We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, and lots of extras” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Free Hot Breakfast + 10%
Ranked #13 of 112 hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, friendly, and lots of extras”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is older and I was a little concerned about cleanliness based on other reviews, but I took a chance and was very pleasantly surprised.
When we checked in the prices they had in their records were $30-$50 per night higher than what I had booked. I had a copy of my reservation email confirming the prices and they were quick to make the adjustment and upgrade me to a suite at no additional cost. The room included a fridge and microwave, was a good size, clean, and the beds were comfortable. I think my only complaint is that the towels were thin.
Included in my reservation was $30 worth of free food in the restaurant. When I checked in they not only upgraded my room and gave me the $30 coupons for free food, but they also gave me coupons for two free drinks, the password for free internet, a pass for free parking, and info on the free breakfast. The room did include a $9.95/day “resort” fee, but I did a lot of research and found nothing closer to Disneyland with parking, breakfast, and internet included.
We had drinks and dessert in the restaurant one night. It was very slow (business in the restaurant not the service), and we enjoyed talking with Russ, the friendly and knowledgeable bartender. The food and service was excellent as was the case when we went back for dinner a couple nights later.
The free breakfast was as good as any. It included fruit, yogurt, doughnuts, pastries, coffee, juice, eggs, bacon or sausage, cereals, and make your own waffles. It was very busy, but they did a good job keeping it clean and well stocked.
There is a convenience store right next door to the hotel which was very convenient for picking up water and snacks. The hotel is about a 10 minute brisk walk to the main entrance of Disneyland so we literally did not have to move our car or pay for any parking during our trip.
I had read reviews that complained about the walls being thin, but we only heard kids in another room one morning and it was no worse than you would experience in any hotel. Like many of the hotels near Disneyland, this is definitely and older property, but the staff is courteous and helpful and the rooms are clean so I think it is an excellent value and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    568
    436
    180
    77
    72
See reviews for
880
98
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Wendel, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This was my second stay at Desert Palms - both have been work trips. The hotel couldn't really be much closer to the Convention Center (it's only a brisk 5 minute walk away), so thumbs up there, and there are plenty of restaurants and stores within 10 minutes' walking distance.

The rooms are clean, bright and pleasant, with all the amenities you could need for a stay of up to a week or so, although this year I had one with windows that didn't open, so it got a little stuffy at times. The air conditioning was LOUD, too.

However, the complimentary breakfast was perfectly fine, the pool is a nice touch, and the staff were courteous, friendly and helpful at all times.

I would definitely recommend Desert Palms to other business travellers, and it's so close to Disney it's got to be great for that too. (And, on that note, although there were plenty of families on holiday when I was there, not once did I get woken up by screaming kids! Those walls must be thick.)

Ultimately, Desert Palms will be top of my hotel wish list should I return to Anaheim for either business or pleasure in the future, and you can't say better than that.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We had a wonderful time with family in Anaheim celebrating our sons Birthday and his first time at Disneyland. This Hotel is extremely accommodating and Desert Palms made this a very memorable trip. The rooms fit each different family unit and we had a blase. Recommend for anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Desert Palms 3 times and will not stay anywhere else. The location is prime to get to Disneyland, we love that the hotel sells bus tickets, and the bus drop off is right in front of the hotel. We love getting a suite, it gives our family plenty of room on our trip. The rooms are always immaculately clean, service is excellent, parking is easy and the free breakfast is an outstanding bonus to get our day started.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We have been going to Anaheim every year for 34 years. Each year seemed to be a toss-up of where to stay until we found this hotel. It is in the perfect location for everything Anaheim. Next door to Disney. Across the street from the convention center. A very short walk to the "boardwalk" area where there are numerous restaurants and entertainment facilities to occupy a night.
This hotel is very clean, the rooms are large and comfortable, and the hot continental breakfast has saved my family lots of money since we just eat breakfast at the hotel now. Oh, and the breakfast area is on the top floor so you can look out over Disney while you enjoy eggs and waffles.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in a bad room yet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our Family stayed at this hotel in December of 2012. The hotel was very clean. The room had a kids area with a bunkbed and a pull out sofa and for the adults there was two queen beds. The breakfast was not bad at all, all of the food was fresh. It was about a little under a 1/4 of a mile to walk but we did not have to cross the street. The hotel is right behind California Adventure land. The staff was very friendly and the gift shop was small but had everything you need. I thought the price was perfect for all of us a family of 7, 4 adults and three kids in one room. We will try a hotel a little closer next time but this location was not bad if you don't mind a little walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WEST SENECA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The best location, close walking distance to convention center and disneyland. It is alway clean and the staff is very friendly, the rooms our spacious and the free parking and breakfast really makes this the best value in Anahiem, the last time we stayed we got a free upgrade to a really nice suite!. This is alway our first choice when we visit Anaheim. We have stayed at most of the hotels in this area and they are the best by far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#13 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#26 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.