
    86
    78
See reviews for
1,011
112
13
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (395)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Desert Palms Early Feb 2013. It's an easy 8 min walk to Disneyland and California Adventure. The staff was very friendly and very accommodating. The free breakfast was good, buffet style. 7/11 is next door, we would stop each morning and load up on snacks and drinks for the day, just don't buy a drink in glass as they don't allow glass in the parks. I would recommend this hotel and would stay again. I booked our room direct with the hotel and it was very easy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We got a very comfortable room with a King bed. Our daughter and grandson got a larger room with queen beds. Our other requests were for a coffee maker, microwave, fridge and free parking. Even the swimming pool and spa were heated in March!! The hot breakfast provided something for each of us. The area was clean and continually restocked. Their restaurant The Sandbox Bar and Grill has great and reasonably priced food! All this within a 10 minute walk to Disneyland!!

Room Tip: Put your adult children and your grandkids in another non-adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Desert Palms. It was our first trip to Disneyland and I read all the reviews of the various hotels in the area and settled on this one. I am very glad I did. The hotel was clean and the staff were friendly. We stayed in one of the kids suites (our boys are 5 and 2) and there was plenty of room for all of us. It was nice to be able to put the kids to bed and close a door and my husband and I could stay up a little while longer and regroup.
The continental breakfast, which is included, was great each day. There was always hot and cold choices and the selection varied each day which was nice. The staff in the breakfast room were quick to keep the eating area clean. We also enjoyed two meals at the in-hotel restaurant. The staff at the Sandbox Grille were friendly and attentive and the food was served quickly and tasted great.
The pool area was never overly crowded and I saw staff cleaning the pool every day we were there.
I know that previous reviews had complained about noise, but we found the hotel quiet, and there were many families with little ones.
As others have noted, the parking is tight, but really once you arrive you have no need to move your car unless you are traveling outside the Disney area.
This being our first trip to Disneyland, we see no reason to search for a different hotel next time we visit. This was an excellent choice for the price and for the location. The park was literally a 7 minute walk as was the Garden District with a variety of eatery locations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crossville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Our stay was very pleasant, made even more so by the wonderful customer service provided by their staff at the front desk. The room was very clean and comfortable. There was plenty of room for the 3 of us. I appreciated the microwave and fridge very much. The breakfast was always hot and provided many choices. It was also convenient to the Convention Center and local attractions, too. And there were many quality restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Love this hotel, friendly staff and great location. Clean and great breakfast! Wish there was better parking but a big bus was there at same time, an employee actually gave up her spot for me.....was GREAT! Wish I could stay more often!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Our family of 4 injoyed our stay. The very friendly staff answered questions when we had them. The suite we were in was very clean and roomy. Also very convenient with microwave and mini fridge. Perfect for warming and storing bottles for my 9 month old son. And leftover dinner from the night before. I was also impressed with their breakfast, it was a great fresh selection of different things you could pick from. That was perfect for my picky 2 year old daughter! Overall we had a wonderful stay and a great time!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#6 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#18 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#28 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.