We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Desert Palms Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 112 Hotels in Anaheim
GreenLeadersBronze level
Woodland, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Our Family stayed at this hotel in December of 2012. The hotel was very clean. The room had a kids area with a bunkbed and a pull out sofa and for the adults there was two queen beds. The breakfast was not bad at all, all of the food was fresh. It was about a little under a 1/4 of a mile to walk but we did not have to cross the street. The hotel is right behind California Adventure land. The staff was very friendly and the gift shop was small but had everything you need. I thought the price was perfect for all of us a family of 7, 4 adults and three kids in one room. We will try a hotel a little closer next time but this location was not bad if you don't mind a little walk.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    600
    463
    198
    79
    74
See reviews for
938
105
12
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (355)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
WEST SENECA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

The best location, close walking distance to convention center and disneyland. It is alway clean and the staff is very friendly, the rooms our spacious and the free parking and breakfast really makes this the best value in Anahiem, the last time we stayed we got a free upgrade to a really nice suite!. This is alway our first choice when we visit Anaheim. We have stayed at most of the hotels in this area and they are the best by far.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Stay here every year for NAMM show - great rooms and great service. Location fantastic and staff very helpful. The room is very good sized and with Disneyland being so close it provides an excellent place if also on vacation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Excellent staff, service, cleanliness, and value. We booked through a travel agent for a trip in the off-season (January-February). We had ordered groceries online from Vonn's and had them delivered. When we arrived we found put that we received a free upgrade to a suite and they had already put the perishable groceries in the fridge and the rest away in the cupboards. Eduardo at reception was very helpful, friendly, and legitimately interested in making sure we were enjoying our stay and having a good time. The housekeeping staff were helpful in making sure we had extra towels, a crib and all extras we needed for travelling with a baby. There are laundry facilities for guests. $2 to wash and $2 to dry.

The Sandbox Bar and Grill has great food, and the hotel is conveniently located near an IHOP, the Garden Walk (which has Bubba Gump's, California Pizza Kitchen, Cheesecake Factory), and other establishments. For those who wish to eat breakfast at the hotel, there is a complimentary breakfast that has things such as waffles, sausage, biscuits and gravy, eggs, yogurt, oatmeal porridge, cereal, pastries juice and coffee. It saved us time in the morning and cash.

As far as attractions go we felt value in the location of the hotel. The Gray Line tour company stops right outside the front door if you book in advance. The back side of Disneyland California Adventure is visible from the windows of the hotel. There is one property between the Desert Palms and Disneyland property. It is about a 10 minute walk to the entrance of the park which really just ends up being a warmup ritual for a day full of walking in the parks.

We would stay here again without a doubt. We saw value for every dollar we spent. The people were great and the pride they take in their work shows in the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms away from Katella Avenue would be quieter. It is a fairly busy street....which is true of any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salinas, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. We had 3 rooms, it was a birthday at Disneyland for my 4 and 5 year old Grandsons. The rooms were clean, very roomy, enjoyed the restaurant, gift shop, free parking, hot tub and they made the day very special for the boys, leaving them a "Cars Bag" with balloons and filled with fun stuff for them to come home to after a long day. We will go back its a great location. You can walk to the Park.

Room Tip: If you want a little more room, get the room with the step down living area, also a sofa bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We had a pleasant stay at the Desert Palms in June 2012. This was a four day stop on a two week "out west" trip. We visited several places in the area while staying at this hotel. LA, Long Beach, and of course a day at Disneyland. The seven of us stayed in a suite with a full kitchen, although we never really utilized the kitchen other than using the full size fridge to store left overs. Some great features were the family atmosphere, the breakfast served on an upper floor, the location and it was fairly clean. The walk was slightly further than we expected to Disneyland, but armed with a stroller for the littlest one(s), we did just fine. Since we were travelling with my parents we were able to come back around dinner time and leave the younger ones with them and take our oldest back to close out the park! We did this all just by walking. I do have to say that after all the walking that day, we were so ready to get back to our room. There is a nice shopping center just down the street as well. One night my husband and I were able to meet up with my brother who's from Anaheim and ate a nice dinner at Roy's. Very close. Very nice. We really had no complaints with this hotel. The suite rate was very affordable. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I've stayed at the Desert Palms for many a year whilst visiting the Namm show. Shirley and the team always make our stay most welcoming. The hotel has great amenities, large clean rooms, and the location is great for the convention centre, disneyland (which you can see form some of the rooms) and a hodst of nearby, walkable restaurants. I'd recommend the Desert Palms to any traveller for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Hotel & Suites

Address: 631 West Katella Avenue, Anaheim, CA 92802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Anaheim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Anaheim
#5 Business Hotel in Anaheim
#16 Family Hotel in Anaheim
#22 Romantic Hotel in Anaheim
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Desert Palms Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Desert Palms Hotel and Suites is located in the heart of the Anaheim Resort. It is right on the corner of business and pleasure; located next door to the Disneyland Resort and across the street from the Anaheim Convention Center. Along with our spacious rooms and suites we offer Free Breakfast, Free Parking, and a Free Hot Breakfast Buffet. All rooms and suites come equipped with a microwave, mini-fridge and coffee maker. You are sure to find the perfect place for your family vacation at the Desert Palms Hotel. Our room offering start with the Deluxe Room, which offers 2 queen beds and continues with a number of different suites. Our Borrego Suites offers a sunken living room with sofa sleeper for up to 6 people. Our Yuha Kids Suite offers a bunk bed for the kids! Our Sahara Condo Suite offers a full kitchen, perfect for longer stays. Our largest room, the Kalahari Family Suite sleeps up to 8 people with 2 private bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. There is something for everyone at the Desert Palms Hotel. Kids will have a blast at our arcade corner and even have their own special check in at our Kids Registration. In the lobby they can start the scavenger hunt to find our hidden Mickey and Minnie and receive a prize! Our lobby also features a photo kiosk, perfect for taking that family photo and uploading it straight to Facebook or Twitter. Choose the Desert Palms Hotel for your next Anaheim Vacation and Experience the Oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Otel, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Desert Palms Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel And Suites
Desert Palms Anaheim
Desert Palms Hotel Suites
Desert Palms Hotel Anaheim

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.